View out the front entranceUpstairs and the view from the dining room
B&B accommodation overlooking Fjord in Connemara
B&B accommodation overlooking Fjord in Connemara
16 guests
23 bedrooms
40 beds
20 baths
16 guests
23 bedrooms
40 beds
20 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
16 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Come and stay on the shore of Killary Fjord, in Killary Adventure Centre, an accommodation for just B&B or an overall adventure stay. Step away from the hustle and bustle and experience the beauty and splendor of life on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the stunning beaches, deserted mountains and busy pubs. We are open throughout the winter for groups so if you are more than 10 people please contact us. We have our own private slipway and pier plus access to a variety of walking trails.

The space


The price is per person sharing in double rooms if you want a dorm room for more people or to inquire about family rates then please send us a message and we will get back with rates.

Looking for something different in the West of Ireland? In our purpose built K2 centre we can accommodate you in dorm rooms or private double rooms (all en-suite). We take large groups (up to 95) for activity adventure holidays, but also accommodate those just looking for B&B . Facilities include free Wi-Fi, underfloor heating throughout centre, dry rooms, relaxation room with open turf fire and stunning views, pool table in recreation area, free spacious parking. We do not have self catering facilities or access to a kitchen. Our centre boasts eco-friendly energy that runs the building's electricity (bio-mass boiler and wind turbine). We have a stunning view over Killary Harbour right out to Inishturk Island, and summertime sunsets to rival anywhere.

Bus services by CityLink and Bus Eireann run from Galway to nearby Letterfrack, a great place for hitch hiking.

The accommodation is part of Killary Adventure Centre, where you can get your dose of outdoor adventure and experience the best that the area has to offer by kayak, water-ski or climbing tower! We have a vast range of activities available to both new and experienced guests looking for something unique and exciting to write home about!

Other local attractions include the local bars, boat trips down the fjord, great diving and many local festivals. Just ask our friendly staff for recommendations!

Why stay here? So many reasons... the friendly staff. The stunning location. The purpose built eco-friendly centre. The efforts we go to make your stay enjoyable. The stunning area which is famous for it's natural beauty and unspoiled countryside. Or maybe the simple solitude and tranquillity of Connemara. Whatever you are looking for, we truly have it all!

Guest access

All bedrooms with bathrooms ensuite
Underfloor heating throughout
All power provided by biomass boiler and on-site wind turbine
Dorm-style rooms sleep 6 people in bunk beds
Bed linen (except towels) provided in all dorm-style rooms
Bed linen including towels provided in all twin/double rooms

Large dining room seating up to 65 people at one time
Range of dining options available and menus to suit every type of group or party. Has to be booked in advance.

Other facilities
Large drying room for outdoor gear and walking boots
Extra changing and shower facilities
Free WiFi - However due to our location we have only one wifi provider and we are on their highest tariff with 4mbs so do not expect to be wathing netflix
Relaxation room with open turf fire and stunning views
Pool table in recreation area
Free spacious parking for cars and coaches

Interaction with guests

There will be someone present 24 hours a day to help you enjoy your stay, I am not always there to meet with you but their will be someone here every day for your needs.

Other things to note

Rugged west coast of Ireland at its best, be prepared for stunning scenery and any kind of weather!

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 4
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 5
4 single beds
Bedroom 6
4 single beds
Bedroom 7
4 single beds
Bedroom 8
4 single beds
Bedroom 9
4 single beds
Bedroom 10
4 single beds


Extra people $37 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 17%
Weekend Price $84 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Check in time is 2PM - 11PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We expect guests to be respectful of other guests staying with us.

We allow some pets (must be confirmed prior to arrival).

There is no smoking allowed anywhere in the centre, but we do have designated smoking areas outside.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

1 night minimum stay

53 Reviews

Check In
Stephanie User Profile
August 2017
An absolutely incredible scenic view of the Fjord at sunset. We woke up at about 6 a.m. and went for morning walk down to the little town around the corner where we saw Sheep and The Fjord and incredible sunrise. A bit more options for the Continental breakfast would be nice. Overall I would return.

Christine User Profile
July 2015
We booked a double room for one night. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was nice and hospitable. Cool building, too! There were quite a few campers there, but we couldn't hear them from our room and they didn't disturb us. For dinner, we took a quick car ride back into Leenane, which had several options, though I believe there is also a cafe on site at the B&B. There are some nice views of the fjord a short walk from the B&B. Breakfast (toast, cereal, juice, coffee/tea) was served in a separate room from where all the campers ate, but started about 30 minutes later than we expected. All in all, this is a really nice place to stay when visiting the Connemara area.
Shane User Profile
Response from Shane:
Hi Christine, thanks for the postive feedback. Hopefully you will make it back to Connemara again in the fture Shane
July 2015

Whitney User Profile
June 2015
This place has a million dollar view hands down. Its a beautiful building in a great location. I would share that there are summer camps based out of the building June-Aug, as was the case during my stay. I did feel like there wasnt really a public space I could go to without hanging out with the campers. The internet was very slow, and only low/semi working speeds were accessible right in the reception office. Also, the room was extremely warm, and didnt seem to have a switch to turn down floor heating.

Joseph User Profile
May 2015
I was just passing through. I wanted a clean overnight room with no frills. It was operated more as a hostel. Staff was super friendly (did not meet Shane or Mary). Slept well on the bed. Could not have asked for more. Location was spectacular. I would absolutely stay again, maybe as more of destination for my 2 adventure loving sons. Thank you.

Kelley User Profile
April 2014
We had a decent experience here at the Killary Fjord. First off I'll say that the views are wonderful and it was a convenient stopping place for us between Ballina and Galway. On the negative side, the place had a very bad smell (like wet dog) and unfortunately opening the windows to let in fresh air only let in bugs. The room was clean but basic and the shower is not separate space...just has a downward sloping floor into a drain which I thought was slightly odd. The breakfast was very basic (cereal and coffee and a small selection on fruit). The add for this was misleading. The staff was friendly but not very present. All in all I think this place is over-priced given the accommodations.
Shane User Profile
Response from Shane:
Hi Kelley Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate constructive comments like yours. Firstly apologies that you did not have a completely positive experience at Killary. We are investigating the issues you had with bad smells and breakfast and will try to ensure that they are fully resolved. You stayed with us on what was an unusually quiet night and I can understand how that would appear in terms of the lack of a strong staff presence. The showers we have may seem unusual but because of our location and the nature of the activities that we offer as part of the adventure centre we have found that these showers work best for disposing of Connemara mud which gets carried in by guests quite often! However again I do apologise that you did not have the experience you expected and thank you for letting us know. We will do all we can to act upon to your feedback. Best wishes Shane
April 2014

Teresa User Profile
August 2012
Such a wonderful view and everyone was so friendly and accomadating. We only spent one night, wish we could have stayed longer. The village is only a mile or 2 down the road with several choices for lunch and dinner and a nice museum to boot!

Antoine User Profile
August 2017
Great location

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Galway, IrelandJoined in May 2012
Shane User Profile

I work here in Killary where my family set up 34 years ago after happening upon this stunning location. In Killary you might meet me or one of my colleagues we are all excited to see you come through the doors and hope you have and amazing time here.

My time here in Connemara, and indeed yours should also, consists of spending time in the outdoors from mountains to the sea it is a great playground to explore.

Languages: English, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings