Garden Cottage in beautiful Dumfries & Galloway

Entire guesthouse hosted by Tessa

  1. 4 guests
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 2 beds
  4. 1 bath
Great location
90% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
Great check-in experience
90% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
Park for free
This is one of the few places in the area with free parking.

AirCover

Every booking includes free protection from Host cancellations, listing inaccuracies, and other issues like trouble checking in.
My guest cottage offers peace and comfort in any season, in the small town of Thornhill. Close to the town centre yet quiet and secluded, It’s a great base for exploring this beautiful region, growing in popularity but still offering tourist-free tranquility and wide open spaces.

Open plan kitchen and sitting room with a cosy wood burning stove for colder evenings and French windows leading to a decked terrace in the peaceful garden for sunny times.

The space
Self contained with side entrance through the garden. Yoga mats and a selection of Pilates small props available on request. Bikes welcome, you can keep them in the secure garden.

The cottage is an annexe to our family home, which, when not hosting guests is used by us. It has books (which you are welcome to read), pictures and ornaments and a cosy, welcoming atmosphere. By staying here you will not be occupying property that could otherwise provide somebody with a permanent home.

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom
1 double bed
Living room
1 sofa bed

What this place offers

Garden view
Kitchen
Wifi
Free parking on premises
TV
Shared patio or balcony
Shared backyard – Fully fenced
Indoor fireplace: wood-burning
Hair dryer
Refrigerator

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing

4.78 out of 5 stars from 51 reviews

Cleanliness
Accuracy
Communication
Location
Check-in
Value

Where you’ll be

Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland, United Kingdom

The town has a range of local cafes and shops including its own chocolatier! A nearby beauty spot is Crichope Linn, where the river rushes down an impressive sandstone gorge. There are great walks and mountain biking routes in nearby Ae Forest and Drumlanrig Castle park.

Hosted by Tessa

  1. Joined in December 2014
  • 88 Reviews
  • Identity verified
I’m a theatre producer, director and writer. I sometimes travel for work, sometimes for personal and family reasons. Non smoker, house trained!

During your stay

I live next door in the main house so I'm available to answer any questions and recommend local walks etc. My two adult sons are also in residence.
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Checkout: 12:00 PM
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events

Health & safety

Airbnb's COVID-19 safety practices apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy