Large, Private Apartment w/ Balcony

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Brandt Pl, Amsterdam, NY 12010, United States
Jess
Your host, Jess
44 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: a few days or more

The Space

Rent our charming second floor for less than the cost of a hotel! Two parks and numerous restaurants nearby. Just a few minutes into town! Off-streat parking in our driveway for one car, plus on-street parking for more.

Our home is a work in progress, but we strive to provide the most pleasant, comfortable living space possible. The floor has 3 bedrooms (with real beds), plus a futon and air mattress, a full kitchen with a gas stove and large fridge, a dining room, charming master bedroom with a walk-in closet, laundry room with washer and dryer and laundry baskets, and a balcony with lawn chairs overlooking the yard. During the summer, two of the bedrooms have window A/C units, and there are two floor fans (and one ceiling fan) for temperature control. During the winter, we have baseboard heaters and/or space heaters to keep the place warm.

My girlfriend and I live on the 1st floor. We're quiet and friendly, and really enjoy hosting; we'll do our absolute best to provide any amenities you need. We have spare toothbrushes, towels, laundry detergent, and even canned food available in case you're in a rush and don't have time to pack. We'll even do our very best to show you the best restaurants and attractions in the area if you're looking.

Any questions? Just ask! The space is available year-round, and we're fairly flexible on cancellations (just give us as much notice as you can), so let us know if you'd like to book today! Thanks for reading, and we look forward to meeting you soon!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 7
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Extra people: $10 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $445 /week
Monthly Price: $1495 /month
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Thank You so much. We went Farm Aid 2013 at SPAC and it was about a 25 min. drive, which wasn't bad. Plenty of space for three couples. It was 100% worth it. Thank You again

    September 2013
  • We only stayed at Jess' house for one night on our way from Toronto to Boston. It is in the ideal location. We arrived around 8 pm and Jess greeted us very friendly and we felt very welcome after a long days drive.
    The apartment is huge and it is perfect if you want to stay with 2 or more people - since there are 3 bedrooms. The bed in the master bedroom is the moste comfortable and it is really cozy and it was hard to get out of it in the morning. You will get a good nighs sleep and hence, rest. The walk-in closet is every woman's dream! In the kitchen you'll find everything you need for some cooking - Jess also provides you with some drinks and canned food, which is very convenient, although we did not take advantage of it. If you like you can play boardgames or read a book from the collection - I recommend "Letters from a nut", which really made me laugh!
    I can see why Jess says the house is a work in progress - it is huge and we guessed at least 40 or 50 years old and old houses need some tlc usually - we loved that the original wooden floors were visible and beautifully done and that there is wood panelling in the bathroom and wooden cabinets in the kitchen - the house has some great original features! Travelling this road again we would stay at Jess' house again.

    September 2013
  • A full upstairs apartment in a rambling old farm house with lots of character and space. Clean and tidy and provided plentiful amount of emergency supplies .
    Bathroom is basic but functional. Bedroom very spacious and attractive .Bed was extremely comfortable and soft.
    air conditioning was great in the humid weather.
    A nice greeting by our host Jess who made us feel very welcome on our arrival after our long drive to Amsterdam.

    September 2013
  • We stayed one night at Jess's apartment and had a good experience. Communication was very easy and we found the apartment to be just as described.

    August 2013
  • Jess and Cristina have done a marvelous job of creating a very homelike atmosphere with all the added comforts for a stay away from home. They thought of so many needs that a traveler might have even down to the umbrella at the ready by the door. They provided information about services in the area and had everything clean and ready for my stay. My only regret was that I didn't get to meet them. Our schedules just didn't work out.

    August 2013
  • Very nice hosts, good homemade parfait for breakfast, large and clean apartment.
    Thank you ! :)

    August 2013
  • We needed a place to stay for the night in the middle of a long road trip. We had a great night's sleep, which is exactly what we needed. Jess had everything available that anyone may have forgotten from toothbrushes to coffee creamer. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.

    August 2013
  • Jess is an excellent host and the apartment is spacious. Truly a great bargain.

    August 2013
  • Totally a good choice.
    The apartment is the same as described. it is cozy and private, and large for 3 people.
    What i prefer is the balcony. summer morning smells peaceful on the balcony.
    The shower head is also good.

    July 2013
  • We chose Jess's place as a stop-over on our road trip because of its convenient location off I-90 and the very reasonable price. Jess was extremely friendly, even when we arrived later than planned, and our only regret is that we didn't have more friends traveling with us--this place is big and very private! The apt is very well decorated, with nice touches like mini-toothpastes, mints on the pillows, oatmeal packets in the kitchen, etc. to make it feel especially welcoming. If you need a place to rest your head en route, stay here!

    July 2013
Per Month
From
$80
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 106 times
Languages
English, Español, Français
School
Kingston Senior High School, Columbia High School, Fulton–Montgomery Community College, City College of New York, University of Phoenix
Work
Self Employed
About
Hi there! I'm Jess. I'm a computer programmer from Kingston NY, originally. I moved to NYC for school, and recently moved back upstate to get a little closer to nature. I live in Amsterdam with my girlfriend Cristina, and we're currently working on renovating the house and garage, as well as a few other personal projects. I spend my time working online, teaching brazillian jiu jitsu, editing wikipedia, learning new things, and working on the house. Cristina teaches belly dance and is learning to program. Both of us love to hike, and we're trying to explore the area, try new restaurants and activities, and get more involved in the community. We try exploring somewhere new every weekend, and so far it's been a lot of fun!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
3 months ago
Similar Listings