Your room. Double bed. 2 chairs. Desk.A brighter photo of your room.
User Profile Image

Dbl bed, 1906 home arts dist & lake

United StatesOhioCleveland
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
Per Night
266 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Our 110+ yr old house is on a quiet, beautiful street 2 blocks away from our arts district with 2 live theaters and a movie theater, great bar/restaurants, shops, Irish pub and coffee house. Only a 15 minute walk to the lake with a beach and trails.

Your room. Double bed. 2 chairs. Desk.

Your room. Double bed. 2 chairs. Desk.


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 5PM - 9PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

The Neighborhood:
Our home is in the awesome Gordon Square Arts District neighborhood on the near west side of Cleveland with a movie theater, live Cleveland Public Theater, Near West (community) Theater, art galleries, shops, a great coffee house (Gypsy Bean) and some of the best restaurants in the city (Luxe, Spice, XYZ, The Parkview Tavern and Latitude to name a few). The bike and pedestrian path leading to the lake and Edgewater Park (with a beach and marina) is about 4 blocks north of us. Wendy Park is a great place to enjoy the sunset at the lake with the Sunset Grill offering drinks and bar-type food. Also - our neighborhood has the most gardens on the city-wide Garden Walk and if you love gardens, I'd be happy to show you around my garden and some of my neighbors' amazing flower and vegetable gardens - just ask!

Our home:
We have a four bedroom home built in 1906 and it is is in the Franklin-West Clinton Historic District with lots of pretty homes around us. The living room has a wall of books for you to enjoy and the family room has french doors to a big back porch with an old fashioned glider to have breakfast on in the summer and enjoy a great view of the flowers, fruits and garden. Wi-fi available.

Our backyard is a miniature urban farm with fruit trees, berry bushes, a strawberry patch, vegetable garden, two chickens that give us fresh eggs every morning all year round, flower gardens and outdoor art. Our yard is in the annual Cleveland Garden Walk (see 250+ gardens in 10 neighborhoods around the city! )

Your room:
The guest room has a comfortable new double bed. It is sunny and is at the back of the house.

Breakfast:
In the morning, we will lay out everything you need to make yourself a great breakfast - OJ, tea, french press coffee and fresh eggs from our hens, cereal, toast, jam made by the "Detroit Shoreway canning guild" that I am in, fruit, yogurt, and granola.

Bathroom:
It's a full bathroom on the second floor, with a shower and tub, shared by everyone. Half bath on the first floor.

Accessibility:
Downtown Cleveland is a quick bus ride, train ride or 5 minute drive away. University Circle is a 12 minute car ride to the east. The airport is a 15 minute drive west. We are within a 10 minute walk to the Rapid Transit train station which goes to all of the above places I've mentioned.

Guest Access

Feel free to use the living room, dining room and kitchen and the back or front porches in good weather.

Interaction with Guests

We are happy to give you the lay of the land about Cleveland and especially our neighborhood. We also have copies of the book "New to Cleveland" written by our neighbor Justin Glanvile.

The Neighborhood

What I love most about my neighborhood is my neighbors! Collectively we have created a community orchard and garden and just finished creating a reading garden for the elementary school across the street from our house. It's a sweet walkable complete neighborhood with everything you need - coffee house, great restaurants in all price ranges, a movie theater and 2 live theaters, wine bar, Irish pub, Puerto Rican cafe, drug store, and a juice bar, with Edgewater Park and Lake Erie only a 15 minute walk north.

Getting Around

Our neighborhood is served by both busses and our light rail Rapid Transit.

Other Things to Note

You can park in our driveway.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 5PM - 9PM.

You are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare your own meals. We'll provide you with coffee/tea and help-yourself breakfast foods in the morning: eggs from our hens, bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit and honey from our neighbor's bees. (Raising chickens and bees is really popular in our neighborhood). Feel free to use the kitchen to cook a meal for yourself but please leave the kitchen clean - or at least as clean as you found it. :-)

We do not smoke and don't allow smoking in our house but if you need to smoke you can use our back porch which is quite comfortable with a glider, table and chairs.

We go to bed around 10:30 or 11:00 pm so we'd like to have it quiet at that point. Thanks.

+ More

Availability
1 night minimum stay
A brighter photo of your room.

A brighter photo of your room.

Your Host


Bobbi

Bobbi

Cleveland, Ohio, United States · Member since November 2011

Hi - my husband Mark McDermott and I are both non-profit community development professionals. I am also very active in my neighborhood. We live on an awesome street in the Detroit Shoreway neighborhood in which we helped to create a community orchard and garden a few years ago. We are both gardeners and worked with our neighbors to turn a vacant lot into a reading garden next to our local elementary school. Our group just finished a "Poetree " project in which we installed poetry boxes on 10 trees throughout the neighborhood and a local writer's group supplies the poems.

We have traveled around the US, Canada, Mexico, western Europe and Poland and our next trip will be to Spain.

We have a 27 year old daughter who moved back to Cleveland from Portland, OR and is living nearby and a 31 year old son and awesome daughter-in-law who renovated a house down the street from us. We have one dog and a cat but sometimes our kids' dogs are visiting. My husband also keeps 2 chickens and you are welcome to eat their eggs for breakfast.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts