Centre Melbourne / own bathroom


Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

I have a 150 year old terrace house with it's original facade, however hidden behind is a modern, architecturally designed conversion with a warehouse feel.
You have access to a large upstairs deck, private balcony and private en suit bathroom.

It is a medium sized room with a super comfortable, queen sized bed with a latex mattress, feather pillows and crisp white cotton bed linen with either a duvet and/or blankets. The room has a private en suit bathroom. It is fairly small but it is modern, fully functional and with plenty of hot water. There is a small fridge in the room and tea and coffee making facilities.
The room has two french doors which open onto a private balcony where you can sit overlooking the street. You also have access to the large upstairs private deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. It is a bit chilly in winter, but for all the other seasons, you'll find it is a great place to sit in the sun and read a book, have a drink or catch up with friends. It is spacious with room to entertain.

Downstairs there is a large, modern, fully equipped kitchen that you are free to use for light meals. You will have personal fridge and cupboard space.

I live downstairs and will be using the kitchen also but there is plenty of space.

I also share the house with a short-haired Tonkinese cat, Rosie. She usually keeps to herself.

Breakfast is provided. It is help yourself style to a variety of wholesome cereals, muesli, yogurt, bread/toast and jams and spreads and variety of teas and freshly ground coffee.

Laundry facilities are available for your use. Including a washer and dryer.

Carlton is one of the most convenient locations for Central Melbourne. We are close to many of the city's well known landmarks and attractions and to major Universities and large public teaching hospitals.

We are only two blocks from the famous 150 year old Queen Victoria Market with its abundant produce, delicatessens, discount clothing and many other bargains. You can also check out the exciting Wednesday night market with food stalls, buskers and street theater.

I live a short walk to Lygon Street, the Italian quarter with numerous fine dining and casual authentic Italian restaurants.

Not far away is Brunswick and Gertrude Streets, Fitzroy - one of the greatest bohemian shopping and restaurant strips in the world and home to the annual Fringe Arts Festival (September). The area is the centre of the contemporary art scene with many unique art galleries.

We are minutes away from two of Melbourne's largest Universities, Melbourne Uni and RMIT . We are close to the LaTrobe Uni and Victoria Uni city campus's. We are minutes from Melbourne's major public teaching hospitals; The Royal Melbourne, The Children's Hospital, The Women's Hospital, The Royal Dental Hospital and St Vincent's hospital.

I am only a 10 minute walk or 5 minute tram ride to the CBD with famous shopping malls full of high fashion and quirky, century old lane ways full of interesting eateries and eclectic shops. Many street and sidewalk cafes capture the essence of modern Melbourne's cafe culture. The lane ways are famous also for being decorated by graffiti art. With many examples of both national and international artists.

If your interested in high culture, we are a short walk to the Melbourne Museum with exceptional exhibits of local and international interests. There is an exceptional gallery of Aboriginal art and culture with a creative installation highlighting local indigenous spiritual life and culture.

We are a short tram ride to the Arts Precinct; The National Gallery of Victoria, The Melbourne Concert Hall, The Melbourne Recital Centre, The State Theater and other world class music and theater venues. Exciting Federation Square is also close by - join a demonstration or check out the Australian Art in the Ian Potter Centre or the Australian Centre of Moving Image (ACMI).

We are very close to the Melbourne Zoo and the Aquarium - See the Emperor Penguins in their special frozen enclosure.

Aside from living in the inner city, one of the greatest assets to our place is that we have front door access to Melbourne's main arterial public transport routes. The Flinders Street Station and Southern Cross ten minutes away enables travel to any part of greater Melbourne within 30 minutes.

Melbourne has so much to see and so much to do. We haven't even mentioned the Australian Rules Football (AFL), the Cricket at the MCG, the Australian Open Tennis Tournament, St Kilda, Chapel St, Richmond bargain shops, bars, clubs and eateries. The parks and gardens, the Royal Botanic Garden's, the Melbourne Flower show. The numerous street festivals and continuous goings on....

Guest access

Private room. Large upstairs deck. Private balcony. Kitchen and meals area.

Interaction with guests

As much or as little as the guests like. I live here but work during the day. I am usually here at breakfast time and most evenings and sometimes during the day. I am self employed so sometimes work from home. I converse easily with guests but also do not mind if guests keep to themselves. The entrance to the house and the guest room is separate from my part so guests can be completely private if they wish. I am not offended if people keep to themselves.
Sometimes I am very busy with work and can't get caught up in long conversations, or relax, but this is rare.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 12 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: 123
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

Smoking is ok but only on the outside deck or balcony please.

You are welcome to have visitors but just let me know in advance. And please no overnight stays unless they are paying guests.

Alcohol consumption is OK but please, nothing to excess and no inconsiderate behavior. I have to work in the morning!

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

171 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sari User Profile
July 2017
It's perfect. It was an unusually cold wintry week in Melbourne but Lucy's home is snug, well appointed and extremely comfortable. You're in luck if you get the opportunity to stay here. Thanks Lucy and Eleanor

Elizabeth User Profile
June 2017
Very handy location, and lovely decor. Super comfy bed.

Sharon User Profile
June 2017
The location in Carlton of Lucy's house is great. About a 4 minute easy walk to the nearest Tram at Victoria Market. Lucy is a great host, she was accommodating in that I could drop off my luggage prior to checkin as I had an early morning arrival and had good suggestions of cafes with good coffee and ideas for food. The room was as it is described with very comfortable bed and although the bathroom is tiny (reminding me of French en suites) and probably would not suit a large person it is very convenient to have an en suite and for me it was fine. I would recommend Lucy's accommodation to anyone in my situation of needing a comfortable warm environment whilst experiencing much that Melbourne has to offer which in my case this past weekend was the Australian Ballet and Van Gogh exhibition.

Joanna User Profile
June 2017
Great location and clean room as same as the description! Good option for staying in Melbourne.

Ashley User Profile
June 2017
Great and spacious place with front balcony and big private back patio. Very close to the city $6 uber to the city or 17 minute walk 11 minutes public transport. Quiet street.

Ruth User Profile
March 2017
Great location. Could be easier. My plans had to change because if a hurricane and Lucy was ver flexible. Lucy's place is so close to everything. Victoria markets 5 minutes away and the free tram network is really close too. It's a great room too with private ensuite.

Greg User Profile
March 2017
Super convenient property very close to everything you want in Melbourne. Lucy and her daughter were charming people who were thoroughly enjoyable to talk too.

This host has 7 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in August 2011
Lucy User Profile

My name is Lucy and I'm a middle aged professional who works in Melbourne's CBD. I have a house which occasionally I share with my 22 year old daughter, Ellie.
My daughter and I have traveled a lot and stayed in airbnb's in a number of countries. We found it a great way to find affordable, comfortable accommodation while meeting great people. We hope you will enjoy our place as well. We would love the opportunity to introduce you to our vibrant city. We both love travel, art, books, photography, good food, wine, lively discussions and friends.

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings