Main entrance
Fairyfort with bluebells & jacuzzi!
Fairyfort with bluebells & jacuzzi!

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Hi! This listing is for a double room, and the price reflects this. See my other listing on the right hand side of this page to book a single room . Whole house not available currently. Thanks!

Just one hour from Cork by car.I have a modern home with all comforts, 3 bedrooms, one with en-suite with shower. The family bathroom has a jacuzzi style bath, The sitting room has a piano, satellite t.v. (including French & Italian channels) and an open fireplace .There is a conservatory that looks out onto a ring fort on one side (a national monument dating from Early Christian to medieval times), commonly known as a Fairy fort, and Mount Gabriel on the other. The kitchen has a typical pine dresser and table an electric oven, gas hob, retro fridge and dishwasher. The utility houses the washing machine, freezer and dryer .

A remote area of bog, pasture and forest served by a network of steep, winding lanes, it is equidistant(20 mins) from Clonakilty, Dunmanway and Skibbereen, therefore ideal for exploring West Cork's beaches, golf courses and stunning scenery. It is also equidistant from Bantry (30minutes) with it's fabulous market and restaurants, and Bandon, the gateway to West Cork. The garden and ditches are full of wild flowers, fuchsia, foxglove and meadow-sweet . Clonakilty has colourful floral displays and live music venues to the east, and Skibbereen to the west is adjacent to Baltimore and Lough Hyne and with an excellent heritage centre. In between the two is beautiful Rosscarbery, which, like Clonakilty and Skibbereen holds a weekly market and has a lagoon, pedal boats, pitch& Putt and a beautiful safe, sandy beach. Carrigfada hill is on my doorstep with a path to the top and beautiful views.

I have broadband internet if you bring a laptop . This listing is for a guest room with double bed. A pull down bed is available for an extra person if needed.

Buses to Rosscarbery from Cork (URL HIDDEN) Taxi from there or I can arrange collection if I am around For private room stays, breakfast is included (cereal,, tea, coffee, toast) Traditional Irish breakfast with award winning local free-range rashers and sausages from Rosscarbery, free range eggs and famous Clonakilty Black Pudding, can be provided for a small fee (€5) if given advance notice. . The nearest pub is the recently refurbished Beehive bar , just 2 miles down the road , in Connonagh. There are plenty of nice restaurants in Rosscarbery,Clonakilty and Skibbereen.

Gym and swimming pool available 10 minutes away at Rosscarbery.

The peace and quiet is deafening to unaccustomed ears!

Guest access

Kitchen, sitting room, conservatory, bathroom,

Interaction with guests

I'm not always around (but my lodger usually is) if and when i am around, i like to chat and offer advice


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Free parking on premises
Cable TV

Prices
Extra people $12 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 6%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 3PM

No smoking inside the house.

Leave as you found. Thanks.

We are an eco-friendly home.Please switch off lights when not in use, close windows when going out and recycle! ;-)


Cancellations

Availability
1 night minimum stay

2 Reviews

Juan R. User Profile
August 2012
We really enjoyed our visit: all the comforts of a new house in a rural setting. Jessie's home is conveniently located in West Cork within easy reach to the best coastal areas. Besides, Jessie, apart from being very friendly, proved to be an excellent host who gave us great advice on what to do in the area, since she's a trained tourist guide. An experience to be repeated!!!

Grania User ProfileGrania is a superhost.
August 2012
We had such a lovely time in this beautiful secluded getaway. The house had everything we needed and more. The garden was large and the fairy fort an added bonus!! Both my friend and I left for home, refreshed, energized and renewed after our beautiful 3 night stay.

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

A National Tour guide. I'm well traveled,and lived in Italy and France for 13 years before deciding to come back to raise my children in this lovely part of the world. I have a beautiful home and would like to share it with people who enjoy traveling and experiencing new cultures, who love beautiful scenery and wildlife, good food, good company and good conversation. I speak fluent French and Italian, and some Spanish. As I taught English abroad for 13 years, I can organise languages classes during your stay, if you require them.

I take wwoofers into my home at times over the summer, and do house exchanges. (Italy/France/ Spain).I love Galicia but also Madrid, it's so civilized! I am part of the Clonakilty favour exchange and believe that we can all help each other out in these times of austerity . I have a degree in Archaeology and love everything got to do with heritage. I am also a qualified local and national tour guide. I regularly do Traditional French Dancing, have done swing dancing, belly dancing and Irish dancing in the past as well as a couple of years' salsa. I like nothing more than a proper singsong and have sung in everything from poly-symphonic choirs to blues bands and rock bands.
Airbnb is a new venture for me, I'm willing to have people here while I am here mostly, but can rent out the whole house on occasion. I love Mediterranean food and vegetarian food in particular, but I will try anything! I do believe in a healthy breakfast (mine includes spirulina!) but if cappuccino is your thing, that can be accommodated!

Languages: English, Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings