Careful renovation retaining ancient wooden door frames and windowsDaybed is ideal for lazy days reading, drinking tea or watching a movie

Entire home/apt

5 Guests

2 Bedrooms

3 Beds

Entire home/apt

5 Guests

2 Bedrooms

3 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Looking for a quirky & stylish place to stay in Essaouira? Look no further! Dar Moulay is safe and fun and offers great value for money. The apartment's central location, yet quiet, sun drenched charming interior make it an ideal vacation hideout.

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Check In: 2PM - 7PM
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $23
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more


The space

Dar Moulay is located in what is considered by some historians as the oldest building of Essaouira's UNESCO world heritage medina. The Jewish origin of the building and the apartment is apparent through large outward facing windows and typical wooden ceilings. This is the part of the old town/Medina where consulates and rich merchants used to live side by side. You are at the very centre of town, at the crossroad of the harbor, markets and residential areas. Step down and you are literally next to the main Moulay Hassan Square with it's charming cafés, bookstores and galleries. A mere 5 minutes stroll to the beach..

The apartment itself oozes charm and receives plenty of direct sunlight. The living room has a daybed/lounge area and is open to the kitchen. Bathroom and kitchen are well equipped and comfortable to use. Despite its unbeatable central location the apartment is very quiet but for the occasional call for prayer which adds a lot of atmosphere.

If you wish Mounia the house keeper can arrange a fabulous cook and fun shopping companion (€15/day).

“It’s the kind of place one first hears about in a yoga class, discussed in heated whispers between sun salutations. About 10 years ago that place might have been Tulum, Mexico, but these days it's Essaouira, a tiny white-walled port city on Morocco's Atlantic coast.” - New York Times

Guest access

Guests have of course full access to the entire apartment.

Interaction with guests

We love Essaouira and have been coming here regularly for 15 years with friends and family. Since 2010 we enjoy hosting and sharing our knowledge of the city with Airbnb guests.

The neighborhood

The Kasbah of the medina is the best area to be in as you are ver close to the main square, its cafes, galleries and antique shops yet only a 5 minute stroll away from the beach. It is quite atmospheric!

Getting around

The medina is pedestrian only (though you do cross bikes every now and again - some at high speed!) and you can walk anywhere within the city walls in 10-15 min. Little blue taxis wait at each city gate and take you around town for 7 or 8Dh (at night a little more). These are 'shared' taxis so you will be joined/joining other locals which can be quite fun.

Other things to note

Please be advised that we charge Dh100 for check-in after 7pm and until maximum 10pm. Thank you for your understanding.

House Rules
Check in time is 2PM - 7PM

Common sense rules here. Please be careful when opening the Thuya wood cupboard in the main bedroom. Feel fee to use the books but please leave them upon departure. Also, this being a muslim country, we'd appreciate if you keep the music down past 10pm.



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.

3 nights minimum stay

72 Reviews

Check In
Mathé User Profile
May 2017
What a cozy apartement right around the corner of the main square. Really loved your detailed restaurant tips, thank you. They were all spot-on! Although in the center, the apt is very quiet.
Matthias User Profile
Response from Matthias:
Thank you Mathé, it was pleasure having you stay at the apartment.
May 2017

Francesca User Profile
January 2017
Firstly - the host immediately refunded 3/4 nights when we made an application for him to do so. It is only fair to say this. I've never had a bad experience with Airbnb and have always left raving about my hosts. Not this one. The flat ruined our holiday. We arrived to the walls and inner window panes dripping with water. The hall, as another reviewer says, smells very strongly of damp/mildew, as did the flat. There is mould all over the walls in the bathroom. It was very, very cold in the flat. A single freestanding heater was provided to heat the flat - but it had no gas canister in it. Neither did the camping/cooking stove gas canister. The sheets were WET. I'm not kidding, both the beds had been made with wet sheets. I sat on them in my trousers, stood up and there was a wet patch on my seat. As I say, there was also no gas canister in the camping stove so we could not even heat some water to make a warming drink (we'd been travelling 12 hrs). There was no way to make dinner (we had carried dry pasta with us), or to try and dry the sheets. When we complained, the housekeeper blamed the host - then the host blamed the housekeeper. And added very annoyingly that the previous guest had complained of the same things. So we didn't need to have this experience. After a night in wet sheets, in a damp, very cold flat we both coughed all night and got no sleep. The host replied promptly and the housekeeper brought a canister the next days that didn't work. We had to spend most of the next day of our short holiday tramping around to find a hotel. At such short notice a hotel was very expensive. We spent 4 times our budget for accommodation, we've had to put it on our credit card. This tainted the rest of the holiday while we spent money on food we didn't have (because we had expected to save by self catering), and on a hotel we couldn't afford. Even had we not found the conditions in the flat uninhabitable, I would say the host misleads with regard to self catering. All that is available in this tiny 'kitchen' are two camping stove rings attached to a gas canister (which was empty when we arrived), and a fridge that looks like it's been sourced from a war zone (though clean inside). It's not stocked with sufficient implements for cooking. The host's excuse that Essaouria is a 'damp town' was particularly galling. We lived by the sea ourselves, and yes, if you don't air or heat a property by the sea it gets very damp, but that is not about the town being damp, it is about you not taking care of your property. If Essaouria was simply a damp town our hotel room would have had the same problems (it emphatically didn't...

Lieke User Profile
August 2016
Very charming apartment on the best location ever! With its stylish interior and 2 bedrooms it's everything you need. The ginger café in front of the apartment is very good for breakfast/lunch/coffee and WIFI. Communication with Matthias was good and quick; he did everything he could to make our last-minute booking a success. One disadvantage: it's an old building with a lot of damp inside. I think because we stayed here in summertime it's the worst (high temperatures outside & no heating inside equals condensation), but with windows open it was fine. Overall: nice place to stay!

Raquel User Profile
July 2016
Spent a week in Matthias' apartment during Ramadan, it was a wonderful apartment to stay in in the middle of the Medina superb location. Felt comfortable and safe in the beautifully furnished apartment.

Edwin User Profile
June 2016
Glad to be back at this quiet and spacious apartment. Our visit was during Ramadan, so a great place ideally located to retreat to, for lunch and refreshments, not to offend those fasting. The traditionally furnished main room is flooded with sunlight but cool enough to enjoy. the bathroom good and kitchenette functional. A place to relax.

Adil User Profile
May 2016
Mathias's apartment is perfecty located (just behind the main square) and, in spite that have no terrace, it is very sunny. The reading corner is a pure happiness ... Everything else is well appointed and tastefully decorated. It was a very pleasant stay for us, in the Gnawa festival, great atmosphere in Essaouira, it was magical. I warmly thank the owners for helping us make an unforgettable stay in Essaouira.

Grace User Profile
May 2016
We loved our time in Matthias' apartment. Its in the perfect location just as the description says. The apartment is decorated so nicely and has such a homely feel. The shower is good and bathroom in general clean and spacious; kitchen small but totally adequate; the dining and sitting area gets great light during the day and the plants add a really nice edge to the place. The new ginger cafe outside the apartment opened the day we arrived and it is run by this great english guy who lets you use the wifi. There is little you can dislike about Essaouira but having a home like this to return to every night makes it all the better!

This host has 49 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Barcelona, Spain · Joined in July 2010
Matthias User Profile

Noelia is Spanish, Matthias Austrian, we work in marketing/innovation and live in Barcelona with our son Leon. We are avid travelers and enjoy seeing life from as many perspectives as possible. We love to share our enthusiasm for Barcelona (and Spain in general) with friends and visitors. No matter what your background and interests (the more eclectic the better ;)), we love to make sure you get the most our of your stay.
We also own a fantastic apartment in the old town of Essaouira, Morocco (a UNESCO World Heritage site) where we love to step back in time, read, cook and play with wind and waves.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.