Wandering Duck 2 or 3 Night Cruise

Shared room
8 Guests
8 Beds

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Mark's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Mark's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Mark's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Mark has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Strict Cancellation
50% refund until one week before arrival, except service fees.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Wandering Duck is the unique multi-day canal boat experience.

Mark & Ruth are your hosts. Join us on a 2 or 3 night canal boat experience on our 69ft narrowboat.

Our tours take place between Manchester and the Peak District or through Cheshire

Contact Host

A unique style of hosted and hands-on canal boat tour for adventurous travellers

A unique style of hosted and hands-on canal boat tour for adventurous travellers

Verified Photo

The Space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 8
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Room type: Shared room


Extra people: $112 / night after the first guest
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Strict


The Space

Mark and Ruth take up to 8 guests at a time on their 69ft narrowboat. Come on your own and join with like-minded adventurers, or bring a small group and charter the boat

All our trips are fully hosted and hands-on, allowing you to steer the boat and work the locks.

(Note: Prices on Airbnb are per person to join a scheduled tour with other people).

If you have any questions about our trips please message us. We always respond within 24 hours.

We offer 3 different itineraries:

Canal Boat Adventure:
Manchester to the Peak District
3 Nights

Starts: 12pm on Day 1
Castlefield Basin, Manchester. M3 4RU

Finishes: 12pm on Day 4
Whaley Bridge Canal Basin, (website hidden)23 7LS

2015 Tour Dates:
Tue 12 May – Fri 15 May
Tue 2 June – Fri 5 June
Tue 23 June – Fri 26 June
Tue 14 July – Fri 17 July
Tue 4 August – Fri 7 August
Tue 1 September – Fri 4 September
Tue 22 September – Fri 25 September

Adventure Weekender:
The Peak District to Manchester
2 Nights

Starts: 6pm on Day 1
Whaley Bridge Canal Basin, (website hidden)23 7LS

Finishes: 12pm on Day 4
Piccadilly Basin, Manchester. M1 2HG

2015 Tour Dates:
Fri 27 March – Sun 29 March
Fri 8 May – Sun 10 May
Fri 29 May – Sun 31 May
Fri 19 June – Sun 21 June
Fri 10 July – Sun 12 July
Fri 31 July – Sun 2 August
Fri 18 September – Sun 20 September

Canal Boat Escape:
Marple, Manchester to Congleton, Cheshire
2 Nights

Starts: 4pm on Day 1
Marple, (website hidden)6 7BJ

Finishes: 4pm on Day 3
Congleton, (website hidden)12 3DE

2015 Tour Dates:
Fri 20 March – Sun 22 March*
Fri 17 April – Sun 19 April*
Tue 19 May – Thu 21 May
Tue 9 June – Thu 11 June
Fri 12 June – Sun 14 June*
Tue 30 June – Thu 2 July
Fri 3 July – Sun 5 July*
Tue 21 July – Thu 23 July
Fri 24 July – Sun 26 July*
Tue 11 August – Thu 13 August
Fri 14 August – Sun 16 August*
Tue 18 August – Thu 20 August
Fri 21 August – Sun 23 August*
Tue 8 Sept – Thu 10 Sept
Fri 11 September – Sun 13 September*
Fri 9 October – Sun 11 October*
Fri 23 October – Sun 25 October*

*Note these dates are weekend tours which operate in reverse and start at the slightly later time of 6pm.

Guest Access

What's included?

All of our canal boat experiences include:
- Accommodation on the narrowboat
- All meals with the exception of one evening meal in a local pub with the rest of the tour group and hosts.
- Breakfast of cereals, toast & condiments, fresh fruit, fruit juices
- Dinner includes 2 courses of home-cooked food
- Home-made cake
- Tea, ground coffee, hot chocolate & marshmallows
- Soft drinks

- Alcoholic drinks; available from the on-board honesty bar, including red & white wine, lager, cider, and real ale from the hand-pump (pull your own pint!)
- One evening meal in a local pub

The Boat

Mark & Ruth's narrowboat is a 69ft traditional narrowboat. Narrowboats are a type of barge unique to the UK's narrow inland waterways. The waterway network stretches around 2000 miles and was originally built over 200 years ago to transport cargo around the country.

On board our homely boat you will find:

Bunk Cabins
There are 2 cabins with 4 bunk beds in each. A simple dividing door separates the two cabins, with a walkway through. Each bunk has an individual reading light and a pocket for your glasses, book, or phone.

There are two bathrooms, each complete with toilet, sink and a good, powerful, hot shower.

Our lounge has enough seating for everyone to have dinner together. On-board you'll find an ipod dock, board games, small library, and even a guitar for you to use.

Galley/ Kitchen
Our tiny kitchen is where we prepare all the meals. In here you are welcome to help yourself to hot drinks, including real ground coffee, Fairtrade tea, and hot chocolate with marshmallows. You may also help yourself to fresh fruit, and fruit cordial drinks.

Power & Heating
We have central heating for those chillier days. We also have 240v power sockets throughout the boat for charging phones and camera batteries.

Front & Rear Decks
There is enough space between the front and rear decks for all guests to be outside on nice sunny days to admire the passing scenery.

Interaction with Guests

Being on a Wandering Duck tour is all about being fully submerged in this unique way of life.

You will spend lots of time on the boat, chatting with your hosts and your fellow guests. You will also find plenty of time to interact with other canal users, many of whom live on their boats!

Bear in mind that there are plenty of other activities available to keep you occupied. When not having a go at steering the boat, or helping work the locks, there are plenty of walks, you can have a go at fishing, or for a small charge, take our canoe out onto the water.

The Neighborhood

The canals are another world. They are the perfect escape from our fast pace of life, and a great environment in which to chill out with a good book, some wine, and some good music!

The canal community are a friendly bunch and you'll soon be chatting to others on the towpath; whether they're also on their holidays, a local walking their dog, or someone who lives full-time on their boat.

Getting Around

All of our tours start and finish within a few minutes walk of local train stations.

Where you prefer to bring your own car, we can suggest parking, and arrange for a taxi to and from the boat (at your expense). Since we only travel at walking pace, taxi charges and train fares are all very reasonable.

+ More

House Rules

Bear in mind that a narrowboat is a relatively confined space.

You will be sharing bunk bed cabins with other guests, and privacy is limited. An adventurous spirit and an easy-going nature is a must!

No smoking is permitted anywhere on the boat.

Sorry, no pets (Mark is allergic to them!)

+ More

2 nights minimum stay
Shared comfortable bunk cabins.

Shared comfortable bunk cabins.

Verified Photo

No Reviews Yet

Stay here and you could give this host their first review!

About the Host, Mark

Manchester, United Kingdom
Member since May 2012


Explore other options in and around Manchester

More places to stay in Manchester: Apartments · Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas