Skip to content
View from the Mount Hobson ApartmentView from outside Mount Hobson Apartment
Entire apartment

Mount Hobson Apartment in Remuera

John User Profile
John

Mount Hobson Apartment in Remuera

3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Self check-inYou can easily check in with the doorman.

This Apartment (35m2) is situated on the sunny slopes of Mt Hobson in the leafy Auckland suburb of Remuera and only 5 minutes (off peak) drive to Auckland CBD. This fully self contained accommodation is a separate part of our large home with a private entrance door. Guests are welcome to enjoy the 3000m2 of beautiful landscaped gardens.
There is parking for one car immediately in front of the Apartment.
Guests staying for 1 week or longer are welcome to use the laundry (1 or 2 times per week).

Amenities

Free parking on premises
Kitchen
Cable TV
Wifi
Laptop friendly workspace
Shampoo

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules

No smoking
No pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 2PM - 8PM
Check out by 10AM
Self check-in with building staff

Availability

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Renato User Profile
Renato
June 2016
It was a bit of a challenge finding the place with the road construction going on. The pictures of the apartment is representative of the place. Inside is showing sign of age and smells damp/stuffy. There are four of us who stayed at the place and all of us ended up nursing respi…
John User Profile
Response from John:
Unfair review. REFER OUR OTHER REVIEWS FOR THIS PROPERTY - FOUR OR FIVE STARS. Very bad experience. Zero communication from guests after booking. Arrived after our latest arrival time. Went to the wrong property first - completely ignored directions. Completely ignored simple "House Rules". Moved furniture causing damage to wallboard - hole in plasterboard wall as a result. Carpet damaged. No attempt at any sort of end of stay clean up. Piles of rubbish left at end of stay. Bathroom and kitchen in particular were disgusting. Dishes were not washed and put away. Some dishes had been put away without any attempt at cleaning so all had to be taken out and washed. Don't let these people stay at your property. Cleaning supplies are provided. Guests initially insisted on watch being sent at our cost to an overseas address. Total clean up cost to us was in excess of NZ$160 with significant damages plus the almost new carpet now has permanent "pressed marks" due to the furniture being moved. Guests refused to pay for clean up. Don't let these people stay at your property. 98% of our Airbnb guests are great people who look after the property. The other 2% should be excluded from the Airbnb Community. We charge NZ$30 per hour for excessive clean up. Over 95% of our guests over the last 10 years have been charged zero for end of stay clean up which works better than a standard clean up fee for us and our guests. Guest eventually offered to pay less than half the clean up cost and zero for damages. DON'T HOST THESE GUESTS.
June 2016
Robert User Profile
Robert
December 2016
John and his wife are very kind hosts. Their place is amazing. The apartment and the garden provide a great scenic view of Auckland. Next time I will try to book their place if I visit Auckland.
Sascha-Oliver User Profile
Sascha-Oliver
August 2016
Very friendly at the beginning. At the end they tried to charge for damages that were already in place.
Mark User Profile
Mark
June 2016
The property is just as promised. The views are fantastic and it is very convenient. Would happily recommend to others.
John User Profile
Response from John:
Thank you for your great review for Mount Hobson Apartment which is one of our six properties on Mount Hobson. It's always satisfying to meet great guests.
June 2016
David User Profile
David
April 2016
Wonderful, very helpful and great explanation of the local facilities and shops
John User Profile
Response from John:
Thank for choosing to stay on Mount Hobson for your short business trip to Auckland. We are fortunate to host several regulars who have stayed a few times on Mount Hobson. We are trying hard to live up to our "stay less ordinary" accommodation business philosophy for our six unique accommodation options on Mount Hobson. We hope to welcome you again.
April 2016
Sébastien User Profile
Sébastien
March 2016
A great nature haven close to the city. John was amazingly welcoming and helpful. A nice and short train trip downtown. The most beautiful views of the city from Mount Hobson. Clean, simple, perfect for our two days in Auckland!
John User Profile
Response from John:
We have been fortunate recently with mostly "Five Star" guests that are great people who appreciate what we are trying hard to create on Mount Hobson - a "stay less ordinary". We have several properties on Mount Hobson - all different styles of properties. This review is for Mount Hobson Apartment. We sometimes get disappointing reviews from great guests due to our steep driveway ......a reasonable level of fitness is required - although this Apartment has parking immediately adjacent. :)- It's disappointing to get lower than expected ratings due to factors we can't change. We encourage guests to read the property descriptions carefully and to look at the numerous photos specific for each property before booking. Most of our properties require a reasonable level of fitness to enjoy due to the location on Mount Hobson....... please don't book without checking out the property details.
March 2016
Isuru User Profile
Isuru
March 2016
Both John and Mali were very welcoming. As we arrived Mali came and showed us around the apartment and explained the surroundings. They allowed us to have our privacy but was always available to discuss any complication.
John User Profile
Response from John:
Great guests but a disappointing overall rating. We have several properties on Mount Hobson - all different styles of properties. This review is for Mount Hobson Apartment. We sometimes get disappointing reviews due to our steep driveway ......a reasonable level of fitness is required if you are using public transport. If you have a rental car - no problem - this Apartment has parking immediately adjacent. :)- Unfortunately we are unable to do anything about the steep driveway - except encourage guests to enjoy the views and great location........... a reasonable level of driving skills is also required. :)-
March 2016

Hosted by John

Auckland, New ZealandJoined in January 2015
John User Profile
115 Reviews
Verified
Your hosts are John and Mali Morton. Originally from the UK and Sri Lanka, after enjoying 20 yrs + in New Zealand, we now consider ourselves to be real “Kiwis” and enjoy sharing our local knowledge and wonderful environment with guests from NZ and around the world. We have si…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings