Private Guest Suite in Nature Oasis

House - Private room · Hillbrooke Dr, Walla Walla, WA 99362, United States

Enjoy a sun-drenched bedroom and private bathroom in our mid-century modern home. Complete with a pool and a wild nature area, our home offers a peaceful and welcoming stay for guests exploring local wineries, restaurants, and Whitman College.

The Space

We live on a half acre of land on on a quiet residential block a mile south of downtown Walla Walla. Our backyard features a burbling creek, an outdoor swimming pool (summer only), a patio with fire pit, and a private nature area. The house was built in 1951 and has a "Mad Men" mid-century modern feel.

Your guest suite is down a hallway on the far end of the house from our bedroom, offering you great privacy. It is spacious with windows overlooking the backyard and it comes simply furnished with a full-size bed, memory foam mattress topper, and a desk and chair. Though the guest room comfortably fits 2 people, we can provide an air mattress for an additional $15/night to accommodate parties of 3.

The bathroom in the guest suite is adjacent to your room and features a soaking tub. It does NOT currently have a shower installed, but we are hoping to change that this year! We will provide you with linens, towels, and some limited toiletries.

Guest Access

Our house includes a cantilevered outdoor deck, a fireplace, a spacious kitchen, and a sunny living room. We also offer a projection screen for watching movies on Netflix (sorry no TV!), free wi-fi, and a pair of bikes to borrow during your stay.

We are sorry we do not offer breakfast due to our busy work schedules, but we can recommend great local restaurants and coffee shops for you to try. We'll also leave some snacks in the room for you to enjoy!

Interaction with Guests

We are a couple in our 30s who enjoy hiking, skiing, cooking, and traveling. We are very respectful of your privacy if you'd prefer to keep to yourself during your stay, but if you are feeling more social we welcome you to hang out with us when we are home. We will always make a key available for you to use during your stay so you can come and go as you please, regardless of our busy work schedules.

Our two dogs are very friendly and sweet. Winter is a black flat-coated retriever and Smudge is a white husky-coyote mix. They both love belly rubs and biscuits. We do our best to keep our house clean, but please note that our house is NOT appropriate for those with allergies or for those who are uncomfortable with pet hair.

The Neighborhood

We live on a quiet residential street on the south side of Walla Walla, near Tietan Park. Walla Walla is the friendliest town in America with award-winning restaurants, wineries, and a rich history. Our house is about a mile south of Whitman College, so we enjoy hosting many Whitman parents and prospective Whitties during the year.

Getting around

Public transportation is limited so we recommend you rent a car or borrow one of our bikes to enjoy riding around our neighborhood. We are about a mile south from downtown, and it makes for a pleasant walk on a sunny day. There is ample street parking on our block.

If you are flying into the Walla Walla airport, let us know. Depending on our schedules, we may be able to pick you up and save you the cab fare. The airport is a 15-minute drive from our house.

Other Things to Note

We are Airbnb travelers just like you who appreciate honesty and clear, prompt communication. We are committed to providing a warm and welcoming experience for all of our guests. We urge you to let us know if any part of your stay is not to your satisfaction right away instead of waiting until after your stay to notify us about a problem. Help us help you have a positive and enjoyable stay!

Please go ahead and book your stay whenever you are ready. We make every effort to respond to requests within a few hours so you won't be left hanging!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $25 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $400 /week
Monthly Price: $2000 /month
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $20
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for our trip to Walla Walla, and it was ideal for our stay. I should mention that we visited in winter (it snowed!) and the room was quite warm and comfortable. Due to the layout of the house, it is also quiet so we were able to do a good bit of reading in the mornings and evenings. The view from the bedroom is the back yard area, so it really does feel like you are away from it all. The bathroom is very spacious, I would say at least twice the size of a hotel bathroom and it links directly to the bedroom.

    Mara is very friendly, laid-back, and obviously an experienced host. She encouraged us to make ourselves at home, and seemed happy to give recommendations and introduce us to her 2 nice dogs.

    One thing that might not be too obvious is that if you are used to walking and enjoy it, you can walk from the house to downtown in about 20-30 minutes. Even with the snow we found this easy to do. We walked to a coffee shop, breakfast, visited the college, and a few tasting rooms, then just picked up our wine purchases the next day as we were leaving.

    February 2014
  • Mara's was well located for visiting the town and both she and her husband were welcoming.

    November 2012
  • Mara and Greg were very friendly, and so were their dogs! Mara's tips on where to dine in town were fantastic. Although we had a schedule that didn't allow us to hang out with them, we ran into Mara and Greg in town at breakfast for a chat. We had really nice weekend in Walla Walla.

    September 2012
  • Mara and her husband are GREAT hosts. We LOVED their lovely dogs too! The only thing I would improve is if they had a coffee maker and coffee available for the morning and if the guest bathroom had a shower (which is on their TO DO list).

    September 2012
    Mara
    Response from Mara:

    Thanks for the feedback, Jackie! We are definitely working on updating our guest bathroom to have a shower feature (hopefully by the end of the year), and that's a great idea to provide a coffee maker for our guests as well.

  • Mara and Greg are extremely warm and generous hosts. They really want their guests to feel at home. They know Whitman and Walla Walla well and are happy to give excellent restaurant recommendations. The bedroom is down a long hallway and is quiet and private with its own bathroom. Their house is comfortable and clean and we would be happy staying here again. Also, they have great dogs!

    August 2012
  • Mara and Greg are wonderful hosts. We arrived during a rather unusual and a bit chaotic time for them as they had just returned from their honeymoon the day before and was having a large welcome-home party the day of our arrival. Nevertheless, Mara came out of the pool just to make us welcome. The room and ensuite bathroom are as described in a secluded upper part of the house, while the downstairs is for their own private use. Since they had just acquired the house a few months before, the furnishing were sparse but adequate. They offered us free use of their kitchen and all its contents, but we were unable to do so due to a hectic travel schedule. Both Mara and Greg are very nice people. Super fast internet connection.

    August 2012
  • Mara went the extra mile to work through air bnb procedures to help me book a stay for my friend and her daughter who were visiting Walla Walla to check out the college. Thanks Mara!

    July 2012
  • Mara and Greg welcomed us into a home they had just moved into, right before they got married, and with us being there for a very long stay...two whole weeks, while our daughter attended a summer dance intensive. They were wonderful hosts, the "room"was more like a suite, down a private hall, with a full bath, and a huge walk in closet area. Their dogs are as sweet as Mara and Greg are, and all of them made us feel welcome and accepted. We found ourselves invited to their gatherings at their home as well as out with friends, and they even entrusted us to stay in their home for a few days while they left on a short trip. The pool was a nice option on the 1-2 days we were there when it was actually hot enough to swim. Mara was very responsible and flexible about all aspects of the interaction, with much friendly communication leading up to our arrival and flexibility with regards to our stay.
    This was our first experience with Airbnb, so we didn't know quite what to expect. We were very happy to find such a great couple with such a nice home.
    We left feeling like we'd made new friends.
    Fiora and Don

    July 2012
  • Mara has moved into a lovely new mid-century home in Walla Walla. This was my first Airbnb stay and I wasn't sure what to expect.

    Was quite pleased with my stay. The house is laid out in such a way as to afford guests complete privacy with both bedroom and bathroom. Room was extremely quiet and I slept well. They offered full use of a well equipped kitchen and I enjoyed a quiet breakfast daily.

    Other amenities are a lovely backyard with a private pool. Home is proximate to a very large park where I was able to do a couple of nice barefoot runs in the grass as well as a longer run on a country road.

    On a personal level I found them to easygoing, and good company.

    I offer a hearty recommendation.

    June 2012
  • Staying with Mara was my first AirBnB experience and it was a great one! Mara's experience in hosting guests at her lovely home in Walla Walla was obvious. We really enjoyed her attention to detail-- glasses of wine, dining recommendations, and guide books were all nice touches. The accommodations were top notch, well-located, private and quite comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

    Thanks for a great weekend!

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$99
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 70 times
Languages
English, Français
About
I live with my husband Greg and our two dogs Winter and Smudge in a cool mid-century modern house in the heart of Walla Walla, WA. We live on the "dry" side of Washington in wine country, with more than 200 wineries located in the surrounding valley. Greg works as a theatre designer and a professor at Whitman College and I work for the Girl Scouts. We both love skiing (backcountry and downhill), hiking, camping, gardening, running, bike-riding, and pretty much anything that lets us play outdoors. We are also avid cooks who enjoy experimenting with new recipes (Greg is a vegetarian and I'm a carnivore). Greg and I are also passionate about travel. Our latest adventures have included skiing the French Alps, scuba diving in Hawaii, soaking in hot springs around Iceland, backpacking in the Sierras, and island hopping across Greece. We are starting to plan a trip to Asia for our next adventure abroad! As hosts, we try to make our home affordable and comfortable for fellow travelers who want a personal, welcoming, and local experience instead of a hotel when they visit Walla Walla. Please don't hesitate to shoot us a message if you have any questions about staying in our home.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings