Posh downstairs suite with private bath and private entrance Living room
Posh affordable suite w private entrance in Escazú
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Ground Level Suite: Comfortable queen bed, private bathroom with shower, private entrance, big flat screen HDTV with tons of English-language channels, 10mbps wifi, and work desk. Linens and towels are provided. Shared areas of the house include a spacious kitchen, fireplace, living room, garden, etc.

The space

Welcome to Tiger's Den. I hope you'll enjoy your stay with me in San Rafael de Escazú. My name is Jilla, but almost everyone calls me Tiger. My house is conveniently located in a nice neighborhood situated across from Paco Plaza. We are in a secure gated community with a guard at the entrance at all times.

I moved to Escazú because I really liked the proximity to quality dentists, medical care, San Jose, the theaters, movies, fantastic dining, farmers markets and so much more.

A lot of our guests enjoy walking to the many dentist's offices, shopping areas, and restaurants nearby. The house is a five minute walk to a great gym and about a 15 minute walk to a great pool. We're about 20 minutes from the center of San Jose, 25 minutes from the main SJ airport (Juan Santamaría International Airport), and 20 minutes from the Tobías Bolaños International Airport airport in Pavas. We're less than a mile from CIMA and Multiplaza.
There are four bedrooms in the house that I rent out: two posh suites with private baths, and two comfortable rooms that share a spacious bathroom. Provided with the cost of your bedroom are towels and linens, a shower with hot water, flat panel HDTV and cable with all the English-language channels available, plus high speed (10mbps!) wireless internet. There is no need for air conditioning in any of the rooms because the breeze sweeps through the house. Each room has a ceiling fan if you get too warm, but most days they aren't even needed.

I enjoy sharing my space with people who are easy-going, neat, healthy, or at least interested in getting healthy, non-tobacco smokers. This is a gay, vegetarian and animal friendly establishment. You don't have to be gay or vegetarian but I do hope you like animals. I have two big cats and two small dogs. If you have allergies, or don't really thrill to the idea of animals in your space, just keep your doors closed and the animals won't enter your room. If you want animals to play with, mine are very friendly.

Guest access

You will have access to the whole house (excluding my apartment and art studio) including the kitchen, living room with fireplace, dining room, an outdoor BBQ area and garden, that includes a 5th full bathroom and washer and dryer, a refrigerator and running water and seating for several people.

I have a big yard with a patio, tropical plants surrounding a BBQ area. The garden offers the perfect environment to read, eat, or simply relax or meditate.

There's a dining room and a large eat in kitchen with all American-style appliances including a dishwasher.

Interaction with guests

I interact with guests on an intermittent level. I'm in the house a lot, but also have an art studio so I'm in there for a big part of the day. I will cook meals at a cost of $10.00/per person, but usually require 24 hours notice. I'm friendly, but also busy.

Other things to note

There are great hiking trails up in to the mountains behind the house and a park across the street. There are over 50 restaurants ranging from McDonalds to one of the finest Italian restaurants in Central America. There is a huge shopping plaza, and my favorite, a great park with a river and tall bamboo less than 3 minutes away from my front door.

Free parking on premises
Indoor fireplace

Extra people $10 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit $100
Weekly Discount: 33%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

I don't allow tobacco smoking on the premises. Please respect my home and my belongings. I would appreciate it if you ate and drank only what you brought into the house yourselves.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

3 nights minimum stay

8 Reviews

Check In
Joanna User Profile
May 2017
I would just write 'ditto' but...... the house is great. Tiger is great. If there's other people there... they're nice. The room is cozy ( bathroom tiny). But with use of such a comfortable big house with modern kitchen and little hang out areas and a cute back yard...... can't be beat. I had knee surgery so can't comment on where the buses are but there's plenty to walk to. It's in the center of Escazu which can't be topped . House is super clean and miraculously bug free-like much of escazu. I'm extending my stay in Costa Rica, largely because I know I can return here to regroup after being really hot at the beaches for a few weeks! So... ditto to everyone else's reviews....
Jilla Aka Tiger User ProfileJilla Aka Tiger is a superhost.
Response from Jilla Aka Tiger:
Joanna I loved having you and Angel stay with me. I'm glad your knee is better and I look forward to seeing you again when you return. Thanks for the nice review. I was in a hurry and didn't say how much I enjoyed your company.
May 2017

Rebecca User Profile
April 2017
Jilla's house is great. I stayed there for 3 weeks and I can say it is very comfortable. The kitchen is spacious and the house it is located in a peacefull recidency near the bus stop, restaurants and supermarket.

Linda User Profile
November 2016
The day I was told that I needed $42,000 worth of dental work was the day I started my resolution quest. I certainly could not afford it and started looking for other options. After the initial shock and after researching online I decided to explore my options in Costa Rica. My understanding was that there were excellent dental surgeons and technologies available that were up to and in some cases even better than US standards. So the next step was to find the dentist and lodging. Tiger's Den seemed to be a good fit but what I didn't realize until I arrived was that the level of service would far exceed my expectations. She was welcoming, accommodating and extreme helpful throughout my entire visit. I wanted to let everyone know what a blessing it was to be in her care. Also the dental clinic I used, Dental Cosmetics located near the airport, came up with a better treatment plan than what I was offered at home for about 65% less.

David User Profile
June 2016
I booked the place for my dad, and he absolutely loved the place. He described it as "very neat and very clean." He loved the whole "artist-vibe" of the house and mentioned that it was located very conveniently to shopping centers and restaurants. Jilla was out of town, but her friend was there, and they are both wonderful to work with. Great communications! Couldn't ask for more!

Eric User Profile
January 2016
Tiger's place is wonderful. Exactly like the online presentation but with positive energy and easiness. Super convenient yet peaceful spot with a whole bunch of good restaurants and shops a short walk. Favorite thing is morning hikes in the crisp breezy air. A fantastic home base for long term and short. Wifi works super fast too. Tiger's a fabulous cook too and very health conscious. Well done!

Laura User Profile
January 2013
The reservation was canceled 2 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Alma User Profile
November 2012
The lovely first floor condo has a great location in an upscale are of Escazu and excellent security. The home, bedroom, and bath are very clean. Although Tiger was away when I stayed, she had a delightful hostess, Raquel, staying there to help everyone. Raquel answered all our questions about directions and things to do. I was there to receive outstanding dental treatment from Dr. Vinicio Prada and was familiar with the area. The other guests while I was there were absolutely great! Friendly and interesting, we enjoyed the time we were in the the communal area. Had a great experience!

This host has 45 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Escazu, Costa RicaJoined in March 2011
Jilla Aka Tiger User ProfileJilla Aka Tiger is a superhost.

I was a home health care nurse for PWA's (people with AIDS) in the 90’s and can offer health care if you're recovering from any kind of dental work, plastic surgery, etc. I'm a retired personal trainer with 25 years experience and I was also a licensed massage therapist. I consider myself a happy and upbeat person.

I love to exercise and walk. I cook healthy food. My house is a great place to come if you're on a diet, or just enjoy healthy eating. I'm very laid back and love to have my breakfast outside, snooze in the hammock, or just hang out in the garden. I also do ceramic sculpture, and pottery, and enjoy making jewelry with polymer clays and resins. I like movies and love to read autobiographies, biographies, novels, and study books including Spanish, Travel, History and Spirituality. I love to travel and meet new people. I also love to cook and can prepare many various types of dishes. I particularly like curries. I enjoy having new people in my home and many of my guests have become dear friends who come back whenever they can. Sometimes I can be kind of private and just need alone time. It depends on what's going on and how many people are in the house at once.

I have always been drawn to travel and adventure. I've lived in many places including New York, Puerto Rico, Alaska, Japan and San Francisco before settling here in Costa Rica. I'm also a big animal lover and enjoy walking my dog in the mountains that surround my home. I like trips to the beach and swimming, yoga and a healthy diet. I'm mostly a pescatarian, but that doesn't mean you have to be. I'm glad to prepare meals of all types with 24 hour notice and a charge of $10 a meal per person.

Please tell me a bit about yourself and why you're coming to CR.

Languages: English, Español, 日本語
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings