backkyard gazebo

Entire home/apt

12 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
12 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

I live in the house, stay in the fourth bedroom on the first floor and have 2 cats, Noah and Mabaline and 2 kittens, Rigby and Waverly
You have use of the entire house
•Plenty of room for families, for more people
•Use of the kitchen
•Driveway parking
•Washer and Dryer
•Rides to and from Metro 1 mile away
•Ride from airports, bus or train station
•Restaurants nearby
•Cats and pool table to entertain kids

You can use 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. They are on the second floor with a newly remodeled bathroom, with a tub and walk-in shower. There are 2 large bedrooms, both with queen size beds, and a small room with a full size bed. They all will sleep 2 each. I also have 3 queen and 3 twin air beds I can set up in the large rooms. The bedrooms all have Fios TV. One room has a DVD player and Roku for Netflix.

The well equipped, gourmet eat in kitchen has a duel-fuel stove with a grill. The table will seat up to 10 people. There is cereal, breakfast bars, snack food, sodas and juice for the guests.

I have a tankless water heater. That means you have unlimited hot water. If 12 people need to take a shower, you won't have to wait for the water to heat up again after 2 showers.

There is WIFI, for your laptop or wireless device. I have a printer you can use.

The library has lots of books, a pool table and foos ball table.

There is a screened in gazebo in the backyard. It has lights and a ceiling fan. You can sit out there and relax with a glass of wine or maybe have dinner.

If you have small kids, I have a car seat, high chair, Pack and Play, and a stroller.

There are lots of restaurants near by, some with bars, 7-11, and fast food places within walking distance. Near the Metro station there is a shopping center with a Target, grocery store, more restaurants, movie theaters and several churches.

If you arrive at National, Dulles or BWI Airports, Union Station by train or bus, I am usually available to give you a ride to and from the house. I am also usually available to give rides to and from the Metro station, (my van will hold up to 7 passengers). West Hyattsville and Prince Georges’ Plaza, both on the Green Line, are about 1 mile from the house. There is parking at both stations.

If you are driving, my driveway will hold up to 4 cars.

The house is in the Washington suburbs, not in the city. It is about a 20 minute Metro ride to the National Mall in Washington. It is a 20 minute drive to downtown DC. The house is also near the University of Maryland.

I don’t have unrelated groups stay at the house at the same time, so if you only use 1 bedroom, you will be the only guest. If you use 1 bedroom, 2 or 3, if you are 1 person or 12, the cost is $70 per night for the whole house.

I live in the house, stay in the fourth bedroom on the first floor and have 4 cats, Noah and Mabaline, Rigby and Waverly. The cats are very people friendly and love kids. Don't be surprised when your kids ask all day, "When can we go back and play with Noah?"

If you have never done this, it may seem strange staying in someones house while they are there, but try it. I don't think you will ever go back to a conventional hotel. You get someone that knows the area and can help with all of your needs and all of the advantages of being in a house; kitchen, lots of space, wifi, wifi printer, Fios TV with HBO and Showtime, and parking. Everyone says that the best part of staying at my house is the kittens. You can't get that in a hotel. And the price can't be beat.

Guest access

You have 3 private bedrooms and a bathroom on the 2nd floor. You can use the kitchen, first floor bathroom, library, and washer and dryer in the basement.

Interaction with guests

I try to stay out of the guests way, but am available to answer questions or help with any of your needs. I am always glad to chat with the guests if they would like. I do not rent out the house for parties.

Other things to note

I have written a "house manual" that will tell you about the house and the neighborhood. I also have an extensive list of things to do in Washington. If you are a tourist, I can give you help with maps, metro, getting around, things to see. I do not rent the house out for parties.

The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

House rules are, treat the place as you would your own house. I have had over 600 guests of every age and from all over the country and all over the world. I have never had a bad guest. I have a "house manual" that will tell you what to expect. I can email it to you if you would like. I do not rent the house out for parties.



Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

564 Reviews

Check In
Iris User Profile
August 2017
Donna is a great host. The rooms, the whole house is very, very nice and clean. In the kitchen were things to eat and we were allowed to take what we want. After our day in Washington she picked us up at the metro and drove us to the grocery. The next day she took us to the airport - a great service. We spent a nice evening with Donna. Thank you very much!

Nadine User Profile
August 2017
Donna is a perfect host and a great personality. Her house is a beautiful place to relax and very spaceious. She's always willing to give you a ride to the nearby metro station and looks after her guests in the most friendly sense you could imagine. She made our visit to washington dc a great experience!

Seana User Profile
August 2017
First, I'd like to say that the house is much larger than I expected. Lots of areas to gather and/or hide away for some alone time. My family of 4 with 2 kids, 13 & 11, stayed at Donna's for 8 nights while we visited Washington DC. It really was the perfect location, away from the hustle and bustle, but just a short metro trip away from DC. She provides lots of breakfast and snack items (which my kids couldn't stay out of) and was extremely accommodating by shuttling us to and from the grocery store and the metro. My daughter had a blast with Donna's kittens and we felt at home in Donna's home. :) Highly recommend!

Sid User Profile
July 2017
Donna was an outstanding host. Her house was clean and had all the amenities we expected and more. She even provided breakfast for my family! I would highly recommend Donna's place

Summer User Profile
July 2017
Wonderful host!

Dongmei User Profile
July 2017
Great place to stay in DC

Justin User Profile
July 2017
I wish i could hv stayed longer. Donna is an excellent host and nice to chat with

Hyattsville, Maryland, United StatesJoined in January 2009
Donna User ProfileDonna is a superhost.

I am 63 and a retired cable splicer from the phone company. I like to read, sew and really like to cook. I have 2 cats that keep the place lively. I hope to make new friends and learn new things by having people stay in my home. Hosting people from all over the country and the world has been the experience of a lifetime. I have found that everyone has a story and they are all interesting. My life has been greatly enriched by the people I have met. The stories I hear about peoples lives and history, have given me a look into the world I couldn't have gotten any other way. I look forward to each new guest and the adventure they will bring.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings