Halfway House To Brisbane or Sydney

House - Private room · Burrawan Dr, Wauchope, NSW 2446, Australia
Ted
Your host, Ted
25 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The Space

I live nearly halfway between Sydney and Brisbane and am very close to Port Macquarie with lovely beaches. Many beautiful places are close by, including a nudist beach.

I have free wifi to guests (and me) There is plenty of parking on the street and a local bus service operates. Wauchope is on the main Sydney to Brisbane train. I am gay and straight friendly. I love having visitors and am usually able to show them around!

Wauchope has a tourist facility called Timbertown which is set up like an old town and is set amongst acres of natural forest. It's an authentic heritage township, where a Horse and Carriage still runs, timber is still sawn and the bullock still hauls a load. There is also still a steam engine running!

Port Macquarie's fantastic beaches and impressive coastline are very close and the beautiful lighthouse and the views from the cliff are well worth a visit!

Welcome!

Amenities:
- Pets Allowed
- TV
- Internet
- Wireless Internet
- Air Conditioning
- Indoor Fireplace
- Washer
- Dryer
- Handicap Accessible
- Kitchen
- Parking Included

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $19 / night after 2 guests
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • It was a good stay with the host Ted . No problems at all. Would recommend it to all.Loo and bathroom spotless.

    February 2014
  • It was a good time at Ted's place. It's a quiet area there, so you can sleep well.

    January 2014
  • Ted made us feeling like at home, and we were very independent. And the same time, Ted was also available for us to chat, to tell us about his experiences (Travel, Aribnb...)
    We absolutely recommend to get there. It is also a very nice area to stay, as the countryside around is beautiful !

    Please do not consider Barbara's comment, which is as false as nasty ! (we were a bit scared, cause we saw that at the las moment ... and LOL, the description is the exact contrary of Ted's house and behavior ! )

    January 2014
    Ted
    Response from Ted:

    Thank you

    January 2014
  • Came with my boyfriend and a friend to stay at Ted's on our way to Sydney and we found our stay a most pleasurable one indeed. Ted's place was cozy and comfortable while Ted was also very friendly himself. Unlike one of the previous reviews, we also found the place to be clean and spotless. Ted also very kindly provided us with a good breakfast to start off the day. I'll definitely recommend Ted!

    December 2013
  • Ted has been very welcoming. We were very late and he let us for which we are very grateful. A very modern house with spa and Internet feels like home. :) Ted offered us tea and cereals.
    Few downsides - the toilet wasn't very clean in complete contrast to the rest of the house. During breakfast we had a long conversation with Ted and sometimes ted may seem to have prejudice against some people and at times very strong opinions.
    Overall we had average (email hidden).

    December 2013
    Ted
    Response from Ted:

    What can I say? The dirty toilet rears its head again. I am at a loss to imagine why they would say the toilet is dirty. It is not. It may be the colour of the water which is sometimes brown in this area. After the comments from the Germans, I obviously have been meticulous with the cleaning of the toilet and bathroom. I don't know why they thought it was dirty. I wish they had told me at the time. When they left, they assured me that they would be giving me a good review..

    December 2013
  • We had a great time in Ted's house!!! There is a very clean and comfortable place!!! If we have chance to visit there again we hope we can stay in there again :))

    December 2013
    Ted
    Response from Ted:

    Thank you for those comments. I knew what the Germans said was lies, but it is nice to have it confirmed.

    December 2013
  • Our stay at Ted was different to our previous Airbnb experiences. We didn't feel very comfortable because Ted was not a very friendly host and the house was absolutely not clean: In the bathroom there was old hair and old dirt. But the toilet was worse, there was an insect sitting in the very old urine and poo!
    The towels were smelly and in the bed we also found hair.
    So we didn't sleep very well and the next day we were happy to leave after breakfast which was okay.

    December 2013
    Ted
    Response from Ted:

    I do not accept these criticisms. The real issue is that we got off to a bad start with an argument when they demanded that I accept cash from them instead of a proper booking. By doing this. both of us would have avoided the fees charged by Airbnb. I don't operate like this, but obviously other people do as they mentioned several places they had stayed, yet there is only one review of them. Without a proper booking, there is no way of reviewing them. They admitted this in their review of me, by talking about other Airbnb experiences.
    I will accept that there could have been urine in the toilet during the night as I don't flush it during the night, so as not to wake the guests. But the rest of their comments, especially the 'insect sitting in very old urine and poo' is a total figment of their imagination. The towels were not smelly. They were freshly washed. I provided them with toast and cereal for breakfast, but they demanded cheese as well. When they left, their plates were on the bench unwashed. Most people offer to wash up their dishes. But, common decency is not one of their traits.
    I suggest that anyone reading their comments and my reply should also take into consideration every other comment I have had, speaking well of me and my house.
    A most unpleasant experience, especially when they lie about me to try and get their own back because I would not be part of their scam to defraud Airbnb of their fees.

    December 2013
  • We were pressed by time finding a house mid-way to Gold Coast.

    Ted answered us very quickly and arranged for the house to be open for us to arrive late at night.

    We didn't meet ted in person as we had to leave early in the morning.

    Our impression was that his house was very clean and tidy and the mums enjoyed their stay ( the dads went fishing instead of sleeping ) It was our first long trip and we are glad we chose to stay there.

    I've read through the reviews and saw the lady leaving a bad review and I can vouch that it is most likely untrue from what we saw when we stepped in the house.

    December 2013
  • My parents and I stayed with Ted for one night on our road trip. Ted keeps his place tidy and clean, we feel like at home. Located in a quiet but beautiful area which closes (email hidden) tourist attraction,about 20 minutes drive to Port Macquarie . There is a Thai restaurant, a pizza shop and an RSL club in the town centre (3 minutes drive ), where you can get some food, IGA and liquor store opens till 7pm on Sunday. It's half way between Brisbane and Sydney,great for road trip stop over or just chill out and enjoy a peaceful holiday.

    December 2013
  • Ted was very helpful even although he had only just arrived back from holiday himself! He made us feel at home and we were very grateful that he accommodated our cat. We would stay there again.

    December 2013
Per Month
From
$58
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 19 times
About
I don't like talking about myself as I find it quite hard. I am average sort of person. I am very tactile; like light classical music; the outdoors and I used to have a beautiful German Shepherd dog, but he died. I am soon to get another dog. I have been married to women twice; the last one only lasted four years and it will never happen again. I don't think I understand women, but what male does? I like travelling and am looking forward to travelling to Europe again soon. I also have been to Israel several times and love that country.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 months ago
Similar Listings