backkyard gazebo
wash sub 1- 3 bdrms+house 1-12persn
12 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
12 guests
3 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
12 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

I live in the house, stay in the fourth bedroom on the first floor and have 2 cats, Noah and Mabaline and 2 kittens, Rigby and Waverly
You have use of the entire house
•Plenty of room for families, for more people
•Use of the kitchen
•Driveway parking
•Washer and Dryer
•Rides to and from Metro 1 mile away
•Ride from airports, bus or train station
•Restaurants nearby
•Cats and pool table to entertain kids

You can use 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. They are on the second floor with a newly remodeled bathroom, with a tub and walk-in shower. There are 2 large bedrooms, both with queen size beds, and a small room with a full size bed. They all will sleep 2 each. I also have 3 queen and 3 twin air beds I can set up in the large rooms. The bedrooms all have Fios TV. One room has a DVD player and Roku for Netflix.

The well equipped, gourmet eat in kitchen has a duel-fuel stove with a grill. The table will seat up to 10 people. There is cereal, breakfast bars, snack food, sodas and juice for the guests.

I have a tankless water heater. That means you have unlimited hot water. If 12 people need to take a shower, you won't have to wait for the water to heat up again after 2 showers.

There is WIFI, for your laptop or wireless device. I have a printer you can use.

The library has lots of books, a pool table and foos ball table.

There is a screened in gazebo in the backyard. It has lights and a ceiling fan. You can sit out there and relax with a glass of wine or maybe have dinner.

If you have small kids, I have a car seat, high chair, Pack and Play, and a stroller.

There are lots of restaurants near by, some with bars, 7-11, and fast food places within walking distance. Near the Metro station there is a shopping center with a Target, grocery store, more restaurants, movie theaters and several churches.

If you arrive at National, Dulles or BWI Airports, Union Station by train or bus, I am usually available to give you a ride to and from the house. I am also usually available to give rides to and from the Metro station, (my van will hold up to 7 passengers). West Hyattsville and Prince Georges’ Plaza, both on the Green Line, are about 1 mile from the house. There is parking at both stations.

If you are driving, my driveway will hold up to 4 cars.

The house is in the Washington suburbs, not in the city. It is about a 20 minute Metro ride to the National Mall in Washington. It is a 20 minute drive to downtown DC. The house is also near the University of Maryland.

I don’t have unrelated groups stay at the house at the same time, so if you only use 1 bedroom, you will be the only guest. If you use 1 bedroom, 2 or 3, if you are 1 person or 12, the cost is $70 per night for the whole house.

I live in the house, stay in the fourth bedroom on the first floor and have 4 cats, Noah and Mabaline, Rigby and Waverly. The cats are very people friendly and love kids. Don't be surprised when your kids ask all day, "When can we go back and play with Noah?"

If you have never done this, it may seem strange staying in someones house while they are there, but try it. I don't think you will ever go back to a conventional hotel. You get someone that knows the area and can help with all of your needs and all of the advantages of being in a house; kitchen, lots of space, wifi, wifi printer, Fios TV with HBO and Showtime, and parking. Everyone says that the best part of staying at my house is the kittens. You can't get that in a hotel. And the price can't be beat.

Guest access

You have 3 private bedrooms and a bathroom on the 2nd floor. You can use the kitchen, first floor bathroom, library, and washer and dryer in the basement.

Interaction with guests

I try to stay out of the guests way, but am available to answer questions or help with any of your needs. I am always glad to chat with the guests if they would like. I do not rent out the house for parties.

Other things to note

I have written a "house manual" that will tell you about the house and the neighborhood. I also have an extensive list of things to do in Washington. If you are a tourist, I can give you help with maps, metro, getting around, things to see. I do not rent the house out for parties.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed

Amenities
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events

House rules are, treat the place as you would your own house. I have had over 600 guests of every age and from all over the country and all over the world. I have never had a bad guest. I have a "house manual" that will tell you what to expect. I can email it to you if you would like. I do not rent the house out for parties.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

574 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kate User Profile
September 2017
Staying in West Hyattsville was an absolute pleasure. The neighbourhood is welcoming and very convenient for public transport into the city. Donna's house is extremely comfortable, a real home from home, and she really is a wonderful hostess. Perfectly set up for visitors, she's thought of everything you could need for a few days away. Donna is also extremely accommodating with helping out with rides to the supermarket and metro station. We were on a family holiday with grandparents and our 4 year old and the stay was just right for everyone. Our daughter especially fell in love with Noah the cat! Huge thanks to Donna for making our stay so memorable and to anyone considering this property as their next stay, we cannot recommend Donna and her house highly enough.

Jonathan User Profile
September 2017
Wonderful host! Wonderful home! Host went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable including picking me up at the bus station and taking me food shopping so that I could make dinner ! Her house is super clean, super warm and their is even a gazebo in the back yard that you can eat inside of play cards in! We really loved the place,and I am sure you will too. There is nothing Donna won't do to make you feel comfortable! -and oh yeah if you love cats, you will be in heaven! Hope to see you again soon!

Devon User Profile
September 2017
Great place, lots of kitties, and great host!

Stephanie User Profile
September 2017
Donna is amazing. Not only do you get to stay in a beautiful house, she is happy to bend over backwards to help when she can - and she baked my mom a birthday cake!!! I highly recommend staying here when visiting DC.

Deepak User Profile
September 2017
Loved the place. Donna is really a super host.

Conal User Profile
August 2017
Donna is likely to be the single greatest host on airbnb. She has effectively extended airbnb's standard rating scale in every metric, and we accordingly score her a 7.0 in all categories. If you lucky enough to make a booking with her, you are in for a rare treat!

James User Profile
August 2017
We had a good stay at Donna's. Her communication was excellent and she was great at being flexible with our arrival time. Her home is situated in a lovely area down a quiet street, so minimal noise from the road. She is about 5-10 minutes drive from the nearest subway station, where you can park your car all day for just under $6 and catch the subway into Washington on the Green line (around 20 minutes). If you don't have a car it is about a 30-35 minute walk to the station, or a quick UBER ride. Plenty of shops around the neighbourhood, including an Aldi on the way to the station. The accommodation is upstairs with three good size rooms (two very large) and great bathroom facilities. As promised, plenty of hot water for our family of five all showering in the morning, and plenty of towels. The cats (now four, so if you have an allergy or aversion not the place for you!) live downstairs with Donna, and you have full use of the kitchen/fridge etc with all sorts of items provided by Donna. Thankfully the place has very efficient Air Con, as it was stifling hot outside when we stayed but beautifully cool throughout the house. It is piped throughout the house and you can set your level independently for the top floor. Thanks Donna for a conformable stay.

Hyattsville, Maryland, United StatesJoined in January 2009
Donna User ProfileDonna is a superhost.

I am 63 and a retired cable splicer from the phone company. I like to read, sew and really like to cook. I have 2 cats that keep the place lively. I hope to make new friends and learn new things by having people stay in my home. Hosting people from all over the country and the world has been the experience of a lifetime. I have found that everyone has a story and they are all interesting. My life has been greatly enriched by the people I have met. The stories I hear about peoples lives and history, have given me a look into the world I couldn't have gotten any other way. I look forward to each new guest and the adventure they will bring.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings