backyard stays cool with large shady trees
A Hip&Lovely Adobe House&Garden.

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

PRIVATE BATHROOM and PRIVATE BEDROOM! I'm a textile designer from England with art from all over the world dressing my home.. The neighborhood is very "HIPSTER" friendly full of live music venues and places to eat, drink or shop. Enjoy!

The space


My adobe house was built in 1948 with large ash trees planted around it.This is a traditional New Mexican style home. Adobe keeps it warm in winter and cool in summer
I have created a lovely garden with flowers blooming from spring to the first frosts. There are two patios where guests are welcome to sit and I have a hammock which is easily put up.
My garden is private and quite large. I also offer off street parking.
Though I live in mid-town which is close to everything it is quiet and serene in my house .
It is about a 10 minute drive to Old Town, the historic part of Albuquerque with good restaurants, museums and IMAX theater near by. We have the longest aerial tramway in the world which takes you up to the top of the Sandia Mountains.( Sandia means watermelon in Spanish which describes the wonderful color of the mountains at sunset. I am close to ABQ Uptown, upscale shopping and dining and Apple store. Also nearby is the Nob Hill area on historic Route 66, a lively mix of boutique shops, restaurants and Nightclubs.
There are interesting day trips to the Indian pueblos like Acoma built on the top of a mesa and Madrid which was a coal mining town now revitalized by artists weavers and potters. Madrid is on the scenic Turquoise Trail, the back road to Santa Fe.
Santa Fe itself is a one hour drive on the freeway from Albuquerque and we also have the Rail Runner
Also downtown you can find the Indian Cultural Center and the Hispanic Cultural Center.
In October we have the Balloon Fiesta, the largest hot air ballon event in the world.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $15
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $77 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

No smoking please(URL HIDDEN)Guests may use the kitchen.
Quiet time after 10pm.
No Parties!


Cancellations

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

150 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Juliana User Profile
September 2017
Claire is lovely! Her home is beautiful (especially the garden). She also has a very sweet cat named Squeaker. The house was kept very clean and checking in/out was a breeze.

Sarah User Profile
September 2017
Claire's home is as picturesque as it appears in the photos. It made me want a house just like it! It's quiet and residential while close enough to the highway so there's easy access to wherever you want to go. Claire also provided great suggestions for my touring agenda.

Sarah User Profile
August 2017
Claire's place is darling! There's a claw foot bathtub(!), gas stove, and really lovely patio/yard space to hang out in if you wanted to. The only thing I partook in was utilizing the bathtub, yet the other amenities were nice to have access to if I had the time to. If you want a quiet and safe place to land close enough to get around easily, this is a great place to stay. I was in Alb. for continuing education that was being held at the Sheraton. I walked to Humble Coffee every morning (~15 minutes) and Lyfted everywhere else-Whole Foods, breweries (Marble was my fave, and Santa Fe brewery was a close second), and the climbing gym + the Sheraton for my workshop. Claire's place was convenient for this set up and cost $7-12 per ride (I felt like this was cheaper than renting a car overall + I could go to breweries in the evening and not worry about driving...). Squeakers, her cat, was also a lovely little companion in the evening (he usually sleeps with Claire, but she went out of town for a couple days and I took care of the kitty). Great place and great stay :)

Toby User Profile
August 2017
This is a wonderful AirBnB option! Claire is quiet yet friendly and helpful. The home is stunning - full of art and decorative touches. Gardens are beautiful and you can watch hummingbirds feed while you sit in the patio! Great location - quick commute to downtown, the Tram, etc

Ruby User Profile
August 2017
Claire's place was awesome--a beautiful garden, super friendly cat that gave me cuddles, and well decorated. Bed was comfy and she was very responsive to questions both before and during the stay. Would recommend to others looking to stay in ABQ for business or pleasure.

Kathleen User Profile
August 2017
Claire was an amazing host! She is extremely friendly, welcoming and her house is BEAUTIFUL! I can't wait to stay here again :)

Melissa User Profile
August 2017
I always love staying with Claire! Her home is adorable and she takes the effort to make sure that her guests are comfortable and feel like at home. Hopefully I'll be back soon!
Claire User ProfileClaire is a superhost.
Response from Claire:
I hope so too Melissa. You're always so interesting to talk with!
August 2017

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United StatesJoined in May 2012
Claire User ProfileClaire is a superhost.


I was born in England and lived in the center of London for many years when I was a designer. I had the opportunity to come to the US in the early 80s where I lived in Florida for several years before coming to beautiful New Mexico In 1990. Here I’ve experienced living outside Taos, the North Valley, up in the East Mountains before finding my lovely adobe home in the mid town Albuquerque.
I have made gardens everywhere I’ve lived and during my years in Chimayo I sold the produce from my large and lush garden to a local restaurant.
I still create work in clay, watercolor paintings and several outlets carry my jewelry. In spring and summer i”m in the garden, reading or maybe cooking somethig delicious fpr my friends.
In summer i offer my bed and breakfast guests granola with fresh fruit ( some might be from he garden) with Greek yoghurt. Tea and coffee are available and toast and jam or marmalade.
In winter I offer slow cooked oatmeal with blueberries and local honey.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings