Elegant, Clean 5 Bed Townhouse

House - Private room · Chester St, Edinburgh, EH3 7RA, United Kingdom
Your host, John
41 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The Space

This five bedroom, amazingly large, self-catering Victorian town house is situated in the centre of Edinburgh between Haymarket Station and Princes Street. Guests are very often surprised by the grandeur of this three story house. In high season, completely booked out at the weekends, there are always rooms free however Sunday to Friday morning.

Five bedrooms, one en suite. Wireless broadband throughout the house. Please note this is not a B&B.

Relax in the elegant living room which looks on to the mature trees on Drumsheugh Gardens and watch HD television or have a game of table football under the ornate vintage chandelier.
Attractions that are within a fifteen minutes radius on foot, include: both Modern Art Galleries, Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile, Dalry Swimming Pool and beautiful walks along the Water of Leith.

Outdoor activities further afield include: Edinburgh Zoo (see the pandas!), the Royal Botanic Gardens, The Royal Yacht, Urban Paintball, Auld Reekie Tours, Dynamic Earth, The Edinburgh Dungeon, the Butterfly and Insect World, and Hopetoun House.

Other Things to Note

Towels not supplied to keep pricing competitive

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 16+
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $30 / night after the first guest
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Great!

    July 2014
    Response from John:

    Alexandra is a lovely girl and is welcome back any time!

    July 2014
  • Great for my needs!

    July 2014
    Response from John:

    Staffan was a wonderful guest and is welcome back any time.

    July 2014
  • We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful house! After a long day in the city it felt lovely to come back to such calm place. The property is magnificent, with very spacious, elegantly decorated rooms, a large lounge and fully equipped kitchen. We had an en suite in our room with a piping hot shower and heated floors. The city's attractions are only walking distance away, and, after spending the day surrounded by Edinburgh's rich, historical architecture, this house feels like an extension of that experience, something you would never find in a characterless hotel for a similar price.
    Next time we are back in Edinburgh we wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again. Thank you John, for being so accommodating of us and our 5 month old son!
    There are one or two negative reviews for this residence and all I can imagine is that the people who left them must have misunderstood the arrangement. This isn't a bed and breakfast or a hotel; it is an impressive, elegant piece of Edinburgh architecture which you get to treat as your home for the duration of your stay.

    May 2014
  • The house is spectacular and huge, and we had it for ourselves as nobody was there - thanks John for trusting us with the keys. We did not get the chance to meet John but everything went well and our overall experience was good.

    April 2014
    Response from John:

    Glad you had a great time and welcome back any time!

    April 2014
  • I am so sorry for not writing a positive review to John but my family and I did not really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh. I can understand that it was Easter Sunday and that people normally are busy, but we were rather annoyed. There were no towels available for us and we were not told about it before our arrival and explicit request. The kitchen was substantially empty and the bathroom and rooms not well clean. There was another family downstairs (and that is, of course, perfectly fine) but we were not told anything about it again (and we would have liked to know it earlier, just to be aware of the fact that the people buzzing the doorbell were 'flatmates' and not prowlers).
    Anyway, I am sure that ours was just misfortune and that John is generally more caring.

    April 2014
    Response from John:

    I am sorry that Clementina felt this way but I would like to pick her up on some of her comments. As I tell all my guests, I do not supply towels merely to keep accommodation fees down. In fact, given the central location and size of the rooms, my house is very good value for money. There is no mention of towels being supplied in the profile on the house before you book, and, so as not to be in any doubt, I also mention this to people by email before they come to the house, so why Clementina expected towels I do not know. Clementina says the kitchen was empty???! Maybe she expected a B&B style larder with cornflakes, bread etc. Well that is wrong, for I am not a B&B - I apologize to her if she thought that - but it's self-catering accommodation, that I provide. Yes, I do have tea and coffee and basics in the kitchen, but these are extras that I supply at no extra charge, therefore to expect them, and more, as part of the fee is completely wrong. It's self catering - so you bring the food you like and can cook it the exactly way you want at the time you want in the large kitchen, and that is one of the main reasons people book self-catering accommodation - to avoid cheap hotel food or just to eat the food you eat in your own country that you might be missing traveling abroad - that is certainly a reason why Chinese guests like staying here.
    The house is huge and on three floors. So there were guests on the floor below where her party was. And that was a problem? Or when they came into the house. It was not as if they were in the room next door to hers. No, they were on a different floor. And I did mention this to her before she arrived so she is incorrect there. I am sorry if there was a problem with the cleaning in the living room and kitchen - I have reprimanded the cleaner and he has apologized to me. He had not enough time to clear up from some guests who had made a mess in theses place - even though I specify that guests need to clear up after themselves if they are using the kitchen etc. If you read the other review see above, then you will see that the other guest thought the actual bedrooms and bathrooms were clean.

    April 2014
  • My friend Julie and I stayed Mon to Wed and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were large very light and airy and we were very comfortable. The kitchen was huge and well-equipped. Just right for a relaxing breakfast before we cycled off to explore each day.
    We had our own bathroom with bath and nice hot shower over so good for all needs. John even kindly loaned me a towel because I stupidly forgot mine!!!!!
    The bed was so comfy I slept for twelve hours Monday night / Tues am then had a leisurely breakfast and off out................ We were close to all amenities that we strolled out in the evening for dinner and cycled to further afield in the daytime. We were only !0 mins walk from the castle and Princes Street in a lovely area where we felt very safe and interested in the wonderful buildings and gardens nearby as we walked back later. We were able to leave our bikes indoors near the stairs so they were safe - as long as they were clean and dry - fair enough...... We even had time to relax in the lovely sitting room with a coffee before going off to catch our train on Wednesday.
    We would love to come back again..................
    Marie and Julie from Hornchurch, London.

    March 2014
  • We were a large group of Frenchmen visiting Edinburgh for a rugby game and we had a perfect time at John's place. The place was not only big enough to accomodate the thirteen of us: it's very comfortable, very charming (as Scottish as you can imagine as a random Frenchman!) and ideally located. Not to mention the very decent price. Plus: John is so nice and easy-going that he made everything simple. Thank you John, we're all looking forward to seeing you for the next rugby game!

    January 2014
  • We had a great but short stay in Edimburgh, location is great and the rooms really nice and clean.
    We would like to have staid longer, and will try to book again with John whenever I'll want to visit Edimburgh.

    December 2013
  • Dear friends. An elegant central townhouse big enough for a huge family. For me it was too big; staying there all on my own. I would prefer to come with many friends in the summertime. Then it will be perfect to stay there.
    With gratitude,

    November 2013
  • I visited Edinburgh for the first time. Johns Place is located in a really nice neighborhood of the town and is such a perfect spot to discover the city by foot. It was also a great experience to get the chance to live in a nobel victorian townhouse. John is a man of great taste and furnished the rooms just lovely.
    Since it is already rather cold in Edi it became sometimes a bit nippy during the night, due to the fact that the rooms are pretty large and have unbelievable high ceilings. But I have to mention that John is already working on this to get the house even more comfortable for his guests. All in all he is a helpful and friendly host in a great accommodation! I will definitely come back sometime.

    November 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 201 times
Deutsch, Français, Italiano
Glenalmond College
I am married with two children Charlie and Rosella and try to create sculptures when I have a free moment from letting out two houses and cleaning baby bottles. Things that I have done that I am proud of: married a lovely girl and now mother, completed the London Marathon, managed to change a Christmas nappy without too much mess, and share an exhibition at Falmouth Art Gallery with Matisse and others in a group show about artists who have overcome adversities called Soaring Spirits. Dreams: going back to Venice and Sicily.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
4 days ago
Similar Listings