Castle w/Pool in Woods VeryNear GNV

Castle - Entire home/apt · SE 149th Pl, Micanopy, FL 32667, United States
Mark
Your host, Mark
3 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Very unique, peaceful artist style retreat just south of Gvlle (it is South of Gainesville and North of Micanopy -- right near Lake Wauburg).

Unique fully furnished house in Micanopy . . . truly a one of a kind setting that is only 10-15 minutes from Gainesville and 20 minutes to Ocala.

* Bathroom completely renovated May 2013 + brand new jacuzzi tub and rain shower!! And most of inside repainted / wood re-stained.

Located at the end of a dirt road, the property sits on almost three acres of land. Three sides are surrounded by woods.

The fourth side looks out over 5,000 acres of virgin prairie land and a Federal nature preserve (Levy Prairie, right next to Payne's Prairie).

If you like peace and quite, this is perfect (great for writers, artists, and those looking for a little Walden Pond type retreat that is conveniently located to Gainesville and Ocala).

There is a 40-foot sculpture in the yard and murals on the outside walls. Nearly ¼ of the house is glass . . . providing breathtaking views of nature. I frequently see wild turkeys, deer, bald eagles, foxes and all sorts of wildlife in my yard.

The house looks like a little castle, compete with a spiral staircase taking it to three levels. The first level includes a carport and storage areas.

There is a pool and an outdoor shower on this first level, but no real living space.

On the second level, there is a small bedroom, a living room with a high ceiling, a dining area and a galley kitchen. As well, there is a screened in porch that overlooks the prairie.

On the third level, there are two rooms (one is currently used as an office but could convert into another bedroom). As well, there is a bathroom and separate toilet room.

Lake Wauberg is only a quarter mile away (enjoy swimming, skiing, Frisbee golf, etc.) and Payne's Prairie is just as close (observation deck, hiking, etc.).

Rent is $1,897 per month (includes utilities, yard, and pool maintenance) or $137 a night, $837 per week.

Please email or call me with a little information about yourself and your approximate dates to rent the house. The property is available for viewing by appointment only.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $577 /week
Monthly Price: $1277 /month
Security Deposit: $600
Cleaning Fee: $87
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This unique house was the perfect place for our weeklong trip to Gainesville. Marc is an excellent host and made sure that we were comfortable and happy in this fantastic and artistic home. The location is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the sunset. The pool is an refreshing and delightful way to cool down from the hot Florida sun and a hard days work. Thanks Marc!

    September 2013
  • This is a wonderful place that is a lot of fun and a real gem in Gainesville. Really, it's not right in Gainesville, it's right by the little "Old Florida" town of Micanopy, in a beautiful and isolated place. The house and everything in it is sort of fascinating in that you end up spending a significant amount of time trying to figure out its story. The selection of books, music, musical instruments, artwork, etc are a trip. The house seems to have been built as a place of leisure for adults of a former time and its contents reflect that. The "former time" part is true and most of the contents of the house are a little older - many curiosities, but also the amenities (bed/bathroom/etc). While on the old side, we found this to be charming more than anything. Everything in the house was useable/clean/not smelly. While I wouldn't recommend this to someone who is squeamish about things that aren't completely updated/spotless/perfect, this place is ideal for those who are into "interesting" more than anything.

    November 2012
  • The good: If you are looking for a very secluded place to stay outside of Gainesville, this would be it. Through a canopy of trees and swampland....on a dirt road. It is very quiet and very private. The owner is very nice. He was out of town during my stay, and I mainly communicated with his assistant. I stayed an entire month. The TV broke during my first week, and although it took 4-5 days, they did get it replaced and installed. The A/C works very well, and the house stayed nice and cool during a very warm and muggy month.

    The bad: Everything is in need of updating. Most of the walls have some amount of water damage. There is a musty factor to the house that was undeniable. The bedroom door is a million splinters waiting to happen. The bed is probably 20 yrs old. Although the house was cleaned before I arrived, it didn't feel that way. The amount of grime in the bathtub and bathroom was unsettling to me. I tried to clean it myself to no avail. I would have never run myself a bath in it. The oven doesn't work. The patio furniture is old and covered in mildew. I had to cover it with a towel in order to sit on it.

    The bottom line is that the house needs a little renovation and some things need to be re-placed in order to make this place suitable for rental. It could be a lovely space. It's quiet and (email hidden)d surrounded by nature...but it needs a little love.

    September 2012
    Mark
    Response from Mark:

    This review is not completely accurate: we replaced the TV in 36 hours but the tenant was unable to accept delivery of the TV for several days due to her work schedule. True, there is old water damage on the ceiling from before we replaced the roof -- but the roof is now brand new. The entire house is old ... that is the charm of it. And so those expecting ultra-modern construction will be disappointed. But a professional maid service cleans the house after every single tenant. The antique Japanese bath tub certainly shows its age ... but is also certainly perfectly clean and sanitized in between guests. This guest tried to "clean" the signs of an old tub, and of course, even after her repeated 'cleaning' those age signs remained (thus confirming the tub is actually cleaned ... it's just not perfectly shaded and shiny. The range top stove works perfectly fine, as does the toaster oven and microwave ... however we are replacing the insulation on the center part of the oven and so we don't recommend any serious baking projects. The patio furniture is outdoor furniture ... again, showing signs of age, but it is bleach water cleaned every month and absolutely free of mildew. We've had dozens of guests with no complaints -- the place is an old country home, meant for those who enjoy rustic living with all the comforts (while living in the middle of secluded woods). But if you want shiny new modern construction, take a hotel in town! I'm happy to post more photos and send others to illustrate. I have intense allergies and so, with my HEPA filter and constant professional cleaning, there is no musty smell. Happy to answer any questions ... our guests have enjoyed staying and they return often. Thanks!

    September 2012
Per Month
From
$97
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 55 times
Languages
English
Work
Prime Ventures, Inc.
About
Love traveling for work and fun.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 months ago
Similar Listings