Luxury flat in Soho / Covent Garden

Apartment - Private room · Seven Dials Village, London, WC2H, United Kingdom

Ever heard of Seven Dials? Nestled between Covent Garden and Soho, Leicester Square and Shaftesbury Avenue, in the absolute heart of the West End. And here's your chance to experience London life, right in the very centre of it all...

The Space

Seven Dials is a cute and quirky neighbourhood with a village feel centred on a sundial monument with seven streets radiating out from it. These seven streets are famously brimming with boutique shops and cafés, since chain stores aren't permitted within a block of the sundial, making the area completely unique.

The perfect location for exploring London by foot, and as central to London's tourist, shopping and nightlife hotspots as you can get. Read my reviews - nearly everyone talks about the location. Guests often tell me I've undersold it, and despite what I wrote they still can't believe the location when they're here. Lots of listings claim they're central. You've found one that actually is :-)

Absolutely ideal for tourists - all of the following are within a ten minute walk: British Museum, National Gallery, Covent Garden Piazza, Soho, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, the River Thames, Oxford Street, Regent Street, Carnaby Street, Shaftesbury Avenue, and all the major West End theatres.

It's bustling with life during the day, but surprisingly quiet at night - all the nearby pubs close at 11pm and the late-night clubs and bars, whilst close enough for you to easily walk home, are far enough away that there's usually little noise after midnight. Sometimes, in the dead of night, you can even hear Big Ben chiming, over a mile away. It's also very safe, both day and night.

And that's just the area - let's talk about your room :-)

Welcome to my apartment. The room is dominated by a king-sized solid wood bed handmade by the famous British bedmaker Warren Evans. Bedding and big fluffy towels from the luxury Egyptian cotton range at my favourite department store John Lewis, with both soft and firm anti-allergy pillows. At the end of the bed there are two large shuttered openable windows overlooking the unique boutique stores of Seven Dials, either side of a wall-mounted Sony LCD TV showing dozens of channels. On the right is a floor-to-ceiling glass sliding patio door opening onto a Juliet balcony, making the room incredibly light and airy from two sides.

Your en-suite private bathroom has a toilet, shower, sink, and a heated towel rail (huge soft Egyptian cotton towels provided). The other bathroom has a bathtub that you are also welcome to use.

Your room has a glass-fronted drinks fridge, with a couple of complimentary welcome drinks in it. A kettle with Fairtrade-certified tea and coffee. A Dyson hot and cold fan, and a radiator. A hairdryer, and an alarm clock. A guidebook I've written to give you some ideas and get you acquainted with the neighbourhood. And of course, free and unlimited high-speed wireless internet for all of your mobile phones, laptops and tablet devices.

Your room also contains several pieces of furniture from the athletes' bedrooms at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Bought from the official sale after the games, we'll never know who used them - but it's fun to imagine who might have done!

Guest Access

This is my home, but your room and ensuite bathroom are very private, since you don't have to pass through my lounge or bedroom to get there. In general you won't have access to elsewhere in the apartment, so no kitchen or lounge access, but you'll have your own keys and can come and go as you please.

I also rent a second room in the apartment, it is smaller with a separate shared bathroom - to see it, click my name to view my profile, then at the bottom of the left column click "Double bed in Covent Garden / Soho".

Interaction with Guests

I'm very happy to help you kick off your London experience, with a walk around the neighbourhood, a beer or two perhaps, breakfast - whatever you feel like. If you want to keep yourself to yourself, that's fine too.

The Neighborhood

This really is the most extraordinary place to stay - click the Street View tab above to take a look around. I've also highlighted some interesting and useful places nearby - please click the Guidebook icon above.

Getting around

You're within a couple of minutes' walk of both Leicester Square and Covent Garden Underground stations - but if you stay here, you probably won't use "the tube" much - you're right in the thick of it all and can walk everywhere!

When you book, you'll receive an automated email with detailed arrival instructions from all London airports and by Eurostar, as well as lots of insider tips - it's well worth a careful read before you get here. I can also organise a licensed minicab pickup from the airport much cheaper than getting a taxi when you arrive. Any questions, please ask me.

Other Things to Note

I'm a vegetarian and I request that you don't bring meat or fish products into the apartment; furthermore, fur is expressly forbidden. There are dozens of cafés nearby catering to all palates and budgets.

I'm gay, but very straight-friendly :-) I'm a nice guy and I'm happy to help you in any way I can to make your stay more enjoyable. I've lived in central London most of my adult life and I'm happy to advise on things to see and do. I've created a whirlwind two-hour circular walking tour covering many of the major sights that I can send you on (or perhaps even join you on) - first-time visitors to London usually love it. And it certainly doesn't take much to persuade me to join you in the pub!

Let's leave the last word to Charles Dickens, here's what had to say about Seven Dials back in 1835: "What involutions can compare with those of Seven Dials? Where is there such another maze of streets, courts, lanes, and alleys? The stranger who finds himself in 'The Dials' for the first time, and stands at the entrance of seven obscure passages, uncertain which to take, will see enough around him to keep his curiosity and attention awake for no inconsiderable time. From the irregular square into which he has plunged, the streets and courts dart in all directions."

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $432
Cleaning Fee: $26
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Kenny's accommodation is in a great little spot at the Seven Dials . Everything at your finger tips . Great coffee places , bars , restaurants., shopping, tube station ( Leicester square and Covent garden a few minutes walk ) the west end is literally 2-3 minutes walk as well as soho . Kenny is really friendly and accommodating . The accommodation is clean and very comfortable . It's now the second time I have stayed and I will definitely stay again. There is the usual city noise however it's lovely and quiet in the mornings so you can get a good sleep in ! I highly recommend this place

    April 2014
  • We really enjoyed our stay with Kerry! There's is probably no better located spot in London to spend a long weekend. You can do a lot of sightseeing on foot. And the variety of nearby cafés, pubs and restaurants is fantastic.
    Therefore Kerry's luxury flat is just the right base. Comfortable and clean. Not the most quietest place on earth - but hey, you are in the very heart of London! And still you are never alone on the street and it's a very safe place, too.
    Kerry has a lot of good tips and is very reliable in communication. We met him for key delivery at the pub opposite the street... ;-)

    April 2014
  • Very well located, close to the city center.

    We have have really enjoyed the stay at Kenny's, a very confortable place to rest after having wandered in London all day long.

    Plus, Kenny is a fantastic guest that will do his best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

    Ps: thanks again for the advice about Camden Market, we would have miss this marvellous place without you! Cheers!

    April 2014
  • My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and the apartment was definitely very well located. Of course, it was quite lively at night time, but the bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Kenny, I would recommend finding someone to leave the key with, as it might not always be convenient for some people to make the extra round trip to your work to pick up the key, especially if they've already been traveling most of the day to get there. You really just want to get into the apartment as soon as possible, have a shower, and freshen up. Thanks very much.

    March 2014
    Kenny
    Response from Kenny:

    Thanks Trevor. I appreciate with my new job it's a bit tricky doing a key exchange during office hours Monday to Friday. It's why in the house rules I make it very clear that if you really want a check-in at these times it is best to agree the details with me first - as of course you did before I accepted your booking - since it will usually require a 20-minute ride on the bus to my workplace to pick them up. If that's inconvenient, the host directions section of the confirmation email sent automatically when a guest makes a booking gives details of nearby left luggage places you can drop stuff off at and enjoy the day until I get back home.

  • Well, my friend and I decided to spend a weekend in London and long before our trip we booked a private accommodation on airbnb which used the phrase “luxury flat” in its title (Actually, we were attracted to this flat due to its magnificent title: “luxury flat”.). Moreover, the positive and detailed description on airbnb, the apartment’s location and the positive comments on the website convinced us completely. Finally we agreed on booking the “luxury flat” even if it was more expensive than other places in the neighbourhood – basically, the label “luxury flat” worked as a means of persuasion.
     
    Although the location of the flat is great and the communication with Kenny (the owner) before our arrival was perfectly satisfying - he wasn’t present during our stay, but sent a friend to let us in and he sent e-mails to us. His friend met us, let us in and explained everything to us. Before that we had a long chat and a beer with him. He was extremely friendly and we enjoyed ourselves.

    In the apartment everything was clean and we were provided with towels. Moreover, we appreciated the chocolate and the cool drinks in the fridge. This was a very nice surprise! Kenny also left a folder full of helpful advice about the neighborhood and London.

    Nevertheless there was a negative surprise. When we opened one of the two wardrobes (we didn‘t know which to use) we found one that was in use and full of clothes. When we opened it a lot of small moths came out of the wardrobe. What is more, in the bathroom we discovered mould on the ceiling. Do these things belong in/to a so-called “luxury flat”?? We were afraid that the moths could “attack” our clothes so that we were afraid to unpack anything during our stay. Furthermore, we wouldn’t call mould luxurious but disgusting.
     
    However, we had a great time in London, but we didn’t stay in a “luxury flat”.

    But Kenny and his friend (who gave us the keys), were really friendly and we felt really welcome!

    We would book this accomodation again if the negative aspects mentioned were done away with.

    Erik and Andre / Germany

    March 2014
    Kenny
    Response from Kenny:

    Thanks for your comments André. I appreciate the many positives. As we've since discussed, I was rather disappointed you didn't mention the negatives in the emails we exchanged during your stay, or in the emails we exchanged after your stay when you had only expressed how very happy you were. The first I have ever heard about any moths in my private wardrobe that's not for guest use was in your review - I would of course have wanted to know about this immediately since I don't want my clothes to be eaten! This will be addressed now that I know about it. Regarding the damp spot high on the bathroom ceiling, this is above the overflow pipe for the new boiler I installed for guests last year (at a cost of £5,000/€6,000/$8,000) - I'm waiting for the end of its first winter before working out how best to avoid the inevitable side effects of the wetest British winter on record. However it's really not at all harmful or dangerous.

    As you say, the luxurious touches are things like the free drinks fridge and chocolates that I don't advertise in advance and like to surprise guests with. Some of the things that make it a luxury flat are the very expensive king-size wooden bed, the deep pile carpet, the designer furniture, Fairtrade tea and coffee, and a room that's larger than those in the Radisson hotel opposite that's literally three times the price. Sorry you felt that the negatives seemed to have outweighed these for you.

  • We had a great stay at Kenny's, very central with lots of great show and restaurants close by.
    Thoroughly recommend it if you want to stay somewhere central.

    February 2014
  • 5 Star..Kenny was a great host, the place was perfect for our trip and the location could not be better. Kenny accomodated our tight key-pickup window and the room was comfortable and well maintained. Would definitely reccomend staying here to anyone travelling to London. Thanksagain Kenny.

    February 2014
  • We strongly recommend Andy's place for a first landing in London. Just the perfect spot to enjoy the inner city and all its incredible features. We didn't get the chance to meet him this time. But he arranged everything so it became easy for us to get around when we arrived. Thank you very much Kenny. Hope you got our little present from Saint Tropez !

    February 2014
    Kenny
    Response from Kenny:

    I did cheers, and I left it in the fridge for Andy. Better remind him to get it next time he's letting a guest in whilst I'm away!

  • Thanks Kenny for this lovely week-end! great host as usual, always nice to see you! we'll be coming back again, that's for sure!) marie

    February 2014
  • Kenny's flat is in a GREAT location, right in the middle of a fantastic part of Soho/Covent Garden with tons of great restaurants, and shops. The room is comfortable and well-lit, and included some much appreciated extra touches like bottled water, and tea. Kenny was an absolutely wonderful host. He was available for any extra questions that I had during my stay, and it was clear that he truly wants his guests to have the best experience possible while visiting London. Great stay overall!

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$171
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 548 times
Languages
English
School
London Business School, UCLA Anderson, Aston University
Work
Freelance Android developer
About
Brit, 44, from London, love to travel and have visited 35 countries. I've been hosting with airbnb since May 2012 and I really enjoy it. So far I've hosted guests from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Finland, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, UK, Uruguay and USA. I've also stayed in Brazil, Finland, France, Spain and the USA as an airbnb guest.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings