Double Room in Cute Garden Flat

Apartment - Private room · Carr Rd, Walthamstow, England E17 5, United Kingdom

The room has a double bed and a desk ideal for studying, working from home, or just catching up on emails. The flat is situated on a quiet, leafy residential road with easy access to public transport. There is a park with an outdoor gym near by.

The Space

A spacious double bedroom (I have two rooms for rent - this is the green room) is offered with shared use of bathroom, kitchen (including washing machine) and garden.

The room has a double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and a desk and chair for studying.

I provide clean bedding and towels and a spare set of linens in the room if you want to change the sheets / get a fresh towel (just leave the old ones in the washing machine and I'll wash/dry and return them to you.

I work irregular hours and so can't offer to make you breakfast as I never know when I'll be around, however you will have your own shelf in the fridge and a share of a shelf in the food cupboard so you can buy and store your own food.

I clean the common areas of the flat once a week and ask that you keep everything clean and tidy - wash up your own pots and pans (or put them in the dishwasher), wipe down kitchen surfaces after use, hang up towels etc.

The flat is on a leafy road in Walthamstow, east London, close to the William Morris Gallery. It's about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Walthamstow where there are excellent transport connections to central London (Victoria line tube, 25mins); Liverpool Street (overground train, 20mins); Stratford Westfield shopping centre/Olympic park (bus, 25 mins).

If arriving by air, it's easy to reach us by public transport (Gatwick Express/Victoria line from Gatwick; Heathrow Express/Piccadilly line/Victoria from Heathrow; Stansted Express + bus from Stansted). If you are driving, we're a few minutes from the North Circular, M11 and connections to the M25.

It's a cosmopolitan area, with people from South Asia, Eastern Europe and Africa, and a large population of artists, filmmakers and other creatives. The Rose and Crown pub has a small theatre attached and monthly comedy nights, there are regular jazz nights on Wood Street and the E17 Art Trail in June in which you can visit artists' studios and houses to see their art (and often also enjoy a cup of tea and a home made cupcake).

We have the longest street market in Europe, where you can buy cheap fruit and veg and there is every type of restaurant you could want from tapas to Turkish, Indian and Italian. We also have the best convenience store in the UK - famed for it's bakery and bacon jam.

I like to run so I can recommend a good 5 mile route across Walthamstow marshes that ends at a cafe that serves excellent coffee and food (you can catch the train back). Alternatively, you can catch the bus to the River Lea and walk down the river to the Olympic park and beyond via the picturesque canal system.

I work from home in the evenings a lot, and I'm currently using the living room as my live/work space so it's out of bounds to guests. I have set up a small office outside the room with a desk, chair and small library with a selection of London guides and fiction/non-fiction books that you are welcome to borrow. Most guests set up their laptops here to watch films/TV on their computer as I don't have a TV.

Most guests come to stay for a month whilst they find their feet after moving to London for university study or work. Some have decided to stay in the area long term. Other guests are looking to buy a property in the area and come to stay to try out the area and to be handy for viewings.

I often have requests from long-term guests who want their friend/partner to come to visit for a weekend or two. This is usually fine but please check with me in advance. If it is agreed that you can have an overnight visitor, there is an extra fee of £15 per night WHICH MUST BE PAID IN ADVANCE OF THEIR ARRIVAL via AirBnB.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $345 /week
Monthly Price: $950 /month
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Great flat in a nice area in London, I had a great stay there. Nicola was super organized and made sure I had everything I needed to settle in properly, and was always very nice and gave me all the space I needed. The flat is a little dark, but that happens in a London winter. Anyway, I would definitely recommend it.

    December 2012
  • Lived with Nicola for one month. From the very beginning of our interaction she was very gentle and comprehensible of my needs, what helped me a lot, also her advices on London were very useful.

    Besides that her house is located in a very calm neighbourhood, with easy access for shops and transportation to Central London.

    September 2012
  • Nicola was a wonderful hostess and easy to live/work with. She had great ideas about activities and the best way to use public transport. I felt right at home and enjoyed feeling more like a native Londoner than I would have had I stayed in a hotel. I would recommend Nicola as a hostess. She leads an interesting life and has many great perspectives to share.

    August 2012
  • Excellent overall experience - Nicola was a great host and very accommodating.

    September 2013
  • Nicola was great to stay with, she was very flexible with my arrival and departure times. The room was very comfortable and the kitchen bathroom all clean and tidy. I would definitely stay again.

    August 2013
  • Nicola was a very polite and friendly host, who plans ahead for her guest, including the wifi password in a binder, local restaurants, sights, and maps of London. While I didn't interact much because I was enjoying London, she's a very down to earth woman who is easy to get along with. If I ever come back to London, I will definitely consider staying again.

    August 2013
  • Lovely room, lovely area and lovely landlady. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

    August 2013
  • La casa di Nicola si trova in una zona molto tranquilla e carina vicino al capolinea della Victoria line.
    Nicola è stata così gentile da aspettarmi fino a notte tarda e poi pazientemente mi ha fatto vedere il funzionamento delle chiavi e gli spazi della casa.
    La stanza era pulita, profumata e molto confortevole, compreso il letto su cui ho dormito, come un ghiro. Anche il bagno e la cucina erano molto puliti. Sul letto ho trovato asciugamani, biancheria e sapone, questo mi è sembrato un gesto molto gentile.
    Con l'uso cucina poi è stato facile attrezzarmi e avere la più totale indipendenza.
    Nicola è sempre stata pronta a darmi suggerimenti sui programmi del giorno dopo, stampandomi all'istante tutte le varie opzioni. Anche la sua amica Claire è stata sempre molto disponibile a chiarire ogni mio dubbio, dandomi degli ottimi consigli.
    Insomma io la casa di Nicola la consiglio molto. La prossima volta che torno a Londra ritornerò certo da lei. Per me, prima volta a Londra, è andata alla grande!

    August 2013
  • Good stay at reasonable pricing. Place with own nice athmosphere.

    June 2013
  • Nicola is a great host. The accommodation was clean/tidy and accurately described. Definitely recommended!

    June 2013
Per Month
From
$78
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 103 times
About
I'm a TV producer and published author and often combine travel with work (research trips, meetings, conferences), which means I am usually out and about most of the day and evening and just need somewhere to sleep/shower. I am independent and very respectful of other people's space and travel light so am a very low maintenance and quiet house guest. I've lived/worked in Chile, Zimbabwe, Lanzarote and New York City and enjoy exploring new cities (Europe mostly) and the great outdoors (American mid-west and Alaska), so have lots of experiences to share. Most recently i've been traveling mostly to documentary festivals as research for a book, so here are some of my favourite films from recent trips: Senna The Interrupters Bombay Beach Black Power Mix Tape
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings