Funky Richmond, Huge Comfy Room

House - Private room · Clifton St, Richmond, VIC 3121, Australia

The Space

Just a stone's throw to everything that vibrant Richmond has to offer: great boutique shops, trendy cafes and restaurants, trams, trains and the Melbourne Cricket Ground for a true taste of Aussie Rules Football. You will fall in love with my place and the area I live!

Richmond train station is a 5 minute walk away, serviced by 8 different train lines, and only one stop from Flinders Street, Melbourne's famous central city station. There is also East Richmond train station which is 1 minute walk (if you walk slowly). Or catch a tram from Swan Street (less than 50m away) for a more scenic route into the city, the docklands or sporting precinct. There are also trams 100meters away that take you straight down Chapel St shopping district! You are absolutely spoilt for choice at my place!

Your private room is spacious and light, with a comfy double bed complete with a king sized feather down doona, your own flat screen TV and DVD player, an oil heater, full length mirror, desk and hanging space. A dressing station is set up with shelves, a mirror, and a range of Lonely Planet guides and local guide books are there for your use. Your bedside table is equipped with 3 drawers and an alarm clock radio with built-in iPhone 3/4s charger!

In the rest of the house, the open-plan lounge/dining/kitchen, huge bathroom and modest courtyard are all there to share. I shower at work so you rarely have to share the bathroom with me! Huge bonus!

The well equipped kitchen has a dishwasher, gas cooking (including a wok burner), kitchen table, blender, microwave and fridge. Please feel free to use what you like, but as I am a vegan, I'd appreciate no meat cooking with my utensils (but I'm pretty sure you'll want to eat out at all of the great eateries most of the time anyway).

Coles supermarket is less than 100m away!

Close to EVERYTHING you could possibly need - massage, cafés, restaurants, beauty, pharmacy, post, atms, shopping, art galleries, bakeries, tennis centre, hire bicycles, hire car, train, tram, video hire, $2 shop, yoga..... and MORE! My place is EXTREMELY close to Swan St (the first house!).

Free wifi (large download limit)
Help yourself to tea/coffee (I have many types of herbal teas)
Room in fridge & cupboards if required
Possibility to add extra closet in room if needed :)
Dodgy hairdryer if you are desperate for one!
Washing machine, dryer, clothes rack, and iron are available

There is parking out the front of my house! I have a spare parking permit (these are like gold in Richmond)!

Easy walk to: Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena, Olympic Park, The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground), the City, National Sports Museum, The Botanical Gardens, Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Federation Square, The Conservatory, Government House and more!

Please write to me telling me a little about yourself and your plans BEFORE putting in a booking request.

I look forward to hearing from you :)

Guest Access

Bathroom is shared but I rarely shower at home as I shower at work at least once per day!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $434 /week
Cleaning Fee: $10
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I stayed with Lissy when I first moved Melbourne. It was my first time using airbnb and everything worked out perfectly. Lissys house is clean, quiet and tidy and Lissy is a very considerate and warm host.

    March 2014
  • I stayed at Lissys place for one week and it worked out perfect.
    The house is located very centrally so it was easy to acess the whole city without too much hassle.
    The neighborhood Richmond is good, there are plenty of bars and cafes within a short walk.

    March 2014
  • Lissy's home is well located right in the heart of Richmond we so many restaurants within a block. The tram stops just around corner also which means you have easy access to all Melbourne has to offer. The house is located an easy walk into the city and south bank along the river.

    The room was large and spacious sand there is no doubt funky inner city is the right tag for this one.

    February 2014
  • Lissy is a lovely host. The room is clean and comfortable. Everything i needed was there. House is in a great location seconds from swan st, shops restaurants, cafes, coles and trams. Would def stay again.

    February 2014
  • Lissy is a lovely host and very accommodating with a great smile and personality to match. We never spent allot of time in each other's company but the times we met up there were quality conversations.

    Very lovely bedroom, great position and space (they are doing construction work across the street and if you want to sleep in past 7am mon-sat it might be an issue)

    Thanks you Lisssy and wolfie the dog

    February 2014
  • Lissy and her little dog Woof, were fun and inviting hosts. Her home in Richmond is very central, but still suburban. Wendy and I highly recommend.

    February 2014
  • Great place, very close to the Rod Laver Arena! Definately reccomended.

    January 2014
  • Lissy's place was fantastic! Couldn't have asked for a better location! Tram to the CBD right outside her doorstep, and lots of shops and cafés right nearby. The bedroom was spacious and lots of space in the kitchen and lounge too. Lissy herself was very friendly and welcoming! Lissy's dog Wolf was super friendly as well! If I'm ever back in Melbourne I'll definitely be staying here again!

    January 2014
  • I had a great stay at Lissy's house recently. Lissy was away but her friend Darby was staying at the house and was very helpful. Although we only ran into each other briefly a few times, she sent me a couple of messages to make sure I was settling in. The house is very cosy and felt like home right away. It's in a great location with the tram stop almost immediately out the front door and a train station a short walk away. A supermarket, bottleshop and so many food places are just around the corner. It was a great location for me as I was attending the Australian Open tennis which was so easy to get to by tram (or you could walk there in 10 minutes, if that), and getting to the city is also a breeze. I had a great time and would definitely recommend Lissy's place to others.

    January 2014
  • Great house, great location.

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$72
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 130 times
School
University of Queensland, University of California, Berkeley, Victorian College of the Arts, Bikram Yoga College of India, University of Melbourne
Work
Bikram Yoga Teacher, Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School, The Brisbane Club, University of Queensland, Child and Youth Mental Health, Mirikai - Gold Coast Drug Council
About
Lissy was born in outback australia, daughter of two lovely lesbians, but taken at birth by a pack of dingoes who raised her as their own. At the age of 3, she was rescued by a couple of alcoholic nuns who fed her a diet consisting only of strawberries and cream which turned her skin white and hair bright red. At age 10 Lissy ran away to the circus where she learnt music from resident dwarfs and developed a love for cheesy tunes. Her future ambitions include becoming the first female composer to write variations on the macarena... oh, and she wants to change the world. But seriously, she's a Bikram yoga instructor and musical composer by trade; humanitarian animal lover by nature. Her friends describe her as genuine, considerate, reliable, immaculately clean, arty and with just the right amount of quirk. Her pint-sized partner, Wolfie, will give you a musical greeting when you arrive, but you'll soon discover that he's friendly and impossibly adorable.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings