Private room
1 Guest
1 Bed

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Ssameer A.K.A. Trip's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Ssameer A.K.A. Trip's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Ssameer A.K.A. Trip's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Ssameer A.K.A. Trip has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Strict Cancellation
50% refund until one week before arrival, except service fees.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

With Airbnb, you can find unique accommodations in people's homes—from houses and apartments, to tree houses and igloos. The listing details below explain what you'll find in this space. If you have any questions, you can contact the host directly.

Contact Host

can you guess what this is?

can you guess what this is?

The Space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room


Security Deposit: $600
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Strict


The Space



One furnished bedroom in a 3 bedroom apartment available for sublet. I'm offering cheap rent in exchange for some work as the backup host for 2 other rooms in this same flat. The other rooms are listed on Airbnb as vacation and short-term rentals. They are booked with people (mostly travelers) from 3 nights - 2 weeks. You can see them on the right side column of this page.

I'm looking for someone to sublet the third room for a minimum of 3 months, possibly longer if it works out well for both of us. The start and end dates are flexible. You will pay $600/month for your own furnished bedroom in exchange for a small amount of work. This includes all utilities, and the whole apartment is also furnished. The ideal person will have a flexible schedule because guests arrive at various times of the day.

Duties include:

• Greet guests when they arrive. An average of 8-10 guests per month. I will be in contact with them in advance and will let you know when they arrive. You will need to be flexible because trains and planes are not always on time.

• Clean rooms when guests leave - change sheets, sweep the floor, dust and remove anything left behind.

• Clean common rooms - Once a week clean the kitchen, living room, and bathroom. Take out trash/recycling and keep a supply of soap and toilet paper.

• Launder Sheets and Towels - Its your choice to do self-service laundry or use drop-off service (average is $40 per month using drop off service, i'm including my own laundry which i do together so it's actually less) There are several laundromats with in a couple blocks from the apartment and one that does pick up, wash and dry, folding, and delivery for $0.95/lb (~.4kg)

About the room:
The bedroom has a loft bed with a tempur pedic mattress. There's a desk, chair and shelving under the loft. Also in the room are many drawers for clothes, and a good sized closet. i will keep some of my stuff stored up high above the dresser drawers and in the closet, but i have made lots of room for your stuff.

About the Apartment:
3 Bedrooms. First Floor. Wireless internet. Fully outfitted kitchen. Located down the block from City College and 1 block from the 1 train stop at 137th and Broadway.

About the Neighborhood:
Very safe and lively neighborhood. Lots of restaurants, markets and shops. Very close to Riverbank Park which has a pool, running track, sports fields, riverside promenade, and a lot more. Very conveniently located - 15 minutes to times square, 20 minutes to Penn Station on the Subway.

Please take a look at my other listings to get an idea of the apartment.

If you're interested, please send me a message telling me about yourself. Do you have experience with Airbnb or in the hospitality industry? What time period do you need? And most importantly, will you have a flexible schedule while staying here? Overall, the responsibilities do not take much time, but you MUST be here to greet new guests, and keeping the place clean is very important.

Guest Access

guests have access to common areas, including kitchen, so please leave room in the fridge for some of their stuff, and in the shelves/pantry for their foods.

Interaction with Guests

interaction with guests is up to you. i usually read their personality and decide. usually couples need little to no interaction but greeting on arrival is important. you must give them keys then answer questions about the apartment, neighborhood, and the city, if necessary.

The Neighborhood

the neighborhood is a rapidly changing hispanic and college/university students/faculty. what i really love about the neighborhood is the convenience of 24 hour delis and good supermarkets nearby. also the apartment is close to trains and buses and there are many parks nearby.

Getting Around

public transit is very convenient. it's one of the main strengths of this location as the apartment itself is a very humble abode.

Other Things to Note

no pets... NO PETS!

+ More

House Rules

Please, take off your street shoes when you enter the apartment and leave them on the shoe racks in the hallway.

+ More

30 nights minimum stay
can you guess what this is?

can you guess what this is?

No Reviews Yet

This host has 382 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Ssameer A.K.A. Trip

New York, New York, United States
Member since August 2009


Explore other options in and around New York

More places to stay in New York: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums