Skip to content
The spare room - lovely and sunny!
**Cosy home 10 min to tube + wifi**
**Cosy home 10 min to tube + wifi**
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A lovely, cosy house in Tooting. Two good sized double bedrooms and south facing garden. 10-15 minutes to tube. Tooting is a great area to visit with lots of restaurants, cafes, local park and easy access to central London.

The space

A very comfortable and cosy house in Tooting, south west London with easy access to the centre of town on the northern line (underground train) and only 3 miles to Wimbledon, the home of the Lawn Tennis Association which you can get to by bus. I have been known to walk... check tfl website for transport details

The house has two double bedrooms. It can sleep 4 people.

The spare room is large, very light and sunny. The main bedroom is even more spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is small but light and airy, with both bath and shower. Downstairs there is a through kitchen-dining-living area. Gas hob, electric oven, large (to my mind) TV with Sky. There is a washing machine – no dryer but I have airers for inside the house and a drying line in the garden. There is also a lovely south-west facing garden, therefore sunny all afternoon and evening, with BBQ, table and chairs if people want to use these.

There is wireless internet. You can park here but there are restrictions between 10am and 11am so you would need to park around the corner for that hour, pay for a ticket there and then bring the car back round to my street after the hour. However, if you warn me I can buy some daily tickets. These cost £3.50 a day and you could reimburse me. Central London is a nightmare for parking so I wouldn't recommend driving in.

Tooting is a very vibrant multi-ethnic area with a strong South Indian influence. There are many excellent Indian restaurants, as well as other highly recommended eateries, some great pubs, a large common (park) with an outdoor swimming pool. Typical London really, very mixed.

Easy to get to the centre of London. From the house it is a 15 minute maximum (depending on the speed you walk) to the tube (underground train), then 20 minutes straight to the centre (Waterloo, London Bridge, Charing Cross). 40 minutes by tube to Stratford. 40 minutes by bus to Wimbledon (3 miles away), 15 minutes by car or you can walk in an hour.

You might want to visit nearby trendy Clapham Common where there is a lovely large park with festivals during the summer, a plethora of bars and restaurants and only 10 minutes on the tube or, on a lovely day, a 45 minute walk. Or there is Clapham Junction where, again, there are lots of bars, great places to eat, nightclubs and trendy shops.

London has so many attractions - great museums and art galleries (nearly all free), the London Eye, there is Hampton Court (home of Henry VIII) and then there is the Tower of London - only two of many amazing historical sites. There is some beautiful architecture, some fantastic shows, great open markets such as Camden, Brick Lane and Notting Hill. Then there are places like Soho for China Town and too many places to drink and eat to mention, Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus.

Me: I have been hosting on and off for nearly three years now and have really enjoyed it, although this has been mainly renting out just my spare room rather than the whole house. However, for the last two summers I have rented the whole hourse out while I house-sat somewhere else. This autumn I have been asked to house-sit again so will be renting the whole of my house out again.

I have also used airbnb and been WWOOFing (working on an organic farm in exchange for food and accommodation) during my travels in the USA and Colombia. Therefore I think I know what makes a good host. I hope that I am a friendly and helpful person who would do their best to make your stay here as comfortable and as fun as possible. I will leave lots of practical information, and will be on hand, somewhere in the nearby area if you need direct help.

London is a great place, whatever the season. Come and find out!

Please email me first, before trying to book and tell me a bit about yourself. Thanks!

Interaction with guests

I try to meet and greet but if I am away or unavailable I have a key safe outside.
If people stay 10 days or longer I arrange for someone to clean the house.

Other things to note

If you are staying more than 10 days I will arrange for either myself or my occasional cleaner to come in and change the sheets, towels and have a general tidy up during your stay. If you are staying in week blocks this will be done weekly. This will usually be done on a Wednesday or a Friday but may be altered depending on day of arrival etc. I will discuss this with you once a booking has been made.

Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Security Deposit $273
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check out by 10AM

You are welcome to use any of my herbs, spices and condiments. However, as far as more substantial foodstuffs are concerned (such as pasta, rice, butter etc) please provide your own. Feel free, however, to use the household washing up liquid. I don't mind you using the washing machine for one or two washes but if you need to do alot of washing, please provide your own powder. Please use the watersoftener tablets/liquid provided in the washing machine cupboard.

You are also welcome to use pots, pans, plates etc but please wash these up before leaving. There is a dishwasher but please do not put the non-stick pans, sharp knives or wooden utensils in this.

Please do not smoke in the house. If you must smoke, please do this in the garden, away from the back door.

No parties. This is a quiet residential area and lots of families live here.

No food or drink (except water) in the bedrooms as spillages on the carpet can be difficult to clean.

You are welcome to use the barbeque but please provide your own charcoal, available at local supermarkets.

Please don't use the antique cups and saucers. They were my grandmother's and I'd be very upset if they got broken!

Just please treat the house with respect. That's all I really ask!

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
10 nights minimum stay

19 Reviews

Check In
Meena User Profile
September 2015
Rebecca has a lovely, clean, comfortable home. The kitchen is cheery and well equipped. Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay in the home. The neighborhood is nice, ethnic and safe. Rebecca made us feel very welcome and was very responsive to any questions we had. I would highly recommend her home!

Peggy User Profile
July 2015
My husband and I stayed with our two sons for two weeks. We had a wonderful time. The house was very clean, plenty of room in closets and bureau for all our clothes. All the appliances were newer and easy to use. The garden was lovely. Quiet neighborhood and close to the tube but not too close.

Sarah User Profile
November 2014
Everything was wonderful. Rebecca checked in to make sure everything was fine. The house was perfect for our purposes. It was spotless.

Sue User Profile
November 2014
Rebecca has a wonderful house on a very quiet side street in the Tooting Broadway/Tooting Bec area. Her information sheet was comprehensive and provided all the information we needed to be comfortable in her home and in her neighborhood. Between bus, underground and overground service, we were able to get to central London without trouble in relatively short order, even with a 15-month-old grandchild in tow. We had some lovely meals at Graveney & Meadows, Honest Burger and Cafe Al-Farrah, all easy walks from the house. Rebecca was very accessible by text and email, sending two texts to be sure we knew that we could reach her and ask any questions, and promptly responded to the two, minor inquiries we had. We would definitely return to this home if we are in the area again, and recommend it without reservation.

Roy User Profile
October 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here and, again, it was perfect for our needs. Rebecca was a very good host and everything worked out very well.

Harriet User Profile
July 2017
Rebeca's home is small and cosy, but definitely had all we needed. The only thing we couldn't find was a washing basket- so we sent a message to Rebecca and she provided us with one about a hour later! A really kind and generous host. Lovely little garden, perfect for summer time. Very well stocked kitchen for utensils etc. We were very comfortable there - my partner, young daughter, and me for a 9-day stay.

Evie User Profile
June 2017
This was a great little house with a very homely feel. Rebecca was easy to communicate with and also had a great manual for guests which included information about the area (restaurants, parks, supermarkets) as well as how to get settled into the house (WiFi etc). My mother and my friends parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

London, United KingdomJoined in July 2011
Rebecca User Profile

I have been using Airbnb and hosting through the site for some years now. I love travelling and have used airbnb in the States and in Colombia (as well as in the UK).

I have done alot of hosting on and off for a while now. Initially just my spare room but for the summers of 2014 and 2015 I let my whole house while housesitting for my step mum. I will do the same later in the year when she goes away again for a couple of months.

I consider myself a very honest and trustworthy person. I am a pretty independent person. I am fairly serious minded although I enjoy a good giggle with my friends. Travelling has taught me that we don't really need very much. However, my laptop saved my sanity on occasions while I was travelling during a year out in 2011 - being able to watch a favourite film or TV programme while you are feeling lonely is a great comfort. Also being able to friends and family when you've been on your own for a while.

As a guest I think I am probably pretty flexible and don't need a place to be a Hilton. I do need it to be clean though. Mind you, I survived a month in a shed on a farm... As a host, I think I have done a fairly good job!? I have really enjoyed having people to stay with me and I have met some lovely people.I realise how important it is to be made comfortable in a new place and I hope I am welcoming and helpful. You can really make or break someone's experience so I hope I would enable someone to have a wonderful time while staying in the massive and eclectic city of London.

On this site I not only have my home (which I am not currently letting) and my partner's home as he lives with me. As I already have an account we are letting his home through my account. The reviews up until now (June 2016) refer to my home. We look forward to receiving many positive reviews about his home.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Rebecca’s place.
Aiden helps host.

The neighborhood

Similar listings