Room in lovely 1920s home near OHSU

House - Private room · SW Virginia Ave, Portland, OR 97219, United States

Cute bedroom with desk and very comfortable full-size futon. Complete access to other parts of the house including the gourmet kitchen, comfortable living room, green back yard and (shared) bathroom.

The Space

Our beautiful home has wood floors, high ceilings and a fabulous front porch. With our yard and garden space, as well as the porch, there is always a spot to relax.

We are sometimes able to provide the entire house for our AirBnB guests. If you need two bedrooms, and have four people in your party, let us know.

Location and getting around:
We are located in the John's Landing neighborhood, which is quiet, but within walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants and bars. The Willamette River and Parks are just two blocks to the east. Guests can walk or ride to the OHSU Tram, Downtown, and even all the way to the Pearl along the pedestrian path next to the river. We even have a bicycle (complete with lights and helmet) that our guests are welcome to borrow.

There is a bus that stops right in front of our house which can take you to downtown or the OHSU Tram terminal in just a few minutes. We are also very close to Downtown and the Selwood neighborhood. Almost any other popular neighborhood in Portland can be reached via public transit or within a 30 minute bike ride.

The accommodations:
Your bedroom is private, set apart from your host's bedroom and is furnished with a very comfortable futon, closet, shelves for your items and even desk that you can use. The bathroom is shared, and is always kept clean. The fully-equipped kitchen is available if you prefer to cook and stay in.

Breakfast!
Get your day started on the right foot with our complementary local coffee or tea and an amazing blueberry-oat-scone (Angela's secret recipe). NEW! Our chickens are finally laying eggs, and we are pleased offer a hard or soft boiled egg to you in the morning as well.

Other:
Wireless internet is included, as well as on-street parking. The parking situation is usually very easy, but occasionally we and our guests are forced to park around the corner (still less than a 30-second walk).

Getting to us from the airport:
Our house can be reached by public transit from anywhere in the city. We can also either pick up/drop off at the airport for an additional $30. Another convenient option is to take any of the trains from the airport to downtown, where we can pick you up more easily: $5 additional.

FAQ:
Q: What size is the bed?
A: It is a 'full' or 'double': Not as spacious as a queen, but comfortable for two adults.

Q: What is there to do around the house?
A: Within several blocks, there is an italian restaurant, french restaurant, the Fulton Pub, the Willamette Park and River and 'Greenway Path', Portland Kayak Company (rentals). A great local coffee shop, a second-hand boutique and many more restaurants can be found within a 10 minute walk. We are directly across the river from the Sellwood neighborhood, which has wonderful restaurants and antique shops.

Q: Are you close to downtown?
A: We are a 5 minute drive or a 15 minute bike ride along the river.

Q: Are you close to the hospital (OHSU)?
A: We are less than five minutes away by car. The OHSU Tram Terminal is around 10 minutes away by bike. From the Tram Terminal, it is a 4 minute ride up to the hospital.

Q: We are arriving late. Is that a problem?
A: Probably not, but let us know and we'll be honest :-)

Q: Do I need to bring bottled water to Portland?
A: Portland has some of the best public water in the country, and we drink straight from the tap. However, it does contain a hint of chlorine.

Q: Should I bring towels?
A: No need, we supply fresh towels and washcloths.

Q: Are you close to PSU?
A: Yes, PSU is in the southern-most part of downtown. You can drive there in 5 minutes, or bike there in 15.

Q: Do you have pets?
A: Yes! We have a long-haired cat named Matty, and a new puppy (as of 5/11/2013) named Alpine. We also have four chickens, but they stay out of the house ;-) We do our best to keep the house free of hair/dander and keep pets out of the guest room unless guests want them in there, so those with light allergies have been fine in the house.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Futon
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $300 /week
Monthly Price: $1100 /month
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This is my first time Airbnb experience and I LOVE it! Dylan and his fury friends are super friendly and helpful. The house is spacial and has a big back yard. It's closed to a great cozy community bar "Fulton" so we had two late night drinks and walked home. The location is great, too. Easy access to the high way and 15 mins to Portland downtown.

    April 2014
  • Dylan is very nice and helpful and his home is spacious and great!
    His dog and cat are super cute.
    I really feel like home there. Thanks a lot for hosting us!

    April 2014
  • Dylan and Angela were great. They were really kind and really helpful to us on our trip. They let us borrow a couple of bikes so we could get around the city and they even took the trouble to make a list of things to do/ places to eat in PDX. We had a wonderful time on our trip thanks in part to Dylan and Angela's great hospitality.
    We definitely recommend staying with them if you are thinking about it.

    Also, they make reeally good scones every morning!

    March 2014
  • Dylan and Angela are friendly, considerate, and smart. They were very helpful with advice about Portland, and keen to make my stay a pleasant one. Very accommodating with schedule and check-in/out times. Also they have two *very* friendly and lovable pets, a big feline furball called Maddie (the hairiest and chattiest cat I ever met) and a giant goldendoodle "puppy" called Alpine.

    February 2014
  • Our fist time visiting Portland could not have been any better, thanks to this fantastic couple and their amazing house. Dylan and Angela made us feel like we were old friends in for the weekend. The rooms was cozy and warm and each morning we could smell homemade scones baking in the kitchen just for us! The fist house member we met was Mattie (the cat/owner) and she showed us to our room chatting the whole way. We later met Alpine the "puppy" and he was so happy to meet us! We would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone who would enjoy a peaceful, relaxing home to come back to after enjoying a day running around Portland. We recommended it all of our friends!

    February 2014
  • My boyfriend and I visited Portland for an interview I had at NCNM and really enjoyed our stay with Dylan and Angela.
    They are super warm and friendly and eager to share their home and city with their guests.
    The room was spacious and warm, and the house and bathroom were nice and clean.
    Just a short bus ride to downtown and located in a quiet and safe neighborhood.
    We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. Thanks Dylan and Angela!

    January 2014
  • Dylan and Angela were incredibly kind and welcoming. I was in town for an interview and they were very helpful even giving me a lift to my interview. I was using public transportation and their house was very easy to get to and from for any location in the city.

    December 2012
  • Dylan and Angela were awesome! I am still talking about the experience with my friends. They were very welcoming during my trip to Portland, and they helped me to have a true Portland experience, along with fresh eggs, scones, and a comfortable space for me to work and sleep. I highly recommend staying with them!

    November 2012
  • The futon is the most comfortable I have ever slept on. We loved our breakfast toys and felt very well looked after. Very sweet people thank you both again.

    October 2012
  • We really liked our stay at Dylan and Angela. Besides the fact that the place was clean, the bed was comfortable, great breakfast and that it is conveniently located to downtown Portland, we feel fortunate to have met Dylan and Angela. It felt like hanging out with friends, which it actually was. We hope to meet them again someday. Too bad we couldn't stay longer and we already miss Mattie, their very sweet cross-eyed cat.
    Isa is not really a fan of blueberry pastries, but she absolutely loved those blueberry scones!

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$50
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 149 times
Languages
Deutsch, English
School
Taos High, University of New Mexico, OHSU
Work
The Mind Research Network, Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute, Oregon Health and Sciences University
About
My girlfriend, Angela and I have lived in Portland since June 2012, and it still feels like a new and exciting city to us. We started hosting on AirBnB just before moving to Portland, and were involved in the CS community for several years. We love meeting travelers, and sharing our home and city with them. Angela is currently attending PA school at OHSU, and is kept quite busy by her studies. At the moment, we are focused on enjoying life as much as possible while still focusing on our studies and careers. We enjoy good food, drinks and the wonderful outdoors. Dylan has also recently gotten involved in sailing. We both try to climb as often as possible, though that has become infrequent due to other obligations.
View full profile
Response Rate
94%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings