2 beds, 1 room in beautiful Victorian house3rd floor bedroom, one of two beds
Private room
3 Guests
3 Beds
$65
Per Night
155 travelers saved this place

About this listing

This 3rd flr room in a beautiful Victorian home has 2 twin beds & a trundle bed, shared bath and sitting room. Guests also use the kitchen and other public spaces. 1/2 hr to NYC via bus or train. Pool and large garden. Walk to anything you might need

2 beds, 1 room in beautiful Victorian house

2 beds, 1 room in beautiful Victorian house


The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $20 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $20
Weekly discount: 10%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The Space

Beautiful Victorian with extensive gardens and pool. 1/2 hr from NYC via commuter bus on corner or train 2 blocks away. Walking distance to many restaurants, movie theater, parks, grocery stores.

This is a 3rd floor bedroom with two single beds and shared bath. A trundle bed allows a 3rd person to use this room as well at an extra charge. The room has a dresser and a desk. I have plenty of off-street parking. Free wireless internet. FIOS. The 3rd floor has two other bedrooms: the Mermaid room and one which I do not list. The 3rd floor is its own private space, with a sitting room (the TV room) and bathroom. You might end up sharing the space with other airbnb guests or members of my family but as often as not only one room is rented. I will allow pets but only by special arrangement.

Outdoors, the garden has flowers April-October. The pool is open June-August, although I can open it earlier or leave it open later by special request and with enough notice. In the pool area are several tables with chairs or benches, plenty of lounge chairs, and a gas grill. There is a lovely screened-in gazebo with comfortable seating and a small table with benches. The gazebo gives a completely different view and feel to the gardens. Near the gazebo is a pond and stream with a bench.

This is a good house for children age 5 and up, especially in the summer when the pool is open. No child is allowed in the pool without a parent or responsible adult watching. The house is not toddler-proof so I prefer not to have children under 3-4 years old (except babies).

I also have two other rooms available through airbnb: the Mermaid room (queen bed and day bed on the 3rd floor) and the Flowers room (queen Sleep Number bed on the 2nd floor).

Guest Access

Guests may use the extensive public spaces, including two parlors, dining-room, 2 TV rooms (1st and 3rd floor). There are no TV sets or phones in the rooms.

Guests are also welcome to use the kitchen for cooking and for storing food.

Guests may use my washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board in the basement. I provide detergent and fabric softener (except for long term guests who should buy their own).

I have a treadmill and a weight machine in the basement for anyone who wants to use it.

Interaction with Guests

I interact with my guests as much as they seem to want. I love to talk with people, but am also happy to just say hello and goodbye if that is what guests prefer.

This is my home so I am almost always around. I will allow guests to stay in the house while I am out-of-town, but no new guest can start a stay when I'm traveling.

The Neighborhood

With a large property for the neighborhood, my house feels like a great get-away from cities, but still has almost anything anyone might want in walking distance. There are lots of restaurants, a movie theater, grocery store, several parks, and all kinds of specialty stores in either of two commercial areas that are easy walks from the house.

Getting Around

The commuter bus to NYC stops on the corner 2 houses away. There is a commuter train station 2 (long) blocks away. The train does not run on the weekend. Several NJTransit local buses stop within a block or so.

I have plenty of off-street parking behind the house. There is no overnight parking on the street.

A taxi from Newark Liberty Airport should cost about $60 including tip. Taxis are also available at Newark Penn Station (note NEWARK, not New York) for those arriving via Amtrak, and should cost about the same price as from the airport.

Other Things to Note

I usually make breakfast on Sunday mornings. For other mornings there is a coffee maker and coffee (you have to make it yourself since I don't make very good coffee), cold cereal of some kind, milk, bread for toast etc.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking

No smoking in the house.

Bathrooms and bedrooms do not have locks on the doors. For the bathrooms, a closed door means someone is in there so be sure to knock and wait before entering. Please leave the bathroom door open when you are finished using it.

This room has space for a fold-up crib, which I can provide. The house is NOT suitable for toddlers, but babies who aren't walking yet are fine. Kids over 4 are also fine.

Use of the extensive public spaces is OK, but with respect for household members and other guests. Please clean up after yourself.

Quiet between 11 pm and 6 am.

Some pets allowed with prior arrangement.

3 TVs are available in separate public spaces but must be shared as necessary.

No child in the pool without a responsible adult watching.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

3rd floor bedroom, one of two beds

3rd floor bedroom, one of two beds

51 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 82 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Juliet

Juliet

Montclair, New Jersey, United States · Member since May 2012

I'm quiet but sociable. I rarely watch TV because I have better things to do. I read a lot of books, mostly Science Fiction and Fantasy, and a lot of science/technology magazines. I have a passion for old books and own far too many of them.

I like to bake, but don't much enjoy regular cooking. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

My children are grown and mostly moved out which leaves me rattling around in my dream house. I've always loved to have visitors and enjoy sharing my lovely house, gardens, and town with other people.

I like to travel, but haven't had as much opportunity to do so outside the US as I'd like.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Montclair

    More places to stay in Montclair: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums