Breathtaking Shoreditch Penthouse

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Waterson Street, Greater London, E2, United Kingdom

You are renting a private high-spec, stylishly decorated, penthouse in the heart of trendy Shoreditch/Hoxton. With the most gorgeous, floor to ceiling view of the London skyline - as well as a massive rooftop terrace.

The Space

You are renting a private high-spec, stylishly decorated, penthouse in the heart of trendy Shoreditch/Hoxton perfect for business travellers or a small group of 2 to 5 persons. With the most gorgeous, floor to ceiling view of the London skyline - as well as a massive rooftop terrace.

Guest Access

==========================
*Incomparable view
*Huge terrace
*Two comfortable bedrooms and 1 sleeper couch
*Towels & bedding included
*Free coffee & tea
*Free Wi-Fi access
*Ironing board, hairdryer
*Natural light
*Safe location
*Close to overground rail
*Many amenities nearby
*Stylish furniture & art

The flat has two bedrooms, one bath, large and stylish communal space with comfy sectional couch, and projector to watch movies on a night in, an incomparable view of East London, with contemporary art throughout.

I've lived in London for 4 years and I firmly believe this is the best part of the city, near great cafes, restaurants, art-galleries, countless watering holes and even the world's very first 'pop-up' mall!

Thanks for your interest! Hope to make your stay a great one!

Interaction with Guests

I am a Canadian artist and I love this city and I want you to also, so please ask if I can do anything to answer your questions or make your transition into London simpler. All I ask is for respect and courtesy in the flat!
The flat is yours alone for the entirety of your stay.

The Neighborhood

However don't forget to explore our area: including the park and art galleries in green Hoxton Square, charming Columbia Road Flower Market, the Indian restaurants and bohemian vibe of Brick Lane, and the classy, chic Spitalfields market. Also nearby is 'Pho Mile' which has no less than 12 budget and delicious Vietnamese Restaurants. Other nearby restaurants include Jamie Olivers, Beagle Hoxton, St Johns Bread, etc.

Getting around

Located between Hackney, Islington, and the financial district known as 'City', it is a very well located flat, about a 10minute walk to Old Street Tube station, 15 minutes to Liverpool Street Tube station. 1 minute walk to Hoxton overground station and 5 minutes to Shoreditch Overground station. Countless buses right outside the door will take you to almost anywhere in London - including St.Pauls (10mins), Soho (20 mins), Oxford Street (20 mins), London Bridge (10 mins), Stratford (15mins), even Canary Wharf (20 mins) etc...

Other Things to Note

Please inquire about my other property https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/2395840

Experience: Romantic
Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $26 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $778
Cleaning Fee: $33
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Andrew was a spectacular host and his flat felt like a home away from home in the bustling Shoreditch area. Conveniently located to everything one could need - tube stop, Box Park, an adorable grocery store, etc., we had a great time. He was responsive and helpful - a simply fantastic host. Look forward to returning on my next visit to London.

    April 2014
  • Andrew had a great place in one of the trendiest places in town; Shoreditch. Highly recommended. Andrew himself is very easy to deal with.

    March 2014
  • Our stay at Andrew's place was great! We spent 5 wonderful days in this comfy place with a great view in the very nice neighbourhood of Shoreditch. The apartment is exactly as it appears on the pictures. Even if the overground train is passing by really close, it's not disturbing and the place is quiet.
    Great penthouse belonging to a talented artist.
    Christophe, Sandrine & Jonathon.

    March 2014
  • Definitely recommended. This flat is exactly as advertised and is just about perfect. And you're steps away from the hottest district in London. So it's a decision whether to take advantage of the floor to ceiling view, hang out on the terrace, or see what's going on down at street level.

    Andrew is super nice and super quick to respond. After asking me if I could wait 5 minutes he appeared less than a minute later. "I didn't want to make you wait" he said.

    The place is clean and nicely apportioned. Totally agree with the other positive reviews here. One of the nicer AirBnB's I've stayed in, and definitely one of the nicer people.

    If you're coming to London, stay here. The only downside is that once word gets out about Andrew's flat, it will be hard to book. ;-)

    March 2014
  • I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Andrew's flat. It was beautiful, very clean and tidy and everything in the flat was as advertised. Andrew was very accommodating and I would highly recommend anyone visiting London to stay at Andrew's beautiful apartment. I will be back to London later this year and already booked for a second stay. Thank you once again for allowing me to stay in your fantastic apartment!

    February 2014
  • Andrew was a great host. The apartment is just as pictured, the bed is comfortable, and the city view is stunning. I stayed for just over two weeks and the flat had everything I could need. I had no issues with the washer (although as with most combo washer / dryers, you'll likely need to give your clothes some time to dry on their own), and the space heaters warmed the place up in minutes! In the summer, I would have spent a lot of time on that roof deck. The location is great, within a few minutes walk of so many top restaurants, bars, shops, around the corner from Columbia Rd Flower Market and down the street from Old Spitalfields and BoxPark. Shoreditch has everything, and it is an easy bus/train/tube ride to any other neighborhood that you want to check out.

    Andrew was great - friendly, easy to get ahold of, and I really enjoyed getting to know him. The restaurant recommendations he gave me were spot on as well!

    Would happily stay here again!

    February 2014
  • Andrew's flat is clean and set out as listed. However, we experienced several issues which I will detail below. 1. Andrew's flat has 2 locks but you only get the key to one of them. Be sure to ask for the alphanumeric lock code (not provided) in advance so you avoid being locked out (if accidentally triggered, the key alone will not open the door) like my friend and I did for well over an hour while we waited for Andrew to get in touch - he didn't answer his cell but eventually texted us back. If we hadn’t had our airbnb contact info on us, this could have been disastrous. We did not appreciate waiting in the rain and cold – there are signs on the front door of the flat warning neighbors not to let in strangers due to “unfortunate incidents” in the building – most likely violent mugging. NOT happy. 2. we needed to make special inquiry about the heating system and amenities like hair dryers as no info was provided. Spent a very cold night and morning before we were told about the space heaters! 3. Washer dryer is listed as an amenity but there is a large sign on the door asking guests to make sure not to use it or the dishwasher as "neither works" - this was clearly untrue at least of the washing machine as the cleaner had obviously used it to wash sheets before our arrival (left hanging wet over the door). 4. TV not listed as an amenity but shown in pictures - note that this host chooses to disconnect the TV box and keep under his bed so you can look at the nice large TV but not use it. 5. We were polite guests and spent considerable time washing dishes and cleaning out the flat before leaving. As we had cooked we left behind nice assortment of free spices, jams, condiments, etc. We neglected to carry down a bag of recyclable bottles – BIG mistake. A week after checking out, got a series of very surprising emails from the host accusing me of throwing a party at his flat. Luckily he’d already released my security deposit or I could have faced docking of fees. He claims he would not have docked my security deposit but since he was willing to accept his cleaner’s word that I held a party without checking for himself, I am not sure of this. I asked for photo evidence and he did not reply to this, although he did tell me to “chill out” when I objected to his accusations. He ended with a series of emails written in all caps which really did not speak well for his professionalism. Did not appreciate this host’s approach to Airbnb, and would not stay again. Be sure to photograph this flat before vacating, if you rent, to avoid any ridiculous claims after- the-fact that you have had a party and left “huge bags of liquor...

    February 2014
    Andrew
    Response from Andrew:

    Victoria is clearly an unhappy guest and wrote me a string of aggressive, accusatory emails in which she flung insults and became very rude. Her above review is littered with inaccuracies: I never once planned on keeping any part of her deposit and simply wrote to tell her that my trusted cleaner told me (for the first time in 2 years) that she was certain the guest had a party. I raised this with Victoria and she sort of 'lost it', assuring me that she was going to write a good review, but that now she wouldn't to get back at me. I can't understand truthfully what provoked her anger or her behaviour.
    There is no TV, the pictures do not show a TV. The TV she refers to was just given to us and has not yet been hooked up. (If you see a TV in the photos, its because I had the apartment rephotographed after Victoria's stay)
    It is not difficult to see that there are space heaters in every room, which are there because they function better than the central heating system (this is London, heating buildings isn't our forte, so these are a bonus!)
    3. Washer works. Dryer doesn't work well. There is no 'large sign' over the washer/dryer. That's just fabricated.
    4. Lastly, my "all caps" email to Victoria simply stated, (after she went on about her deposit for the umpteenth time) that I was "NEVER PLANNING ON KEEPING HER` DEPOSIT" but rather wanted to raise to her attention that I was disappointed after I had been so accommodating to her and her party, which changed guests not once, but three times.

    The greatest irony of this review is that I gave Victoria a good review (because, despite her emails telling me that I'm "a bad person", I'm not such a bad guy) and she wouldn't have even written a review whatsoever unless my email re: her party had so 'enraged' her.

    Anyway, I urge you to read the other reviews, because after 2 years as a host, Victoria and Guillaume are the only 2 negative reviews I have incurred.

  • Simply read the comment below by Victoria, it sums up, in all 5 points, our experience in Andrew's flat. He went even further by trying to claim extra £45 from our deposit for the cleaner to simply give us the numeric PIN to his door lock. His excuse being: "the other option is a locksmith which costs upwards £200."

    I highly recommend Shoreditch though, but not with such host. A bad souvenir from London.

    January 2014
    Andrew
    Response from Andrew:

    Guillaume was a fine guest. However, despite the inaccuracies of this review, I'm going to clarify why he is leaving me my only other bad review in 2 years of hosting. Guillaume locked himself out of the flat. This incurred me a cost of £50 to pay my cleaner to come down, let him in, and return herself to work within 1 hour.

    A locksmith DOES cost £200 in London. I know from experience, unfortunately. And when I lost my key to my AirBnB in Prague, I was charged £100. So I actually think that charging £45 in London is quite reasonable....

    However, Guillaume thinks that his time and money is worth more than my own. So despite getting everything organized from my own holiday in Cape Town within 1hr, and without any hassle whatsoever, to get him back into the flat I actually find his actions embarrassing. I tried amicably to resolve this and ask him for the funds that he owed me. He stopped responding, nothing for 2 weeks. So despite my better intentions, I was forced to leave a negative review on his wall.

    His review above, written out of spite. Its childish, but a reality. I hope you can look past this poor review and read the legions of positive reviews below, which accurately reflect the flat.

  • Andrew's apartment was great. We stayed here during the New Year's break. It is well located to different forms of public transportation - the overground is right around the corner, Liverpool Underground station is just a 15 minute walk away, and it is very accessible by bus.

    We love the Shoreditch/Hoxton area - it is full of awesome cafes, bars, and restaurants (and that's exactly the type of tourists we are). Andrew left us a great list of restaurants to try out.

    The apartment itself was spacious and had a really spectacular view. The art around the apartment is lovely. There were a few issues with the cleanliness of the apartment, but Andrew was great with communicating with us and figuring things out.

    We would stay here again. Thank you so much for everything, Andrew!

    January 2014
  • Absolutely beautiful apartment with amazing views! Great location and a wonderful place to recharge. Plus, Andrew provided a comprehensive list of restaurants in the area, which was invaluable.

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$344
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 430 times
School
Dr. Martin LeBoldus High School, Chelsea College of Art and Design
Work
Artist
About
I am a Canadian artist who has lived in London for 6 years. I operate 2 flats in the Shoreditch area of London. I am a fun-loving professional, respectful of others and always eager to enjoy the better things London has to offer: art, music, food, travel and meeting new people!
View full profile
Response Rate
95%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
5 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings