Welcome to Ocean Spirit! the red door to our best and main rental.
Luxurious Apartment with Panoramic View of Ocean
Luxurious Apartment with Panoramic View of Ocean


6 guests

1 room

3 beds

1.5 baths


6 guests

1 room

3 beds

1.5 baths

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A two story Luxury equipped home for 2, up to 6 guests in a pinch, full kitchen, jacuzzi, two level of lanais, and private access to the rooftop for a panoramic view of the ocean along with star gazing at night!

Summertime or having an extended stay? We provide discounts for bookings on available space depending on the availability and the length of your stay.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $25 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $85
Security Deposit: $300
Weekly Discount: 5%

Description

The space

The Luxurious Apartment is the top two floors of a contemporary townhouse (1200 square feet). A custom constructed yacht style stairway leads to the fourth story roof deck with spectacular 360° views and unbelievable night skies.

Enjoy 180 degree ocean vistas on the two lanai's, one from the master bedroom and the other from the kitchen / living area. A two minute walk will get you to the cliffs overlooking the ocean. A fifteen minute walk will take you to Kehena black sand beach, to the south, or to KALANI health resort, to the north.

Contact your friends with the Free WiFi as well as phone landline(for outcalling ONLY), and tell them about the Spectacular Roof Deck with 360' views, the sunlight streaming through the stain glass windows reflected on the teak floors, the Balinese river rock counters, all the while listening to the special magic of whales blowing their lungs and slapping their tails.

The second floor has a kitchen, breakfast bar, expansive lanai, and tables for dining either in or outside, amidst the forever flowering garden. There is an enclosed toilet on this floor, and two couches that will convert to full size queen beds. The kitchen is fully equipped including a full-size professional gas range, stainless steel pots and pans, microwave, toaster, boiling water pitcher, coffee grinder and maker, glass and plateware, silverware, and all of the standard kitchen implements at your disposal.

The top floor has a wonderful Queen size memory foam bed, stairway access the Spectacular Roof Deck with 360' views, a walk in closet, Jacuzzi tub/shower, and flatscreen TV that can be used in conjunction with ROKU service(Netflix, Youtube, Amazon, etc.) and a DVD player . Lay back in the teak lounge chairs and enjoy the view. There is also a clothes washer, with soap,and a line drying area on-site for your use.

Nearby natural hot springs and tide pools offer awesome snorkeling, soaking, and swimming in lava spring warm water, right at the ocean's edge. A fifteen minute drive will get you to Kalapana Village with it's local music, Uncle Roberts Awa Bar and Kaimu Korner Kountry Store, with most everything you need to supply your stay (beer, cigarettes, groceries, local fruits and vegetables, grass fed beef, etc.). You can explore the old Hawaiian town of Pahoa, a 20 minutes drive away, with its wooden board walks, many restaurants and markets.

Guest access

A landline telephone with free local and long distance calling to the US and Canada, is available for outcalls only.

A shared gas grill barbecue, small table, and lounge chairs are located in the grass courtyard.

A small collection of DVDs to watch at your leisure, are available in the Studio lanai cabinet, but with access to ROKU, you are covered for entertainment.

A washer and dryer set up with soap, a table, and hang lines to dry are available on site. Please make an appointment for laundry access.

Interaction with guests

Having had luck with AirBnB's wonderful guests, we are blessed to have you stay here with us. It is mine and Michaels' goal to interact as much (or as little) with you as is necessary, and hope our relationship is fun, informative and mutually beneficial. No more and no less.

The neighborhood

Here is a recent quote from one of our guests:

"This is probably the coolest house in the coolest neighborhood on the Big Island. You'll be in the Seaview neighborhood, a block from the lava rock shore. Seaview is filled with friendly island folks and retired hippies who say "Aloha" when they pass you, and most everyone knows the Triangle House complex. Some people know it as the " Cheese House," because it looks like a wedge of Swiss cheese lying on its side, with each stained glass window a hole. You're living in a gorgeous jungle, with great ocean access, a plethora of interesting artists, and alternative living folk, with the best neighborhood spirit I've seen. Every Wednesday, practically the whole community of the Puna district ends up at a bazaar on the edge of civilization where the 1970 lava flow literally rolled over the city of Kalapana, called "Uncle Roberts at the End of the Road." I don't know a better way to say hello to a new community than that. MIchael, the onsite Innkeeper, is super easy to work with, and is here to answer any questions NOT in this primer, and to assist you in emergencies.

The property complex was designed by an architect, for the HILTON hotel family, the original owners, who had a dream about "round holes and square pegs" and designed a property with a Triangle house, a Blockhouse house, a Circle shaped water catchment, and two Square sheds. There's also a real life castle one block away. It's like living in a dream."

Getting around

There is very limited public transportation here. A bus to and from Pahoa town, and/or Hilo city runs through the area only one block away, but only twice a day. It is definitely suggested that you rent a vehicle for your commute and getting around town.

Other things to note

Please visit:

for a very good list of the events happening within the immediate area.

Also another helpful site:

for info on lava tours, landbased and oceanside based tours and excursions.

Wednesday nights is UNCLE ROBERTS KANAKA MUSIC night and LUAU, which you must attend at least once, Hawaiian music, hula, food courts, arts/crafts bazaar, a farmers market, with lots of local color, people and other travelers looking for fun like yourself. DON'T MISS IT!!!

p3.description.license

W41628816-01
p3.description.license_link_text

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

WE REQUEST THAT YOU READ THE MORE DETAILED HOUSE ADVISORY IN THE GUEST BOOK OF THE RENTAL UNIT AS YOU GET HERE.

But, briefly, there is Absolutely No Smoking, candles, incense, or any combustibles INSIDE the buildings. Unfortunately, if you are found to do so you repeatedly, will forfeit your entire deposit and be asked to leave.

We follow Hawai'ian traditions, so if you can, be nice to the floors and take off your shoes and go barefoot when entering. Recycling is also another habit, we Big Islanders consider traditions. Please participate with us.

We have private water catchment, so please conserve water when possible. Though it is chlorine treated, sediment, and then charcoal filtered, it is not certified for public drinking water. Though we have had no problems with the quality and taste of our water, we suggest bringing your own for consumption.

This community observes the "Dark Sky" policy to maintain stunning night sky viewing. Please keep interior and exterior lighting to a minimum. The more lights on at night, the more BUGS and MOSQUITOS are likely to get inside to YOU.

Do not move or rearrange the heavy furniture we bill for floor scratches/gouges and the extra help to put it back the way it was.

It can become windy and rainy almost anytime and often does. ALWAYS close all labeled windows whenever leaving the house.

It's a quiet and peaceful neighborhood and there are often other guests, please observe neighborhood quiet times (10:00 pm to 8:00 am).


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

113 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
We had a great time at the apartment. It is beautiful and luxurious, with very well equipped kitchen. Mike was very nice and made us feel welcome. The 2 terraces and rooftop terrace were very nice and we used them alot during our stay. Make sure you go to the Jaggar museum and look at the volcano by night - it was the highlight of our trip.

Brandon User Profile
April 2017
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!!!
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
You guys were awesome. I hardly knew you were around. It was obvious you were having a very good time. So glad you found the best in Puna. Please come back and stay a bit longer now that you know how to find the secrets here. MAHALO for astaying with us. Mike the INNKeepr
April 2017

Stacey User Profile
March 2017
Beautiful views. Nice place.
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
OOPS did not know that the listing said king bed, will change that, but I hope the bed was at least "Fit for a Queen"! You guys were wonderful, made my job so much easier, you were as they say 'fret-free"! Unfortunately, you just did not stay long enough. Do something about that on your next visit, OK. Ya'll? Mike the INNKeepr
March 2017

Jazz User Profile
March 2017
I would certainly stay there again!
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
Jazz did not say much. He didn't have to. But then exemplary clients who see a good thing and treat it with respect don't have to. What Jazz and his lady do need to do is come back and stay even longer, making my job so much more palatable, easier and more fun. You did not stay long enough guys, give me a reason to relax, OK? MAHALO to JAZZ and his charming lady.
March 2017

Francisco User Profile
March 2017
Mike the innkeeper was very attentive and helpful. Some things in the apartment need improvement but mostly very good. Shower pressure, screen doors & wifi signal could use improvement. Beside those things everything was pleasant
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
A lot of maintenance issue cropped up in one sitting, the booking of Francisco. He and his wife did great, patience with the issues was very much appreciated. With a new and more invigorated owner, issues left in place from the previous owner, are being alleviated, and the unit is up for refurbishment. THANK YOU for staying with us, and I hope you decide to return. The issues you mentioned will no longer be of issue when you come back, and I can guarantee a stellar exerience. MAHALO TO THEM!!!
March 2017

Ben User Profile
February 2017
Staying at this beautiful property was absolutely fantastic! The home was just as described and pictured on AirBnB. We loved having room to spread out (even though it was just my husband and I) and play games, enjoy the 2 lanais and rooftop, enjoy homemade dinner, etc. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed- even a hand juicer to make fresh squeezed orange juice. The location was definitely remote, but that is exactly what made it so unique and wonderful. There was plenty to do near by (beautiful jungle drives, warm lava heated pools, lava viewing, etc). Mike, the on-site inkeeper was extremely helpful in every way. Questions were promptly answered and Mike was happy to give tips of what local things to see and do. We would have loved to have stayed longer!! Thank you for great memories!
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
The only problem I had with these guys is that they did not STAY LONGER, making my job so much easier. I need clients like Ben and his family, who came, saw, and conquered the Puna district of Big Island, and brought good Aloha with them. MAHALO!!!
February 2017

Andre User Profile
February 2017
The location of this Airbnb is extremely low key and surrounded by hippies, greats folks and Hawaiians with lots of Aloha! If your like us and like adventure and exploration, be prepared for lots of driving, we put 2,000 miles on our rental in 10 days. When we first arrived, Christopher (owner) had neglected to let Mike (InnKeeper) know that we'd be 4 people for the first half, so something to keep in mind for your future booking. The good news is that Mike is awesome and he's the guy taking care of you. He's full of Aloha and local knowledge, really sweet dude. Be aware of quiet times, we weren't exactly loud at all... but some of our East Coast Canadian came out and there could be other guests that have a different definition of quiet! Again, Mike is great with communicating everything. Can't wait to visit the Big Island again. Mahalo, J&Dre
Sherylrose User Profile
Response from Sherylrose:
What can I say? How do you say EXEMPLARY in Canadian? Eh? These guys need to come back soon and make my job easier. As for quiet times, they are established by the local HOA, of whom the president and wife life directly across the street. Not really a problem, Andre, just a caution. I was jealous that i was not part of the good times? BOOHOO... most humble thanks for the 'Crisp, Clean, Effervescent Cold Beverage you left for me, and thank you for leaving the place in great order for a quick cleanup!!! MAHALO and ALOHA YA'LL! mike the INNkeeper
February 2017

This host has 162 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Pāhoa, Hawaii, United States · Joined in January 2013
Sherylrose User Profile

I continue to find myself needing to explore the world. A wanderlust at heart & soul, I find beauty in nature and all of my adventures.

During my non-traveling days, I'm committed to being a full time graphic designer I photographer. I have an obsession with a delicious cup of coffee to start my morning routine.

Also finding time to follow my passion through modern painting and anything handmade. A soft heart for animals and mostly enjoy the company of adventure seeking long life friends and a love laughter.

I recently traveled to Europe with my boyfriend and we managed to drive 3,100 miles in 14 days throughout 8 countries and 17 cities. Bliss.

"The true fruit of travel is perhaps the feeling of being nearly every where at home." ~Freya Stark

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.