Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Steps way above just camping; private cabin with internet, UV filtered water in every tap; hot all-lasting shower NEWLY UPGRADED; cooking allowed; mini-fridge, two-burner stove; comforts of home w/weekly cleaned sheets and towels in stays over 1 week

The space

Steps way above just camping; private cabin with internet, UV filtered water in every tap; hot all-lasting shower NEWLY UPGRADED; cooking allowed; mini-fridge, two-burner stove; comforts of home with weekly cleaned sheets and towels in stays over one week.

Romantic, rustic cabin retreat for single or couple on the edge of the lovely city of San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas. 1 studio-bedroom with full-size bed, NEWLY UPGRADED WOOD BURNING STOVE with wood for burning FREE FOR UNDER ONE WEEK STAY, antique desk & standing ropero (closet), 1 bathroom, wireless internet, UV purified drinking water system throughout, 2 burner gas stove, electric coffee maker, mini-fridge, cooking utensils. Small porch overlooking 1/2 acre organic gardens! Ideal for foreign students wishing to enroll in local Spanish schools.

Owner/hostess lives-in-separate-house in entrance: a bilingual Mexican-American published journalist, Fulbright scholar in Pre-Columbian Art History and licensed tour guide, she's available to take you to Maya villages and Maya ruins such as Tonina, Palenque, Bonampak and Yaxchilan, with a fully insured off-road vehicle and if not, advise on cheaper transportation but not private.. If she is away, (sometimes), she will advise you remotely!

Property securely gated in a safe, patrolled neighborhood where foreigners jog daily, with excellent views of the Guadalupe Church, mountains, the Fogotico River Valley, the El Encuentro Ecological Park. 15 minute walk or 3-minute drive to the town-square or "zocalo", taxi fare to downtown is about U.S. $3.

Come visit for the most unique experience!

Cabin Rental: children under 12 sharing full-size bed are free.

For stays of a week or longer: Electric included but NOT including gas for stove and hot-water heater for shower, which is about US$8/week and also not wood for fireplace $25US per cubic meter chopped at cost according to usage.
Cleaning fee for before and after departure $15US; $10US/ 1xweek optional. Maid/cook daily service optional at cost. $3US/hour.

Should the cabin be occupied for your desired stay, please check out my other properties by clicking on my photo and looking on the bottom left corner. Thanks!

Private tour rates available upon request or I will advise for cheaper agencies that take groups.

In severe winter months an electric heater can be rented for $6US/day, which only covers the cost of the electricity. No private electrical heating appliances are permitted.

Cheers and welcome!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $4 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $15
Weekly Discount: 13%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM

The wood burning stove works wonders after a little practice and there is a two-burner gas stove for cooking. No electric heaters or electric appliances that heat allowed as is a fire hazard and the electric bill goes sky high. If you need one, I can rent a safety appliance heater for US$6/day which only covers the extra cost for electric.

Week or longer: Electric included but NOT including gas for stove and hot-water heater for shower, which is about US$8/week and also not wood for fireplace $25US per cubic meter chopped at cost according to usage.
Cleaning fee for before and after departure $15US; $10US/ 1xweek optional. Maid/cook daily service optional at cost. $3US/hour.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Availability
3 nights minimum stay

75 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Daniel User Profile
May 2017
The cabin is small and cosy, and definitely a good quiet getaway. It is perfect for walking to the centre of town, about 20 minutes, and Janet is very pleasant. There are dogs on the property and a few cats at night, but they are very pleasant too. Overall a great little cabin.

César User Profile
April 2017
Great ambiance!

Becca User Profile
February 2017
A recommended place to stay. My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. Janet's description of the place, along with the photos, is very accurate. It is rustic, but really has everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. It is very centrally located, only about 10 minutes or less walk to the main part of the town, offering a lot to do and see. We felt safe within the neighborhood the entire time. The house is gated and you are given access to the pedestrian gate, and garage gate as well. We were riding our own motorcycle and were able to park it inside the property which was comforting. The little cabin itself is located at the back of the property. It has one large room with an attached bathroom. The room had extra blankets for cold nights, a desk to sit at with books, a wardrobe, multiple shelves, plenty of lighting, front porch seating, etc... The wood burning stove was broken, but we were offered a propane heater for an additional cost (150 pesos for 5 nights), which worked great. It was chilly outside but we were always warm inside. It also included a 2-burner mini gas stove top, a mini fridge, toaster oven, coffee pot(takes about 30 min to brew), and dishes & silverware (with sponge, soap, and towels for cleaning). We cooked a lot of our own meals with ease here. The bathroom is a little rough on the eyes, but works fine. We always had hot water in the shower and sink, and she has cleansed water so you can drink straight from the tap, which was really nice. There was plenty of toilet paper, but make sure you bring shampoo & soap for showering. The property is large and beautiful with a couple living next door to the cabin, but within a comfortable distance to give you privacy. The dogs on the property are super friendly and loving as well. They like to be pet and played with. Marta and Alex (housekeeper and gardener) don't speak English, but the couple next door do and offered their translating assistance when we needed it. Laundry service is offered by Marta, but we ended up going down the street to have it done for around the same cost, plus folding. There is a lot to do within the city and its outskirts, and this is a great place to stay while exploring San Cristobal.

Laura234 User Profile
February 2017
Lovely, secluded cabin within walking distance to the charming centre of SCLC. It's pretty cold at night so be prepared to sleep in long pants and a hoodie. There were plenty of blankets provided and hot water is included. Firewood is extra. Not the cleanest/most modern place, but Marta is a lovely host and will do all she can to make you feel welcome (no English). The dogs are adorable - Ginger is the best! Watch out though, the little ones get jealous when you give Ginger too much love. Also - yoga twice weekly just up the road at the Rancho San Nicholas :)

Monica And Mike User Profile
December 2016
Janet's cottage is a great place to stay in San Cristobal. The location is fabulous. The cabin is very private and secure, nestled into the corner of a walled property containing trees, garden and two other dwellings. All is situated in a pocket of woods and vegetable fields on the edge of town just a 15 minute walk to the central plaza of San Cristobal. The cabin's amenities are basic, but completely adequate and immaculately clean. The new on-demand water heater reliably provided steaming hot water. Kitchen appliances also worked well. Be advised though that winter nights at 7000 feet are cold. Go for the gas heater - it's efficient, easy to use, and well worth the cost of a tank of propane. Janet has provided very clear and comprehensive information about the cabin and the city, anticipating most any need one could think of. She was out of town during our stay and still responded very quickly to our emails. Marta, the caretaker of the property, is delightful. She welcomed us warmly and assisted us with any need that arose. We fell in love with her truly. We recommend the cabin unreservedly.
Janet User Profile
Response from Janet:
Thanks Monica and Mike! Please come again anytime. I was very happy to help you and also due to family illness had to leave a bit early. Am wishing you all and your family all the best for a great 2017 !
December 2016

Shelley User Profile
November 2016
I didn't meet Janet, but her and Marta both were very kind and the property itself is lovely. I loved all the fruit trees! The internet worked well, which was important since I was working. The 15 minute walk to town was enjoyable and safe. I cooked simple meals everyday and had what I needed to do so. Overall, the cabin has great potential, but unfortunately I felt that the online representation and other reviews were a bit misleading. Because the cabin gets little sun, it’s very, very cold inside. Too cold! I realize San Cristobal is chilly, but other places I've stayed here haven't been this cold. Even with the fire, I had to sleep with 6 blankets, 2 layers of clothes, and my down jacket every night. If you enjoy camping, you'll be fine. Maybe bring a sleeping bag. Making hot tea or drinking red wine helps! But the shower is also cold, and that really sucks when the room is freezing. I talked to Marta about the water and she confirmed that everything was working as it should, I also followed the instructions Janet left, but I still only had very lukewarm water for about 60 seconds. Not sure if I missed something, but it shouldn't be that hard. The other house on the property seems to be a little more insulated and is much warmer. All of the linens and pillows seem to be 30+ years old. This isn’t a huge deal, but leaves a bad impression and seems like an easy fix. There are 3 sweet dogs in the yard, and I really loved playing with them, but they bark a lot. At all hours. Just a warning if you’re sensitive to noise or a light sleeper. Earplugs help some. All in all, my week-long stay was pleasant enough, and obviously reviewers before me were perfectly happy here. I hate to leave some negative comments, but it just wasn’t quite what I was expecting and I wanted to be honest about my experience. I feel that with a relatively small investment and a few updates this place would be amazing.
Janet User Profile
Response from Janet:
Hi Shelley, thanks for your honest review. As stated the cabin is rustic, a step above camping and the price is right on for what you get. The hot water heater happens to be brand new so I can't understand why it wasn't working; only if you had said something to me I would have told you to only turn on the hot water slowly; it is not necessary to add cold water at all. The faster the water comes out the less hot it will be since the water is heated immediately through a long coil inside. It takes some gentle regulation but has been used a few times before you came and I had no complaints. I think perhaps your Spanish was not good enough to understand the housekeeper, or she could have shown you better how it works. In the future please speak up immediately. I want all my guests to be comfortable and happy.
November 2016

Jonathan User Profile
May 2016
San Cristobal is one of my favorite cities and Janet's cabin is a quaint, wonderful base to explore from. Only a 10 minute walk to the city and nestled amongst small local farms, we were able to come in and out throughout the day, between grocery trips and adventuring. While Janet was not there, the helpers on her property were lovely, helped with chores like laundry, and made us feel comfortable and welcome. Unfortunately, we were sick for most of the trip so we stayed in the cabin quite a lot and found that the mattress and hot shower were not quite what we had expected. The mattress was very tough and thin and the water would fluctuate around luke warm for a couple of minutes.
Janet User Profile
Response from Janet:
Thanks Jonathan for your review and so sorry you were sick for most of your trip. cheers, best wishes, and I would be happy to have you again. I only wish that you had communicated directly to me about the mattress and hot water heater. We could have exchanged the mattress with one more to your comfort and easily changed the gas tank that goes to the hot water heater, as this is just a symptom that the gas pressure and a fuller tank is needed right away. Sorry for any troubles. You are the first here to mention either of these.
May 2016

This host has 75 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

San Cristóbal de las Casas, Mexico · Joined in August 2010
Janet User Profile

I'm a bilingual Mexican-American published journalist, Fulbright scholar in Pre-Columbian Art History and licensed tour guide, available in summer months to take you to Maya villages and Maya ruins such as Tonina, Palenque, Bonampak and Yaxchilan, with a fully insured off-road vehicle; or just give you great tips and advise should you want to go on your own!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.