Cozy 2 bedroom/1.5 bath with hot tub in Volcano Village!
This cozy, secluded Hapu’u Fern cottage is nestled amidst a lush forest of fragrant Kahili gingers, red flowering Ohia trees, the dancing leaves of the Olapa trees and the Hapu’u tree ferns.
Cost: $145.00/night based on double occupancy; $20/night for each additional person . There's a $15 booking fee and a $45 cleaning fee and 13.416 %tax on total cost.
Lower $135/night for no hot tub use!
$5 Kama'aina or Local discount per night!
Stay 7 nights for a discounted rate of $870 + tax (based on double occupancy)
Occupancy: 5 People
Rooms: Two Bedrooms (with two queens), and a futon available for 5th guest.
1.5 bathrooms (two toilets & two showers). Additional bath conveniently located next to the Hot Tub.
Complimentary: Complimentary self-serve continental breakfast
Amenities: Woodstove/fireplace (firewood not provided but can be purchased at local stores), Brand new Hot Tub,BBQ grill, well equiped kitchen, 2 Cable TV's, both with VCR. Radio/CD. All linens included. Wi-fi available.
Parking: Two Covered Parking Spaces and a large parking area.
The one-mile drive on Wright Road to your cottage, views one of the tallest mountains on earth, the world famous Mauna Kea, snowcapped mid November - January.
Volcano Village is also a sanctuary for the native Hawaiian birds. Soak in the Hot Tub in this wonderful forest and enjoy the flight of the zebra dove and the music of the birds.
Experience the beauty of nature, clean crisp air, peace and tranquility at the Hapu’u Fern Cottage.
The Hapu’u Fern Cottage is five minutes to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park featuring Kilauea one of the world’s most active volcanoes. Also in the Volcano area is a choice of nine restaurants and cafes, two convenience stores, the Volcano Winery, golf, a bird park and hiking trails. Forty minutes drive to Hilo and thirty minute to Punalu’u Black Sand Beach.
In planning for your trip, you may want to consider buying groceries in town (either Hilo or Kona) before coming to Volcano as the prices increase dramatically once you leave the city.
The weather can be quite cool in Volcano due to our 4,000 feet elevation, so remember to pack a few warm items just in case! There are fireplaces and lots of linens in all of our homes to keep you warm, despite not having central heating or heaters available, unless requested. Also, the following link offers daily updates for eruption events (website hidden)
And if you are interested in seeing the lava during your visit, please feel free to call Kalapana Lava Trek at (phone number hidden) set up a reservation ( see website http://(email hidden)/)
We highly recommend Safari Helicopters Volcano tour if you plan to take a trip, and they can offer you a discounted rate by booking online! Here is their website (website hidden)
If you’d like to enjoy the entertaining concerts in Volcano, please see the schedule and other activities available in Volcano Village at this website (website hidden)
For an Authentic Hawaiian lomi lomi massage while you are here in Volcano, you may contact Beatrice Freitas, at (phone number hidden). She’s a 27 year licensed massage therapist (#2903) & 20 year teacher of Hawaiian lomi lomi massage in Sweden, Finland, Denmark, England, New Zealand and Barbados.. Upon request, our licensed therapist will accommodate you with a relaxing Hawaiian lomi lomi massage at the rental.
Injuries or Damages All of the units are privately owned; the owners are not responsible for any accidents, injuries or illness that occurs while on the premises or its facilities. The Homeowners are not responsible for the loss of personal belongings or valuables of the guest. By accepting this reservation, it is agreed that all guests are expressly assuming the risk of any harm arising from their use of the premises or others whom they invite to use the premise..
Vacation Rental Damages
Guest authorizes Owner to charge credit card for any costs of repair or replacement of damaged or missing items beyond normal use, and excessive clean up, stains, odor removal, late check out, or unscheduled cleaning crew costs.
Also any damages to rental property will be informed to guest after arrival and expected to be paid by guests, either through credit card, PayPal or check.
Lost and Found
We will make every effort to locate any possessions left behind. Please email us if you have lost any items. If found, we will email you requesting the shipping address, and will ship the items back to you for the cost of the packaging and shipping, which will be charged to your credit card on file, plus an additional 4% credit card processing fee. Any items found in homes will be kept for 30 days. Unclaimed items will be donated to charity. Please let us know if you need anything else!
We had absolutely no contact with our host, Merlenna, until the day we left and I emailed her to inquire about taxes the homeowner, Karen, said we owed her for our stay. Merlenna said we did owe the tax and thanked us for our understanding. I was VERY upset as my receipt said I was paid in full. Since I did stress over that issue the whole time we were there, it was really the only negative I have. The house was as advertised and neighborhood extremely quiet and lovely; it is a dead-end street so there's not much traffic. My first impression of the property was that of the tall green ferns and the birds singing in the trees; it was lovely. The house description states it has 1 1/2 baths, which it does, but to get to one you have to go out the kitchen door and through the carport to get to it. Also, as stated in the description, there is NO HEAT in this house and it does get very cold in the mornings, so pack accordingly. There is a woodstove but the paper and wood were so damp we could not get a fire lit and we are rural, backwoods, camping people! We even bought a Presto Log and it was a waste of money. The homeowner, Karen, was a sweetheart and I could tell it was hard for her to ask us for additional money for the taxes. She had a big bowl of fruit for us and a freezer full of frozen waffles. The hot tub was clean and hot and I've never seen a house so well stocked with clean towels and washcloths. There are no major grocery stores in Volcano so be sure to stop in Hilo or Kona to do your major food/liquor shopping. You might want to bring your own bottled water to drink as the tap water is not potable (rain water). The homeowner has the big bottles of water (the kind you put on a stand) we used for making coffee and brushing our teeth, but to feel really safe, we bought our own drinking water. I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to visit this side of the island. I just wouldn't recommend airbnb due to my experience.
We are glad you enjoyed this lovely home! Sorry about the mixup with the taxes. We are new to working with airbnb and it has been a great site to work with! We have gotten many bookings through airbnb and had many happy guests stay at our homes.
And happily now have realized that you were able to instantly book the home without the taxes shown on the reservation. That is why you were charged the tax by the homeowner since she does have to pay her taxes to the state for her vacation rental.
Now moving forward we are able to add the tax and ask the guest to accept our special offer with the correct total cost, and secure the reservation that way. I hope that helps clear up some of the misunderstanding, and we do hope you decide to stay again in our lovely Volcano Village!
Marlenna and Karen were fantastic hosts and the property was charming. It was only a couple miles from volcanoes national park. The little cottage was charming and felt like a secluded getaway nestled in a tropical jungle. The hot tub was exactly what one needs on this colder part of the island. The unit was clean, tidy, and had lots of extras (faster than expected internet, lots of comforters and pillows).
Karen was very accommodating of our variable arrival times and expended a lot of effort to make sure the house had what we needed for our 1-year old.
Cons: The property had a strong smell - Karen said it was because of smokers that had stayed the night before and she was trying to purge the smell. I was new to airbnb and assumed that the `breakfast` amenity meant that breakfast is included like one would find at a bed and breakfast - it turns out that that is not the case and airbnb owners usually only provide things like tea and coffee so one will go out and support local businesses. Karen provides frozen waffles - just FYI.
If we plan on visiting volcanoes national park we will stay here again.
Kare was great host letting us stay in her beautiful cottage. Very close to volcano national park, and the hot tub was a nice kicker to the end of the day. The beds were extremely comfortable too!
This host has 256 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews