Magnificent Fjord in Connemara

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · N, Derrynasliggaun, County Galway, Ireland
Shane

Come and stay on the shore of Killary Fjord, the only fjord in Ireland. Step away from the hustle and bustle and experience the beauty and splendor of life on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the stunning beaches, deserted mountains and busy pubs

Your host, Shane
5 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a day

Come and stay on the shore of Killary Fjord, the only fjord in Ireland. Step away from the hustle and bustle and experience the beauty and splendor of life on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the stunning beaches, deserted mountains and busy pubs

The Space

IMPORTANT TO READ BEFORE BOOKING

The price is per person sharing in double rooms if you want a dorm room for more people or to inquire about family rates then please send us a message and we will get back with rates.

Looking for something different in the West of Ireland? In our purpose built K2 centre we can accommodate you in dorm rooms or private double rooms (all en-suite). Facilities include free Wi-Fi, underfloor heating throughout centre, dry rooms, relaxation room with open turf fire and stunning views, pool table in recreation area, free spacious parking. Our centre boasts eco-friendly energy that runs the building's electricity (bio-mass boiler and wind turbine). We have a stunning view over Killary Harbour right out to Inishturk Island, and summertime sunsets to rival anywhere.

Bus services by CityLink and Bus Eireann run from Galway to nearby Letterfrack, a great place for hitch hiking.

The accommodation is part of Killary Adventure Centre, where you can get your dose of outdoor adventure and experience the best that the area has to offer by kayak, bungee or climbing tower! We have a vast range of activities available to both new and experienced guests looking for something unique and exciting to write home about!

Other local attractions include the local bars, boat trips down the fjord, great diving and many local festivals. Just ask our friendly staff for recommendations!


Why stay here? So many reasons... the friendly staff. The stunning location. The purpose built eco-friendly centre. The efforts we go to make your stay enjoyable. The stunning area which is famous for it's natural beauty and unspoiled countryside. Or maybe the simple solitude and tranquility of Connemara. Whatever you are looking for, we truly have it all!

Guest Access

Bedrooms
All bedrooms with bathrooms ensuite
Underfloor heating throughout
All power provided by biomass boiler and on-site wind turbine
Dorm-style rooms sleep 4 or 6 people in bunk beds
Bed linen (except towels) provided in all dorm-style rooms
Bed linen including towels provided in all twin/double rooms

Dining
Large dining room seating up to 65 people
Range of dining options available and menus to suit every type of group or party

Other facilities
Large drying room for outdoor gear and walking boots
Extra changing and shower facilities
Free WiFi
Relaxation room with open turf fire and stunning views
Pool table in recreation area
Free spacious parking for cars and coaches

Interaction with Guests

There will be someone present 24 hours a day to help you settle into your home away form home.

The Neighborhood

It is out in the middle of the countryside and all this entails. You can go bungee jumping, water skiing and and all our other activities from kayaking to cycling.

Getting around

Ideally suited to those with their own vehicles, although also great for those who enjoy or want to try hitch-hiking! Bikes are also a great way to get around Connemara and truly connect to the surrounding countryside. Regular but minimal public transport alighting in Letterfrack.

Other Things to Note

Rugged west coast of Ireland at its best, be prepared for stunning scenery and any kind of weather!

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 16+
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 8+
Beds: 16
Extra people: $42 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $245 /week
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a decent experience here at the Killary Fjord. First off I'll say that the views are wonderful and it was a convenient stopping place for us between Ballina and Galway. On the negative side, the place had a very bad smell (like wet dog) and unfortunately opening the windows to let in fresh air only let in bugs. The room was clean but basic and the shower is not separate space...just has a downward sloping floor into a drain which I thought was slightly odd. The breakfast was very basic (cereal and coffee and a small selection on fruit). The add for this was misleading. The staff was friendly but not very present. All in all I think this place is over-priced given the accommodations.

    April 2014
    Shane
    Response from Shane:

    Hi Kelley
    Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate constructive comments like yours. Firstly apologies that you did not have a completely positive experience at Killary. We are investigating the issues you had with bad smells and breakfast and will try to ensure that they are fully resolved. You stayed with us on what was an unusually quiet night and I can understand how that would appear in terms of the lack of a strong staff presence. The showers we have may seem unusual but because of our location and the nature of the activities that we offer as part of the adventure centre we have found that these showers work best for disposing of Connemara mud which gets carried in by guests quite often! However again I do apologise that you did not have the experience you expected and thank you for letting us know. We will do all we can to act upon to your feedback.
    Best wishes
    Shane

    April 2014
  • I enjoyed my stay there. I didn't really get what kind of place it was before I arrive there. Also, the name of the place is Killary Adventure Center. I had a very big room with one double bed and one sigle for my own :), bathroom was good. During my first night there were some loudy kids shouting on the corridor, but as I came from a city, it made me feel safe :), the second night, the center was almost empty...:). Breakfast is ok, cereals, fruits, bread, marmelade, juice, tea, coffee, etc.
    The location is amazing! Properly in the axis of the fjord, with a view on it from the room. My things nearby such Kylemore Abbey, Connemara national Parc, Clifden is 30 minutes driving, but there's some good places to eat in Leenane, as this village grill which was very good.
    Last but not least, all the staff was very very helpful and kind.
    Could go back there if i return to Connemara :)

    August 2013
  • Such a wonderful view and everyone was so friendly and accomadating. We only spent one night, wish we could have stayed longer. The village is only a mile or 2 down the road with several choices for lunch and dinner and a nice museum to boot!

    August 2012
  • Perfect room with a magnificient point of view in connemara. I recommend them

    August 2012
  • Nice weekend spent in a interesting place, very clean room with a beautiful view of the fjord.Everywhere close-beach,Killary Cruises,Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park.Braekfast excellent-a good choice and nice, helpful staff

    May 2012
Per Month
From
$42
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 95 times
Languages
English, Español
School
Dublin
Work
Killary Adventure Centre
About
I'm not a boxed in guy
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
5 days ago
Similar Listings