Comfy Renovated 1905 3BR home .9 Mi to KU & DT

Entire bungalow hosted by Marie-Alice

  1. 4 guests
  2. 3 bedrooms
  3. 3 beds
  4. 1.5 baths
Entire home
You’ll have the bungalow to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This Host committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the keypad.
Great check-in experience
95% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
3BR 1.5 bath in a 1905 house, oak floors throughout /(bamboo in kitchen), state of art kitchen, quiet brick street in Old East side, sleeps 5 in 3 beds in 3 rooms on sedond floor with a single full tub-shower bathroom. Yard & exterior of house are works in progress. I just started using instant booking b/c I live here during the week during the school year & prefer to rent mostly weekends. I blocked most weekdays but am flexible. So just ask..I respond quickly.

The space
I don't recommend the house for small children only because there is a small backyard fish pond that is 2'-3' deep... unfenced, surrounded by rocks, and might be a danger to children and pets.

We renovated the kitchen (Fall 2014) with details on exterior left). It is fully equipped with gas stove/oven, microwave, fridge with icemaker (inside not in door), a double Farmer's SS sink, and a dishwasher See photos. DO NOT LINE OVEN WITH ALUMINUM FOIL-- IT WILL MELT AND BE PERMANENT. The downstairs half bath has an efficient stacked LG European-style washer and dryer and detergent provided...please ONLY HE detergent (provided). Upstairs bath has full tub and shower, hair dryer, curling iron, and a variety of shampoos, conditioners and soaps. Please do not use hair dryer with heat lamp, it will trip the fuse...simply reset fuse by pushing on button on dryer or outlet. (I don't use the dryer or curling iron so if it is not working, please let me know! Iron and ironing board always ready to use.

AT&T Uverse high speed wifi connection. Sorry, No Phone, very limited TV (can't even get local TV) but some channels work. We have Netflix and Amazon Prime. When requesting to stay please let us know a little about who you are and why you are coming to Lawrence...We rent it out because we believe in peer-to-peer connections and use AirBNB whenever we travel.

The House has central heat and air-conditioning. The house is fully insulated, but the windows except for the kitchen are older. The downstairs stays cool even in the extreme heat (but warm in the winter). The upstairs gets warmer in extreme heat conditions (upper F 90s in daytime). There are floor fans in the bedrooms and an additional window AC in the SW corner room and you can set the AC to 68F and the upstairs is usually fine. I've only had one complaint from guests since 2012.

Downstairs: large living/dining room and smaller adjacent sitting room, renovated kitchen, laundry and half bath (small office to left of stair is off limits). We have also allowed pets and are open to them...but they need to be supervised since pets react differently to strange contexts, so we ask that you clear it with us first and not leave them free ranging and unsupervised when you are not there.

As you will find if you are new to AirBNB...once you reserve a place, AirBNB will offer you the opportunity to rent out your own shared room, private room, or whole house...whatever works...that is what happened to April 2012. So join the community, meet great people (be great people) and enjoy!

Where you'll sleep

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed

What this place offers

Free parking on premises
Pets allowed
Air conditioning
Private patio or balcony

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Add date
Add date

4.87 out of 5 stars from 279 reviews


Where you’ll be

Lawrence, Kansas, United States

Lawrence is a small university town of 98,000 people on about 34 square miles that was founded in 1854. The Old East Lawrence neighborhood where I live is, is tree-lined, with many brick streets (like mine) and is quiet, safe, and mostly filled with older modest single-family homes in various stages of aging. Our neighborhood is not into manicured yards, we like to promote diversity and access to a variety of people, family structures, and wild creatures (rabbits, squirrels, possums, mice, raccoons, and even a fox inhabit the neighborhood). Plenty of parking in the drive and on the street in front of the house. There is an unpaved back alley where the trash and recycling are located (early Wed. AM pickup weekly for trash; biweekly for recycling (blue container)--recycle most every clean recyclable item (in red plastic receptacle in laundry room) EXCEPT plastic bags. An excellent grocery store (renovated in August 2012) is an easy bike ride away (about 5 blocks) Dillons, at the corner of 17th and NH/MASS. I use Checkers a local grocery at 23rd and Louisiana and have a community garden plot two lots to the north of the house...with rhubarb, tomatoes, lettuce, beets, herbs etc. that I am happy to share with you in season. The university is very close (only .9 mile to the major conference space/Jayhawk Blvd) but the last .2 mile is up a VERY steep hill. Downtown is about as far, and with no hills.

Hosted by Marie-Alice

  1. Joined in April 2012
  • 279 Reviews
  • Identity verified
I teach architecture and urban studies at KU. I am a Maine native, married to a 5th generation Lawrencian and we both received our doctorates from UC Berkeley. Rex in zoology (1973) and me in architecture (2002). I/we use airbnb when we travel (from Moscow, Russia, to Canada and all over the US) and want to accommodate people like ourselves--open, advernturesome, and environmentally aware.
I teach architecture and urban studies at KU. I am a Maine native, married to a 5th generation Lawrencian and we both received our doctorates from UC Berkeley. Rex in zoology (1973…


  • Hannah

During your stay

I mostly leave my guests to themselves but am happy to interact, give advice etc. if desired. When I have guests, I stay at our country house. I live in town mostly during the school year when I am teaching. So I am more open to longer and weekday stays in summer than during the school year, but over time, I have become more open to longer school-time stays it really depends on my teaching schedule. Just ask.

The garage houses my bike and a friend has a workshop set up in there, but only comes and goes from the alley side. The pond seems to need constant attention these days (filter cleaned) so we do takes less than 5 minutes.
I mostly leave my guests to themselves but am happy to interact, give advice etc. if desired. When I have guests, I stay at our country house. I live in town mostly during the sc…
  • Languages: English, Suomi, Français, Русский
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within a few hours
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: Flexible
Checkout: 12:00 PM
Self check-in with keypad
Not suitable for children and infants
No smoking
No parties or events
Pets are allowed

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm

Cancellation policy