Large Room in Bright & Cosy Flat

Apartment - Private room · Edina Pl, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 5, United Kingdom

The Space

Our flat is part of a typical Edinburgh tenement, close to the capital's main attractions in a bustling area in the east of the city. It makes an excellent base for weekend shopping trips, Edinburgh festivals & new year / hogmanay breaks.

There's a Scotmid supermarket, many bakeries (I recommend The Manna House Bakery) and other shops adjacent to the flat.

Nearby attractions (within 15 minutes walking time):

Holyrood Palace & Park, Canongate (Royal Mile), Omni Centre, Scottish National Portrait Gallery, Princes Street (East), George Street (East) & the Old Town.

Within 30mins walking time:

Edinburgh Castle, National Museum of Scotland, Princes Street (West), George Street (West) and Royal Botanic Garden.

Many other shops, cafes, bars, galleries & museums are also within easy reach and Waverley train station is a 20min walk / 5min bus away.

The double bedroom is large (over 180 sq feet / 16.7 sq metres), plus there's a walk-in wardrobe offering lots of storage space. A fold-out single guest bed can accommodate a third person in this room if needed. The bathroom and kitchen are shared.

The flat is situated on the 1st floor of a traditional tenement building (no lift) and has been tastefully modernised, but retains many period features. There's free wireless internet and towels & sheets will be provided at no extra charge.

Transport links are great. Parking on our street is free (a rare thing in Edinburgh!), there's an airport bus that stops on Easter Road, right next to the flat and Edinburgh Waverley train station is 20 mins walk away, or 5 mins by bus / taxi. A taxi from Edinburgh airport costs approx. £25 and a taxi from the train station costs around £7 in busy traffic.

Rachael works as a digital project manager at a creative agency in Edinburgh and Ricky works for a film production company. We're easy-going, tidy, sociable, big music fans and love meeting new people.

Prices are for use of the double room, sharing the rest of the flat with us. I have a second listing on Airbnb for the entire flat. Please get in touch to find out more.

It would be nice if you could have your profile filled out before you make a reservation with us.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $17 / night after the first guest
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Rachael and Ricky were perfect hosts; we were warmly welcomed, provided with an excellent 'starter pack' and left to our own devices. The room was bright and spacious, exactly as pictured, and the flat was comfortable and very homely. Only 15 mins walk to the centre of town, free on-street parking and amazing fish & chips on the corner were the icing on the cake. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to all.

    April 2014
  • This was my first Scotland experience and the accommodation could not have been better! The location is incredible and you can easily walk to most of the central places. Rachael was also kind enough to let me keep the key to her place, as I was returning again a few days later and she made sure that everything was as convenient as possible for my return. And she was very helpful with little Edinburgh insights!

    September 2013
  • Great room and very central! Racheal was very helpful with maps and places to eat, drink and be merry:) lovely comfortable bed and very nice and tidy house. I would love to stay again if i ever come back to edinburgh!! Very cool city:)

    June 2013
  • Rachael Rachael is one of those truly sweet women who try to make sure your visit goes well. I spoke to her through the email section on the AirBnB site. Before we left San Francisco, she made sure we knew about the fireworks display that would be occurring the last day of the Edinburgh Festival. With her advanced advice, we booked two tickets to the Garden section, and had a spectacular view of the fireworks. Honestly, the best fireworks I have ever seen. Rachael’s place is considered in “New Town” which is still pretty old. She has the coolest wooden floors and creak with the best of them. She welcomed us, gave us a tour, and invited us to eat what we could find in the kitchen. There wasn’t much, and we did have to buy some milk for our breakfasts (I don’t think the Europeans can estimate how much milk we Americans can drink), but there was cereal, eggs, and some delicious bread to toast. The kitchen and bathroom are small, as is the way in both Old and New Town, but nice. The living room and bedroom were large. Rachael is an artist of sorts and very social, so she wasn’t home all the time. Many evenings we had the flat to ourselves. The restaurants around her place aren’t that great, but her flat is close(ish) to the center, where you will find good eateries. My friend could not comfortably make the walk to the center, so we took bus 35 into town and bus 5 back to the flat. Here’s how you do that. You walk out of her place on Edina and taka a short 30 foot walk to Easter Rod. You then turn left and walk down about 3 minutes to the bus stop that shows bust 35. To get home again, you walk to Leath (about 10 minute walk from High Street) and go to the second (I think) bus stop that shows bus 5. The bus trip is only about 8 minutes. I think her place is about 1.5 miles from High Street (which is another name for the Royal Mile). I could have walked it in about 30 minutes. Rachael let us use her washing machine, with a little bit of advanced notice. She also gave us a hair blower. Being two single girls, we didn’t want to share the really comfortable (not too soft) double bed, so Rachael pulled out a fold up bed, that was also very comfortable. The building was quiet (no noise from outside) except for people walking up and down the stairs – but honestly, it wasn’t that loud and never woke us up or kept us up. We brought with up both an IPad and an IPhone, so we needed WiFi. It was funny, the Wifi was not good in the bedroom, but incredibly fast in both the kitchen and the living room. We chalked it up to the ghost in the bedroom who obviously wasn’t...

    September 2012
  • Great apartment. Great room. Great stay. If there was one thing, the room isn't the quietest - located right next to the stairwell - can be a little noisy in the morning with people coming and going.

    August 2012
  • Rachael's flat is very nice and the room is huge ! We also enjoyed very nice breakfasts at the bakery which she recommended and we had a very pleasant stay. However, the walk to reach the castle is rather 30 min than 15 min. Rachael's flat is close from Hollyrood Castle.

    August 2012
  • The room it's really large and clean room! The appartment it's nice: the living room is comfortable to relax on sofà and chatting with Rachael, a lovely girl! The kitchen has all the necessary and the bath it's ok. The wifi it's ok even if in the room sometimes it's not the best. The building it's a little bit old and not really clean and the location it's far from the centre on foot (about 30 minutes) but there are a lot of bus station near the flat. If you want some suggests for Edimburgh, ask to Rachael: she advised us some cafè and restaurant really nice!! If you don't mind for the distance from the city centre, choose this flat because it's clean and the host it's really adorable!!

    August 2012
  • great time in edinburgh and at rachael's place ! :)

    August 2012
  • We had a great stay at Rachael's flat. She has a beautiful, cosy and clean home in a very good area nearby the centre of Edinburgh. Rachael was a very helpful and placable. We felt very freely at her home. I truly recommend it!

    July 2012
  • Rachael's flat was amazing - she really should not advertize it as small, it is anything but!! Everything was perfect, she waited for us even though we arrived close to midnight, and then when we left she was happy to let us have a late check-out. The room was beautiful, and she has great taste in decorating and making things really cozy. Rachael is a really lovely person and she had everything we needed. The area is very trendy, there are a couple of nice cafes and pubs around, and it's only a short walk from the main attractions. The walk from Waverly station to her flat was breathtaking, with Arthur's seat towering over everything. I highly recommend Rachael's flat, it's a gem!

    July 2012
Per Month
From
$61
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 156 times
Work
Digital Marketing & Web Development
About
I work as a digital producer in Edinburgh city centre & my fiancé Ricky works for a film company. We love music, food, travel and socialising with friends. We've been hosts on airbnb for over three years now & enjoy being part of the community; we've met some wonderful people and look forward to welcoming many more. If you have a place available for rent and would consider a simultaneous, or non-simultaneous swap for a reduced rate via airbnb let us know.
View full profile
Response Rate
94%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings