Absolutly unique Triangle House.

House - Entire home/apt · Ka'Ehukai St, Pāhoa, HI 96778, United States
Randall

CLOSE TO A WEEK PRYOR TO YOUR STAY? ASK FOR A DISCOUNT!!!
We give deep discounts of up to 50% for bookings on available space JUST DAYS PRIOR to arrival to fill un-used space depending on the space, availability, length of stay and time of year. We d

Your host, Randall
18 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

CLOSE TO A WEEK PRYOR TO YOUR STAY? ASK FOR A DISCOUNT!!!
We give deep discounts of up to 50% for bookings on available space JUST DAYS PRIOR to arrival to fill un-used space depending on the space, availability, length of stay and time of year. We d

The Space

The "Triangle" is a contemporary 1200 square foot home, just a two minute walk to the ocean and ten minute walk to Kehena black sand beach. We are just as close to "Kalani Oceanside Retreat", where you can dine, dance or get great massages. It is set in an ever blooming beautiful garden of palms, hibiscus, boganvillia, etc. The house is literally a three sided building, with walls of windows, looking out to the garden and sea. Six large ceiling fans, keep you quite comfortable. The sun streams through stained glass windows,in the morning, quite magical. Free WiFi will keep you as in touch with the outside world. The triangle has an open floor plan, and works well for groups and large families. The bathroom is downstairs with a large walk in shower. It is beautifully done in imported Balinese river rock, glass brick and finished with Italian mosaic tiles. The upper floor has one queen size bed, one double futon, one queen fold out futons, and one futon one the floor as well as a spacious sitting area with TV that can be used in conjunction with VCR/DVD. The first floor has a fully equipped kitchenette, with dining area, and two futons that easily convert to additional queen beds. The Triangle can sleep up to twelve..There is a washing machine, soap etc. and lines for drying at your disposal. State Tax of 13.42 % collected at arrival.
Nearby natural hot springs and tide pools offer awesome snorkeling, soaking and swimming in safe warm water, right at the ocean's edge. A fifteen minute drive will get you to a safe viewing area where you will see lava flowing into the sea. Or you can explore the old Hawaiian town of Pahoa a twenty minutes drive away with its wooden board walks, many restaurants and markets. And the special magic of hearing the whales blowing and slapping their tails at night, add to the magic of "oceanspirit". Come see for yourself.
Kalani Ocean side retreat is just a short walk or two minute drive away offering meals, massages and use of there pools and sauna for very reasonable rates.
The County operated bus service "Hele-On" stops one block away twice daily.
The neighbors and "locals" in Kalapana Sea View as well as the surrounding areas are relaxed, helpful, and friendly, and I have found, they will always give excellent tips on the best current things to do in the local area. So don't be afraid to schmooze a little. And don't miss Uncle Robert's at the West end of the road for a unique island experience filled with music, dance, food and local crafts on Wednesdays and music on friday and Saturday evenings. And Sea-View's very own crafts, food and farmers market every Saturday morning, the Pahoa market on Friday and the Maku'u Market on Sunday.
We also offer local guide services to show you into the hard to get to and little-known killer spots for very reasonable rates. Rates will vary depending on group size, transportation, difficulty, outfitting and duration. Please feel free to inquire.
We also offer pickup at the Hilo airport for $40 for up to three people and luggage. We can greet you with beautiful, fragrant, handcrafted lays for an additional $18 per person.
Again, Hawaii State Taxes of 13.42% are not calculated or collected on this site and collected soon after arrival.
Aloha

Guest Access

A landline telephone With free calling to the US and Canada. A shared barbecue, table and lounge chairs located in the grass courtyard. A small collection of DVDs to watch at your leisure. A washing machine With soaps, folding table and lines to dry on.

Interaction with Guests

Such wonderful guests we are blessed to have stay here with us it is my goal to interact as much (or as little) as is necessary, fun, informative and mutually beneficial. No more and no less.

The Neighborhood

Here is a recent quote from one of our guests
"This is probably the coolest house in the coolest neighborhood on the big island. You'll be in Seaview, a block from the lavarock shore. Seaview is filled with friendly island hippies who say hi when they pass you, and everyone knows the Triangle House. Some people know it as the "Cheese House," because it looks like a wedge of swiss cheese lying on its side, with each window a porthole. This is my favorite neighborhood in the 4 that I've stayed at on the big island (kailua-kona/captain cook, hilo, volcano/mt view, na'alehu/ocean view). You're living in a gorgeous jungle, with great ocean access, a plethora of interesting artists and hippies, and the best neighborhood spirit I've seen. Every wednesday, the whole community of the Puna district ends up at a fair on the edge of civilization where the 1970 lava flow literally rolled over the city of Kalapana, called "Uncle Roberts at the End of the Road." I don't know a better way to say hello to a new community than that. Randall (email hidden). He's a craftsman who cares a lot about the building, and is trying to improve its design for the people who stay in it. He's super easy to work with. He's been doing constant work on the property. It was designed by an architect who had a dream about "round holes and square pegs" and designed a property with a Triangle house, a Rectangle house, a Circle water catchman, and two Square sheds. There's (email hidden) castle next-door. It's like living in a dream."

Other Things to Note

Please visit
(website hidden)_b8c0700f/wp_b8c0700f.html?utm_source=Feb.+2nd+2014&utm_campaign=Puna+Happenings+2%2F2%2F2014&utm_medium=email
for a very good list of the events happening within the immediate area.

Permit Number: W25420597-01

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 12
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 6
Extra people: $6 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $599 /week
Monthly Price: $1999 /month
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $60
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Our family of 6 really enjoyed the Triangle house. Used as a base to explore the coast there and greater Hilo area. Kids enjoyed taking the short walk to the sea overlooks, & watching for sea turtles and Hawaiian Noddies (a sea bird) nesting nearby. Farmer's market in the area was a lot of fun too. Remote, quiet, relaxing.

    July 2014
  • We had a great stay. The triangle house is spacious, comfortable,very clean and had everything you need. Also we enjoyed the beautiful garden and Randall (email hidden)!

    June 2014
  • Hi Randall

    It's great that you have improved your property after we have stayed in your house!

    My parents and I was also very surprised that we had to sleep on sofa beds 190cm X 144cm 75 "X 57" and not in a real bed, a complete kitchen where did that go, missing power surprised us, bedding looks dirty.

    It was only fair that we got an extra bed so my mom and dad could be sleep properly.

    We express our opinion like you express your!

    For those of you who have unstable supplies of water and electricity, it is probably normal, it shut have been informed to us!

    April 2014
    Randall
    Response from Randall:

    Yes this is a residential property in one of the more quiet and remote parts of the big island. From time to time we do experience short electrical outages, from the power company, (not within our control) and the water pump also does not work without power. We were full up and had to use a reserve set of newly laundered sheets that have bleach spotting on one of the beds. They thought they looked dirty. They expected a full sized kitchen even though we list a Kitchenette. It seemed that they stepped off of the plane from Denmark expecting a Resort experience for 1/10th the cost. We did the best that we could for them.

    April 2014
  • Our family of 6 stayed at Triangle House and every one of us loved this accommodation. Clean and comfortable with a bright, open concept, beach house feel, it created the perfect relaxed, open and connected mood in which to experience this island. We like to shop for local fresh produce and prepare our own meals and found the small kitchen to be highly functional and was complete with all appliances and dishware to comfortably serve our group of six. Open windows on all sides and ceiling fans keep the home comfortably cool. A BBQ and beautiful garden patio further enhances the indoor-outdoor feeling of this home. We could watch the ocean from the upper level, from the patio, or walk 1 minute to the shore road where we could view the entire horizon and rising sun from an idyllic park setting. The area is full of local markets, Uncle Robert's on Wednesday nights is a blast, and snorkelling in the tide pools is not to be missed. Randall was welcoming and relaxed making our stay at Triangle House so very comfortable and memorable. We would definitely stay again!

    April 2014
  • Our stay with Randall was amazing!! This was our first airbnb rental, so Randall has definitely set the bar very high for our future airbnb rentals. The Triangle House was so unique and spacious and it had everything and anything we needed for our week. Most of all - it was incredibly clean (high priority on my list)!!

    Randall lives just next door so he was always available for questions and a good chat. He also told us about all the weekly HIlo events, that we surely would have missed if he had not told us.

    Only downside was the drive to HIlo. Although we were a little further than we would have liked to be, we still would have stayed with Randall! The Pahoa area was truly beautiful and so unique on its own.

    We had such a wonderful experience here - I would highly recommend this space to anyone visiting the East side of Big Island!

    March 2014
  • Our stay was 100%. This is extremely good value for the money for the two of us and can see it being exceptional for a family. Randall is quite helpful and attentive. Would stay here again if we return. My wife went to yoga classes(there is no guru, no proselytizing, very clean), almost everyday, less than a mile down the road, top teachers for only $10 a class(same place also offers exceptionally healthy organic meals - buffet style - open to the public, in a beautiful setting). While she was there, I drove to the outdoor natural heated pond about 6 miles down the road, with shower and life guard(deepest point is less than 6 feet) and put in a few laps(free). Walked a lot, went to the local market on Saturday, up the road, and the big one on Sunday about 15 miles away(just north of Pahoa), that had the best French crepes and other fantastic food, live music, 100 stalls and the friendliest people. Make sure you close the windows when you are out(these windows are marked saying that they should be closed in case of rain).....it can rain unexpectedly!

    March 2014
  • We had a great stay at the Triangle House. It was well equipped with everything we needed to enjoy ourselves, the small kitchen did fine for preparing food. Randall (email hidden), and very attentive to any help or questions during our stay. It was our second time staying on the property, and hope we get a chance to stay again.

    March 2014
  • Loved our stay at the fun, funky Triangle House. Great location close to Kalani (Retreat Center), Kehena beach, and the Kalapana Seaview ocean-view park. This location has ATT cell reception (1-2 bars), which is a real treat, considering most of the area has zero coverage. Loved the movie-watching space upstairs (good DVD selection), comfortable beds (esp. the upstairs left), spaciousness. Shower is a little bit quirky--cycling between hot-warm-cool-warm-hot, but it's not a really big deal. Very pleasant for a daytime shower! Would definitely stay here again! Randall (email hidden)! Enjoyed talking to him about community. Aloha!

    February 2014
  • This is probably the coolest house in the coolest neighborhood on the big island. You'll be in Seaview, a block from the lavarock shore. Seaview is filled with friendly island hippies who say hi when they pass you, and everyone knows the Triangle House. Some people know it as the "Cheese House," because it looks like a wedge of swiss cheese lying on its side, with each window a porthole.

    This is my favorite neighborhood in the 4 that I've stayed at on the big island (kailua-kona/captain cook, hilo, volcano/mt view, na'alehu/ocean view). You're living in a gorgeous jungle, with great ocean access, a plethora of interesting artists and hippies, and the best neighborhood spirit I've seen. Every wednesday, the whole community of the Puna district ends up at a fair on the edge of civilization where the 1970 lava flow literally rolled over the city of Kalapana, called "Uncle Roberts at the End of the Road." I don't know a better way to say hello to a new community than that.

    Randall (email hidden). He's a craftsman who cares a lot about the building, and is trying to improve its design for the people who stay in it. He's super easy to work with. He's been doing constant work on the property. It was designed by an architect who had a dream about "round holes and square pegs" and designed a property with a Triangle house, a Rectangle house, a Circle water catchman, and two Square sheds. There's (email hidden) castle next-door. It's like living in a dream.

    February 2014
  • This is a beautiful house, and provided lots of places to sleep. We enjoyed getting up early and walking to the ocean 2 blocks away to enjoy the sunrise and watch for whales. We also loved the Sat. Am Space market which was in the same neighborhood. Randall was helpful on fulfilling request. We did find the kitchen area and stove a bit small and slow to heat up for making a real meal "at home".
    Overall the house was lovely and met our needs.

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$119
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 302 times
About
Well studied in Qigong, Health and nutrition. Drawn to friendly places. See you there.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings