Poripori Homestead: Holiday Home

House - Entire home/apt · Poripori Road, Lower Kaimai, Bay Of Plenty 3171, New Zealand
Julian & Frances

Poripori homestead has a character that reflects its early 1900s farm villa history and through renovations has the comforts of a more recent building. Enjoy having your own space in a rural setting with town a short 15 minutes away.

Your host, Julian & Frances
4 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

Poripori homestead has a character that reflects its early 1900s farm villa history and through renovations has the comforts of a more recent building. Enjoy having your own space in a rural setting with town a short 15 minutes away.

The Space

A three bedroom, two bathroom home is a great chance to just get away from things - but not too far. The three bedrooms have six bed spaces between them (2 queens and 2 singles), but we can have up to 8 people sleeping by using a couple of mattresses on the floor. While attached to the owners residence, you will have the privacy of a separate house as there is no 'through' access when guests are staying.
While in the country there is ready access to Tauranga city, just 15 to 20 minutes away. There is a large park 5 minutes away and we are within walking distance to a very large water hole on the nearby river.
You are welcome to have a walk in the grounds. Be aware there are some animals around. There may be electric fencing on. Help yourself to seasonal fruit off the trees - lemons, grapefruit, feijoas, plums, walnuts, macadamia nuts and avocado.
Tauranga has some great restaurants and Cafes - both in the city and at The Mount, if you feel like dining near the beach.
We are usually here for guest arrival (if not, we'll let you know and have key for you to let yourself in). Following your arrival, we will be about the place if you need help or want to chat, otherwise you can just get on with your break /holiday and do your own thing.
We love being here because it is rural yet close to town.
You will need your own transport as there is no public transport.

Guest Access

You are welcome to walk around the grounds of the house, help yourself to fruit on the trees if in season, and relax in the 3 bed house you are staying in or the patio at the front. So far children who have stayed have loved playing in and around the pool and grounds. If you would like to feed the chickens or sheep, then just let us know and we can provide you with some of their feed.

Interaction with Guests

We like to be there when you arrive to show you the house and answer any immediate questions. After that you will probably see us about, looking after the grounds and so on. Although we don't want to intrude on your stay, if you would like to chat, we are more than happy to do so. When we have more than we can cope with from the garden or chickens, we will probably ask if you would like to have some fresh veges or eggs.

The Neighborhood

We love is being in a rural setting, hearing the birds in the mornings and evenings, being able to have animals with enough space, and a the same time being able to get to the city centre in 20 minutes. Frances and I have both lived in larger cities and while enjoying city activity, being able to retreat to peaceful surroundings is often a real luxury.
Close by is the Wairoa river where you can swim, and on selected weekends, the dam up river from us is opened and the river used as a grade 5, white water rafting and canoeing experience.
5 minutes away is McLarens Falls park, which is beautiful to walk in any time of the day, and at night you can go in a canoe trip to see glow worms, or walk to a waterfall in the dark and experience the magic of glow worms along the path and covering the rock face around the waterfall.
The nearest shopping centres (Greerton and Bethlehem) to us are about 12-15 minutes away, and have most of the essentials that you might need.

Getting around

There is no public transport to the house so you will need your own transport to get around.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Extra people: $18 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $726 /week
Monthly Price: $2270 /month
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s), Cat(s), and Other pet(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • A Beautiful Stay in a lovely location with everything we needed! We stayed here recently on our honeymoon for two nights and the only thing that was missing was time to explore the place and spend more time here. Julian and Francis were so lovely and even concerned when we turned up late. They made such an effort to make us feel welcome and at home so thank you! The decore the faciities and everything was just so amazing - we love older style vintage furniture and it just felt so cosy. My husband even commented on how comfortable the bed was and that is a first on any of our travels! Nothing skimped on here we really felt like we were staying at a friends house and we cannot wait to reccomend our friends or even come back and stay if we are lucky enough to!

    March 2014
  • We were at the homestead for one night, but what a great place to stay. The house itself is tastefully setup, spacious and comfortable. Hosts very friendly and helpful without being intrusive! The children loved the "water hole" and the house pool! Would definitely recommend to friends/families. Thank you for the warm hospitality.

    February 2014
  • Beautiful home with excellent amenities. Julian and Frances were wonderful and accommodating hosts!

    Located in a fantastic and central place, beautiful grounds and great pool. The children had the time of their lives and didn't want to leave.

    Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit a truly beautiful part of the world.

    Thanks for having us and making us so very welcome!

    January 2014
  • It's a huge house in a very nice farm with wonderful hosts. We got to meet Julian and Frances and had a great time together.

    May 2013
Per Month
From
$163
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 23 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français, Nederlands
Work
Julian is a lecturer and Frances carries out health assessments for insurance
About
We started out on airbnb in May 2012. I come from NZ and my wife from Scotland, although she has also lived in Holland, France and Germany. We have lived in the Bay of Plenty since we moved here from the UK in 2004. Poripori is a great place here and we bought it because we want to welcome guests to stay. We have both lived outside of the countries we were born in for significant times and enjoy meeting new people from all over the world. Between us we manage to speak English, German, Dutch and French. We have three daughters - two still at school and one at University. Just to make sure we keep busy we also have chickens, a dog and cat, a horse and a pig - all of which are pretty friendly should you want to get to know them a little better. The accommodation we offer, although attached to the part we live in, is a fully self contained 3 bedroom house. We want your stay to comfortable and provide a place where you can get to activities and entertainment within the North Island. Check our property description and photos for some of the activities you can do locally. We are pretty relaxed people and take others as they come. We respect people and, in turn, like us and 'our place' to be respected. Outside of providing accommodation, we both work in health and education.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings