Sofa (also comfy!)Mini kitchen with fridge and microwave
Huge double bedroom with en-suite

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Lovely, light and airy room on the second floor of our Victorian town house. The accommodation provides total privacy for guests with en-suite shower room, fridge, microwave, dishes, cutlery and tea/coffee making facilities. The price shown is for the room with one or two guests and I do not provide food. There are several breakfast cafes within 2 minutes walk and we are surrounded by all sorts of different types of restaurant, pubs and takeaways which serve meals at very reasonable prices.

The space

Huge double bedroom with en-suite

We have a very attractive, light and airy bedroom in the attic of our Victorian House in Swansea, Wales. The room has lots of character, with wooden floors and exposed beams. It is a self-contained floor. Guests enter through the front door and go straight up the stairs to the room, which gives a considerable degree of privacy, peace and comfort. The room is for one or two adults only and we have no facilities for babies or children.

The room has a kingsize bed, sofa, TV, microwave, kettle, fridge and tea and coffee. There are four, inexpensive breakfast cafes within 2 minutes walk. (Sorry I don't do breakfast) There is an ensuite shower room and excellent Wifi. Bedlinen and towels are provided. Central heating.

On road parking if you have a car, or public transport two minutes away if you don't. As this is a city centre location there are some parking restrictions on St. Helens Avenue. There is, however, also plenty of unrestricted parking in our street so you will not have a problem finding a space.

Location

We are in a great location within walking distance of all Swansea's amenities, including the University. The area is home to many students in term time. It is a young, vibrant and very safe and friendly part of Swansea but don't expect posh or swanky!! It is 5 minute walk to the beautiful, sandy beach and 10 minutes to the town centre. It's a 10 minute drive or bus ride to the Gower peninsula and some of the UK's best surfing beaches. It is a 2 minute walk to bars and restaurants: where you can get everything from a full Welsh breakfast to a Chinese, Indian, French or Middle Eastern dinner. There is a really good theatre 10 minutes walk. There is a water sports centre on the beach where you can learn kite surfing and paddle boarding. We are 1 minute from Wales's best ice cream parlour - Joe's - and fish and chips and pizza take aways.

We are about 15 minutes walk from Swansea Leisure Centre and the Marina and this is another area where there are plenty of cafes and bars and also the Dylan Thomas Theatre. This is also the site of the National Waterfront Museum.. There is a Boating Lake on the seafront and Crazy Golf. There are cycle paths along the seafront (National Cycle Path 43 on the seafront is a 5 minute walk) and you can hire a bike 2 minutes walk from our front door. We are also on the Wales coastal path, which now goes right around the country. There is also the lovely Singleton Park with it's ornamental gardens. We are 3 miles from the seaside resort of Mumbles - a bus ride away, but it's also possible to walk there, along the sea front. There is a bus stop just round the corner with buses to Gower peninsula, the hospital and the university.

Guest access

Guests have their own bed-sitting room and en-suite shower. There are also cups, bowls, plates and cutlery, a fridge, microwave and kettle in case you don't want to eat out all the time. The room does not come with full kitchen facilities but there is a launderette in the next road if you need to do some washing.

Interaction with guests

Guests in our home have complete privacy. We are very happy to chat if our visitors want to talk to us but, if they do not, then we don't mind a bit!

Other things to note

We have two dogs called Billy and Barney. They are quite large but very quiet, polite and well behaved. They never enter our guest bedroom. They do, however, live in the house and at some point guests are likely to bump into them snoozing in the communal hallway! If this is culturally unacceptable or you are uncomfortable with this in any way, you might not enjoy our home!.
Please note that this is an ATTIC room and is, therefore, on the second floor, up four flights of stairs!!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 2PM - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 50 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 10PM

The room accommodates one or two ADULTS only. This means we do not take children or babies (not even yours!)
Our kitchen is home to our dogs and we shut them in there when we go out. This means that our kitchen is not available for guests' use at any time. (Your room contains fridge, microwave and plates etc. and your bathroom tap contains drinking water!)

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - We live in a three storey house and your room is the whole of the attic space.
Pet(s) live on property - 2 dogs

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

322 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Melissa User Profile
August 2017
Wonderful room and would highly recommend. We especially loved the comfy bed and did not want to get out.

Anthony User Profile
August 2017
This is a really spacious room for a couple. Compact but clean en suite. Communication from Sue was great. Good location close to shops, pubs and restaurants.

Peter User Profile
August 2017
Very clean & comfortable large self-contained room with very good en-suite with power shower. There was a selection of shampoo and lotions. 2chairs, a settee and corner computer desk/ bookcase. Sue provided a vacuum, hair drier and kettle with tea, coffee and enough milk to get started. Good microwave and nice fridge but no freezer‎ section. We took a microwave dish and 4 way electric extension which was handy. Restricted parking outside but no limits at end of road 25 metres away.

Karin User Profile
August 2017
I stayed in Sue´s place for the second time. The ensuite room is so cosy, peaceful,clean, the bed so comfortable. I can´t imagine a better place to stay in Swansea. Sue is very helpful as I arrived without suitcase and she offered me t-shirts and cosmetic articles. Both Sue and her husband are very friendly. The area is perfect, it´s a quiet street, city center, Uplands ,beach in walking distance. I am looking forward to coming again next year.

Martin User Profile
July 2017
Our stay at Sue was really great! The room was comfortable, cozy and clean. There was coffee, tea, plates, cutlery, microwave, etc. The place was amazing and we had a lovely time! Sue was a great host and we would love to stay at Sue's again!

Abbie User Profile
July 2017
The room is as described and was just what we needed for our one night stay in Swansea for our Graduation. Had to inform Sue on the day that we would arrive later than planned but this was no issue.

Monica User Profile
July 2017
The room is clean, tidy and fully-suited, which is nice to take a good rest. The host is friendly to introduce all the things to us(: However, since the room is at the roof, we are required to walk up about 2-3 floors to get into the room. Therefore, it is not recommended to the elderly(:

Swansea, United KingdomJoined in March 2012
Sue User ProfileSue is a superhost.

I'm a hypnotherapist married to a social worker both now retired. We have two well behaved dogs and do a lot of walking. We are relaxed and peaceful people who believe the best way of life is to 'live and let live'. I suppose we are sort of aging hippies...and we enjoy welcoming visitors to our home in this lovely part of the world. We like to meet people from all different countries, but you can be sure that we always respect guests' privacy!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings