Private Suite @ St Francis de Sales

Apartment - Private room · Northland Ave, Buffalo, NY 14208, United States

The Space

Largest Suite in 1918 Historic Rectory - includes private vintage tile bath with soaking tub and separate shower, private bedroom and sitting room with fireplace, share kitchen with stainless steel appliances, shared dining room, free laundry and free wireless internet. Directly next door to Boys and Girls Club of Buffalo in Hamlin Park, near Canisius College.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 7 nights
Weekly Price: $325 /week
Security Deposit: $200
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Salvatore was responsive to our needs. We stayed at a self-contained apartment for a good part of the week. It was very clean, well-furnished with everything we need, except TV or internet, which he was upfront to tell us about their absence. Overall, we are pleased; we got what we were looking for and at a good price.

    January 2014
  • Sal was great, and so was the apartment. I actually stayed at another property, but Sal was very accomodating and helpful. A wonderful way to visit Buffalo.

    June 2013
  • The place - I am from buffalo, and had friends to to Canisius College, so I knew the neighborhood well - the other reviews have it down pretty well. It isn't bustling, but it's not dangerous, and it's close to the subway and bus.

    I couldn't ask for more from Sal. He was courteous, professional, fair, and accommodating.

    The property is so cool and unique, along with how quiet and well equipped it was, that too was stellar.

    The only con was that the floor in the bathroom was pretty dingy, but I've lived in, and cleaned old buffalo homes with tile floors and know how hard it is to keep up.

    For what you get, the price is an incredible bargain, and I will visit this and Sals other properties many more times!

    June 2013
  • I didn't actually stay at St Francis de Sales. There was a clerical error, and they upgraded me to another of Salvatore's properties, The Whitney. The property was clean and as described. I will book with him again when I return to Buffalo

    March 2013
  • It's a cool space, and I had a good time. I'm dinging one star because it's a pretty rough neighborhood, and I'd rather learn this from the proprietors than from cab driver, after cab driver, after cab driver...

    October 2012
  • My wife and I stayed for 3 days. Everything was as expected. New sheets on the bed, clean, WiFi and comfortable. Great central location with easy access. Great price.
    The neighborhood is not as rough as the other reviewer stated. The cab drivers must have been from the suburbs. I have lived in Buffalo, in the city and it's not that bad. It's not Park Ave. My wife walked alone for an hour through the neighborhood daily.
    I'm not sure if the house rules were for airbnb but I was not crazy about washing linen before leaving., thus the 4 stars

    October 2012
    Response from Salvatore:

    Only long-term tenants have to wash the linens at least once a week. The house rules sign should be changed to clarify that - thanks.

  • It was a great trip to Buffalo! We wanted a different experience than a no name hotel, and boy did we get it!
    The private suite was really cool, with a very big living room and huge windows. Also had a private balcony.
    Keep in mind that this is a very old building, with the original wood floors and dated bathroom. As long as you know that going in, it's a really cool different place.
    The rectory is extremely well located. 5 mins to Elmwood area, 10 mins to downtown. Also located right near the highway, making it easy to run up to Niagra falls.

    The only reason don't give it 5 stars: I needed to go buy pillows for the bed, and the alarm clock didn't work. But after that, great stay!

    October 2012
    Response from Salvatore:

    Sorry about the cheap pillows - we are always trying to keep costs down.

  • We had a great time at the rectory suite! This is a very unique location in a quiet safe neighborhood with ample parking and a great stone balcony to boot. This is a very beautiful and unique property, exemplary of Buffalo's outstanding architectural history. We had the opportunity to meet Sal who was very nice and communicated well well with us before our stay to see if we needed anything. As an alumna of Canisius College, it was great visiting and reminiscing.

    July 2012
  • The rectory was fantastic, and probably better suited to my purposes and stay in Buffalo than anyplace else would have been. The suite was huge and impressive, as were the common areas of the house - e.g. kitchen and dining room So, I'm very glad I chose it, and my compliments to Sal for developing a property that added greatly to the experience of my visit to Buffalo. That said, I'd echo some of the comments left by those who stayed in other rooms at that same property: Communication concerning check-in was a bit slow; an email not being sent to me until mid-morning of my day of arrival, after I had already started on my drive to Buffalo, necessitating my phoning from the road, though I did get through and get an answer right away. Its not the typical B&B experience; more like a self-service hotel with no one around to ask about things. Thus some things were a bit uncertain, such as the parking situation (strret parking rules in Buffalo are somewhat unusual, but there is some ill-defined off street parking in back), and the house rules posted on the refrigerator in the kitchen included washing ones bed linens before leaving, with that being ambiguous as to whether it applied to short term "B&B" guests. So, as another reviewer said, if you aren't real fussy, its a great place -- just be prepared to be totally on your own other than perhaps bumping into some of the longer term residents in the kitchen or on the stairs.

    June 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 13 times
St. Joseph's Collegiate Institute, St. Bonaventure University, Western New England College School of Law
Sunset Bay Park, Inc
I am from Buffalo, NY originally and live in Fort Lauderdale, FL. My work involves advanced restoration to historic homes both in NY and FL. See Buffalo Spree HOME magazine article "Waste Not, Want Not" (Archived in Fall 2009 issue). Also interested in architectural salvage, travel, swimming, and auctions.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings