Skip to content
Living room. Working fireplace.Kitchen.
Top of the South End Brownstone
Top of the South End Brownstone
5 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
5 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The space

PLEASE CONTACT US BEFORE MAKING RESERVATION REQUEST, THANKS!!

The top two floors of a classic South End brownstone, this apartment is loaded with character. Ideal for a couple, or a small family, two couples or a small group of friends. In the winter keep warm by the fire, in the summer sun tan on the roof deck with a view of the entire city.

The master bedroom has a queen bed with a patio just outside of bay windows. The smaller second bedroom has a bunkbed for two children or (not extremely tall!) adults. The third sleeping space is an unusual bedroom: it is the top floor, which is not separated by a door, but is up a set of stairs and is quite spacious, though with a low ceiling (please see photos). It has a very comfortable double bed, with a sky light through which one has access to a truly fantastic roof deck, garden, deck table, chairs and - most importantly - the best view of Boston you can get.

Right on Shawmut avenue, the most beautiful street in Boston - in our humble opinion - surrounded by great restaurants, boutiques and shops. The South End is full of narrow streets, little jewels of parks and all the amenities of overly charming foodie culture. Right next door is Copa, a fabulous Italian tapas restaurant; across the street is Franklin Cafe, a classic bistro/cafe/bar, good for elevated bar food and a late nite boozy crowd; Formaggio, a wine and cheese shop with pretty much anything delicious your heart desires; a dog bakery (yes, a dog bakery); a yoga studio; a designer jewelry shop; and a women's clothing store. Half a block away are two cafes, and two parks. Within one more block are dozens of other restaurants on Tremont and Washington, the heart of the South End, the Boston Center for the Arts etc etc... You can have a fantastic weekend without even walking more than several blocks.

The apartment has tons of exposed brick, two outdoor spaces (patio off master bedroom and roof deck), microwave, wifi, working fireplace, kid-friendly, fully equipped kitchen, cable tv, books, art, stereo hookups for your iPod/iPhone. It is lively but quiet at the same time. Plenty of people walking around, though the restaurants clear up their patios by 11pm, so you still get a quiet restful night. Being on the top floor, we are also blessedly insulated from noise. There are 2 AC window units in the apartment, one in the second bedroom and one in the living room, and we have plenty of fans and open windows on the top floor provide a pleasant breeze on summer evenings. There is a coin-operated washer/dryer in the basement.

WARNING: this is a walk up. We're on the 4th and 5th floor, you must be able bodied.

10 min walk to Orange line Backbay Stop. 1min walk to Silver line bus stop.

Parking is mostly residential, though there is also a decent amount of visitor parking spots.

10min walk to Newbury, Boylston shopping etc. Also a short walk to the Commons, Downtown Crossing. Very central location.

Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.
Amenities
Family/kid friendly
Internet
Kitchen
Indoor fireplace
Prices
Extra people $50 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee $100
Security Deposit $500
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Bedroom 3
1 double bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox

For instant book, only 4 or less guests. Otherwise send me a message, and we can chat about it.

Smoking allowed on balcony or roof deck.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - This is on 4th floor.
No parking on property - Street parking is available, but can be difficult at peak times.
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Apr 13 - 16, 2018 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

47 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Brooke User Profile
August 2017
I'll start with the good. The apartment is in a great location with plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance. The deck and rooftop patio are really nice and there's a beautiful view. Now for the not-so-good. I've stayed in a lot of airbnbs and I have never given a negative review but I feel I need to be honest so that the next renters know what they're getting into... Parking is a challenge. Most spaces in the area are either residents only or 2 hour. The building is very old. There is a pretty strong, unpleasant odor when you walk in. There are 3 flights of very narrow, winding stairs that lean to the left. Difficult to bring luggage up and may be challenging to small children and those with physical ailments. The photos do not accurately represent the living room or the small bedroom. The living room is not a big deal but the bedroom my kids slept in was very different. There is a bunkbed now blocking all light from the window. The bottom is a mattress on the floor with an AC unit right over it. Not the most pleasant sleeping situation. The ceiling in the upstairs "room" is so low you must be on your knees and it is very hot. The description mentions more than once that there is a working fireplace but the manual in the house states that renters cannot use it. Not that we wanted to use it in August, but wanted to point that out. Every dish that I took out of the cabinet was dirty. The very first glass I tried to use had lipstick on the rim. The towels smelled terrible and we had no choice but to use them but felt very dirty. There was a lingering smell of mildew throughout the apartment. I think this could be a great rental but it is in need of some cleaning, updating, a more accurate description and new photos.
Sarah User Profile
Response from Sarah:
Well, there's a first time for everything. We have never received a negative review, but perhaps our place isn't for everyone. If you are a guest thinking about staying in our place, please take the time to read some of the other reviews which are all strongly positive. I'll respond to some of the comments: - The guest did not ask about parking. We always tell people parking is difficult. Parking is very difficult everywhere in Boston. We tell guests to avoid driving in Boston. - We state clearly there are 3 flights of stairs and it is not appropriate for elderly. - There did seem to be an odor coming from the first floor unit, though we don't know what that was, and it was out of our control. - Some of the rooms have been updated since the photos were taken, but they have been IMPROVED from our point of view. This renter may disagree and that's ok, and their suggestion to update some of these photos is well taken. There is a brand new kitchen. There is different furniture in the living room. And yes, there is a bunkbed in the kids room which can now sleep two. We're sorry this renter didn't like it, we love it, as do our kids! - The upstairs room is described as a loft space. The photos of it are ABSOLUTELY accurate. Yes, it can be hot during summer days. We provide a large fan. - We're very surprised about the description of dishes and towels, and definitely apologize if this was the case. However, it's a ridiculous statement to say that ALL of the dishes in the cabinet were dirty. We can assure you that we wash all linens and dishes before a guest arrives by a professional cleaning service. We do not use scented detergents, so the linens should smell of nothing at all. If the cleaning service mixed up dirty from clean towels we sincerely apologize, that should never happen. We're very sorry that this guest was disappointed and will address some of her suggestions. However, some of the things she dislikes most of our other guests have felt differently about. So please reach out to us if you have any questions. -Sarah
August 2017

Lorie User Profile
January 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Sarah's condo! The location can't be beat and the amenities worked out perfectly for our family. Our children loved playing with the toys they had. Sarah was very responsive and checked in with us to make sure our stay was comfortable. Highly recommend!

Laura User Profile
August 2016
Absolutely adored this place!! Much better than the photos show. It was very comfortable and the decor was stylish yet very practical. We stayed with 2 boys and they really enjoyed the accommodations. The 2nd floor has a sleeping area which is not air conditioned but it's really nice and leads up to the roof. The bunk beds in the 2nd bedroom were very comfy. I felt right at home in the master bedroom, it was extremely comfortable, the room was filled with books and felt warm and inviting. it leads to a patio filled with plants and charming decor. The views of Boston (Back Bay) were stunning!!! The rooftop desk is out of this world!! The views were amazing, such a wonderful to sit and relax. The hosts are very thoughtful, the amenities were good and maps were provided. I was especially grateful that the hosts were so responsive and helpful with everything. Communication was really good. The neighborhood is charming, there is a really good cheese shop with fresh bread across the street and cafes and little shops in the area.

Noah User Profile
July 2015
Sarah was a great host. The apartment was comfortable and clean, the rooftop patio had a wonderful view of Boston, and the location was perfect. Everything was exactly as advertised. I'd absolutely stay here again.

Sarah User Profile
July 2015
My daughter and I stayed here for a long vacation during the summer. Our host was great to deal with and made everything extremely easy before we arrived. Once there, any question I had was answered easily in the house manual or by email from the host. This is a perfect spot to explore the south end with it's many restaurants, shops and historic beauty. It was always a pleasure to return at the end of our day out enjoy Boston. We especially enjoyed the roof deck. It is a very comfortable and relaxing space. I would 100% recommend this to my friends and family.

Kristen User Profile
September 2014
Sarah and Ben were wonderful hosts - they were very responsive to all of our questions. The place was fantastic for our two kids (ages 6 and 2). The neighborhood was great. We could walk to great restaurants and a fun playground for the kids.

David User Profile
July 2014
We had a great time at this lovely apartment in the South End! The neighborhood couldn't be better, with loads of great little restaurants, cafes, and food shops, and two playgrounds within one block, which the kiddos loved. Sarah and Ben were very responsive and a pleasure to deal with.

Boston, Massachusetts, United StatesJoined in January 2012
Sarah User Profile

from boston; a scientist and an artist and a 2 year old girl

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings