Mini fridge, coffee maker, electric kettle, toaster over, microwave and dishware included

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The Mission District has it all-restaurants, cafes, parks, nightlife, shops, no hills, public transportation and the most sun in San Francisco. The Secret Lounge is your pied-à-terre from which to experience it all.

The space

Our Place: This is a large one-room space on the first floor of our house.

A lot of thought went into creating The Secret Lounge as we wanted a private place that our parents could stay in when they visit their grandchildren. In the times between visits, we are open to renting it out as we are avid travelers and always like to stay off the beaten path as well and enjoy meeting like-minded people.

If you're in SF for work, internship, school or simply looking for temporary housing, this is the place.

We love our neighborhood with its great weather, fabulous food and incredible culture. We're happy to share it with you.

We are very central to downtown (BART, aka the subway, is a 5 minute walk) as well as the freeways to the airport & Silicon Valley. But there's really no reason to go elsewhere- The Mission has it all within walking distance: nationally renown restaurants, great shopping, parks, sun, no hills to climb, and tacos, tacos, tacos!

Other great stuff nearby:
Trick Dog
Flour + Water
Humphry Slocombe Ice Creamery
Philz's Handmade Turkish Coffee
Dynomite Donuts
St. Francis Soda Fountain
La Palma Mexicatessen
and more....

Guest access

The space has everything you need to base your San Francisco stay including private toilet and shower. There is a micro-kitchen area with microwave, toaster, electric kettle, mini-fridge, induction cooktop burner and plates, utensil etc.

Interaction with guests

Interaction with us is as much or as little as you'd like. Some guests we see very little as they're off touristing or visiting friends. Others we meet on the stoop and share neighborhood tips. We love to share our city but you'll never feel that you have to check in with us if you don't want to.

Other things to note

Sorry but no rentals less than 30 days. Monthly Only


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Smart lock

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 60
Security Deposit: 2000
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 5PM

• Please treat our home and belongings with respect.
• We don't like to have a ton of rules but some common sense rules are:
please clean up after yourselves and leave our home as you found it. we do have cleaners but this is for basic turnover cleanings.
•no parties.
• As we live here we appreciate quiet after 10 and a respectful living situation.
• respect the neighbors and neighborhood.
• turn off all lights, faucets, appliances etc when not in use.
• no smoking/vaping of any kind anywhere on the property.
• no pets of any kind.
• no overnight guests who are not on the airbnb booking.
• no illegal use of the internet or pirating of our music or films (i work in the business and this is my livelyhood).
• use the separate compost, recycling and garbage bins properly- it's San Francisco law.
• Close and lock all windows and doors when you leave (for the day or your stay).
• Please do not leave the windows open with the shades down. There is always an afternoon wind and it will damage the shades. Just ask and we'll show you how to open the windows from the top down for more privacy.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
30 nights minimum stay

271 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alec User Profile
April 2017
Had a great time staying here

Nick User Profile
January 2017
This was a good solution as I started a job in the Mission district of San Francisco to stay while I got started and looked for a more permanent place. It is a bit noisy as the unit faces the street and the street has many people that you can hear. Also, you can hear the family very easily (especially footsteps) that you share the house with. I wouldn't highly recommend this place if you are expecting it to be cold as they reset the thermostat in order to save energy and I would often come home or wake up with the unit quite cold. In general, San Francisco doesn't get that cold, but it was uncomfortable in January. In all, the place is very cute and well decorated and they have done a great job of turning it into a very livable space, complete with some basic necessities like a mini fridge and microwave. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place (for SF) with private entry and responsive and nice hosts, I definitely recommend this place.
David + Tina User Profile
Response from David + Tina:
Nick- thanks for the recommendation. We are surprised though that during the entire month you stayed with us you never mentioned that you were cold- the thermostat can easily be adjusted. This was an abnormally cold January, you just need to ask us to show you how you can change it. When Tina came and changed your sheets, or I met you twice to give you the parking passes I went downtown to get you- you never said anything to us. We’re so sorry you had to wake up cold.
January 2017

Rich User Profile
May 2016
The Secret Lounge is great! You can tell that David and Tina have put a lot of care into it, and they've made good use of the space such that you can stay for a while and still feel comfortable. They were very welcoming and very responsive any time I reached out. The location couldn't be better - there are so many restaurants and interesting places near it on 24th and throughout the Mission, and you're a short walk from the BART. No complaints, would stay again!

Helen User Profile
September 2015
The secret lounge was easy to find and exactly as described. The apartment had everything you need on a holiday and felt very comfortable. It is well located with a terrific bus system, Muni buses, which took us everywhere! The local streets are colourful and full of character. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, though check their closing time. ( not the greatest for gluten intolerant people though) . Would stay here again if we returned to San Francisco.

Shan User Profile
September 2015
My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Secret Lounge during our recent trip to SF. The apartment was exactly as pictured, and it was clear that Tina and David take a lot of care to keep it in the pristine and charming condition it's in. Its location in Mission made it pretty convenient to get to other parts of the city, and the neighborhood has some of the best Mexican food we've ever had! We had a rental car during the trip and despite having to circle for a while sometimes, we did always manage to eventually find a parking spot on an unzoned street 1-2 blocks away (their street is zoned). All in all a great experience and I would highly recommend the Secret Lounge!

Ben User Profile
September 2015
We were happy with the apartment and it was as described on the listing. We only met Tina very briefly during our stay as we had a full on itinerary. The mission district itself was an eye opener. While we didn't run into any troubles as in all big cities you should definitely exercise caution when walking at night through this area. We didn't feel safe walking at night from the train station. The apartment is located a short 5-10 min walk from the BART station which takes you straight downtown. An uber was around $10 and plenty available. It was a great taste of local life in the mission district. If you are after a more touristy accommodation I would recommend staying close to fisherman's wharf.
David + Tina User Profile
Response from David + Tina:
Ben- thank you for such a thoughtful review and we’re sorry to hear about your 24th Street experience. It is one of The Mission main thoroughfares and recently designated the city’s first Latino Heritage District. Please let us know what you experienced so we can let the city, the 24th Street Merchant’s Association and the neighborhood group know.
September 2015

Nina User Profile
August 2015
Pros: We loved the local foods and all the nearby murals! Walking distance to the best Mexican food we've ever had! David is friendly and helpful with directions. 5min walk to Bart. Cons: the room is warm and unventilated despite the small fan. The neighborhood safety is questionable. We didn't wander the streets after dark. Otherwise a great stay!

This host has 88 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in March 2010
David + Tina User Profile

We're avid travelers but now with two kids we don't get as far from home as we used to. When we do travel- we love to stay in real neighborhoods and experience an area the way the folks who live there do.

We love to eat, walk and bike (yes, the kids too!). We've lived in The Mission for 15+ years and know it well. It's an area we love to show off to visitors.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings