Kitchen has since been upgraded...see other pics
Beautiful Townhouse on a resort!
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Private resort townhouse, on a luxury retreat, 40 mins from Chiang Mai City, overlooking the pool.
Steps from the onsite restaurant, detox centre, and spa.
Price includes water and electricity

The space

Beautiful 1 bedroom townhouse on the world famous Pavana Resort,Chiang Mai.

PLEASE BE AWARE, THE RESORT IS ACTUALLY IN MAE RIM, WHICH IS A 40 MINUTE DRIVE FROM CHIANG MAI CITY.

The Resort is renowned for their detox, yoga and raw food retreats, amongst others, and is spread over 80,000 sq. meters of spectacular gently sloped hillside property. A veritable paradise for relaxation -- magical mango groves, lush rice paddies, exotic garden landscaping and the Spa's own organic farm. The majestic architecture is inspired by the northern Thai Lanna style rooflines.
The spa is located in gorgeous Mae Rim valley, overlooking spectacular mountains, and natural scenery.
Nearby there are tiger and elephant sanctuaries.
You can do zip lining, elephant trecking, white river rafting, hiking and many other activities nearby.

King-size bed

Upstairs bedroom with 21" TV and original Thai ceiling art

Upstairs bathroom with glass enclosed shower

Upstairs storage room with washing machine

Downstairs living room with sofa and 32" TV

Downstairs guest bathroom

Raw foods kitchen (blender, juicers, fridge)
Small hob for cooking
oven

Sleeps 1-3 persons

85 Sq. meters

Townhouse has wireless Internet is equipped with a safe and upstairs and downstairs balconies overlooking the swimming pool and landscaped gardens.

It is just a few metres away from the onsite restaurant, detox centre (where they make up all your drinks if you are doing any of the programs), and a mere stumble from the front door to the luxurious outdoor massage sala, where fully trained therapists pamper your body for as little as 10GBP ($12) per hour

The yoga sala is also just a few metres from the front door.

There is a shuttle bus service into Chiang Mai city 3 times a week, so you can hit the fantastic markets, temples, and everything else the city has to offer.

There is a personalized taxi service on site to take you into Chiang Mai City for shopping and sightseeing, and they also provide cheap airport transfers.

The townhouse is cleaned and prepared for your arrival, & there are different cleaning packages to choose from, that you pay for onsite, to the spa.
You can choose to have the villa cleaned daily, or at any interval you choose, and you can alternate between different packages.

Utilities(water and electricity) ARE INCLUDED, which is not typical for rentals on this resort.

When you rent my townhouse, you have free access to the pools, running track and outdoor gym.
All other activities, like yoga, meditation classes, massages etc are paid for at the resort, which is a separate entity to the residences

Nearest Airport : Chiang Mai at 15 Miles

This part of Thailand boasts the mildest year round temperatures and most unspoiled landscapes.
The grounds are lush and green with only 65 Rooms and Villas; tranquil living at it's finest. You can partake in the famous Detox/Weight Loss cleansing program or many types of Retreats including Weight Loss, Raw Food, and Yoga. You can also enjoy the famous "Radiance" Restaurant featuring Vegetarian, Vegan, Raw Food and Thai Healthy Cuisine from our Organic Farm.
If you just want a relaxing, tranquil break, this villa is located a right next to 1 of 2 pure water swimming pools, a beautiful serene outdoor massage sala, where you can get full body Thai massages for and the radiance restaurant which serves organic food grown on the spa's very own organic farm.
The Radiance Restaurant specializes in vegetarian, vegan and raw foods. It uses fresh fruits and vegetables from both the local village as well as the Resort's organic farm in Chiang Mai. The menu features a wide array of delicious, colorful dishes, juices and smoothies. Radiance Restaurant was hailed as one of the Top 50 Restaurants in the World by international magazine, Restaurant. The Pavana Resort was selected as one of the '10 Top Nutritionally Focused Resorts in Asia' by AsiaSpa Magazine.
Other amenities of the Resort include the Bamboo Spa with traditional Thai steam room, two Far Infrared Saunas, Ayurvedic treatments, Thai massage, as well as two swimming pools, outdoor cardio vascular circuit, a tennis court, Yoga classes, Raw Food classes and daily free meditation classes at Cloud 9 Yoga Sala, with 100 miles of views
The resort is just a short drive from Chiang Mai City which was voted #2 'World's Best City' 2010 by the readers of Travel and Leisure Magazine, the top travel magazine. The votes were based on: 1. Places for sightseeing, their beauty and greenery; 2. Arts and culture; 3. Food; 4. Shopping areas; 5. People's friendliness; 6. Value for money spent.

Guest access

Free access to pools, outdoor gym and running track.
All other amenities paid for seperately

Interaction with guests

I will not be onsite, but the manager, Lookwa will leave the keys for you in the house, for easy check in, whatever time you arrive.

If you would like a driver to pick you up from the airport, & take you direct to the house, (As the resort is not the easiest to find),
I have a lovely driver, Sunny, who will do that for 800bht.
Just message me your flight details and number of passengers, and he'll be there with your name on a card!
Please return the key to the resort front desk on exit, or after hours, leave in the house.
There will be a 500bht fee for lost key.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $40
Security Deposit $150
Weekly Discount: 14%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No smoking in the house please.
You will be charged for extra cleaning if you do!
Please respect the house, as you would your own.
That's all I ask!


Cancellations

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

19 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ed User Profile
February 2017
Gina's place is very nice with a really comfortable king sized bed. We enjoyed using the deck and cooking in the kitchen every day. It is also close to the pool. Gina communicated well. We would be happy to stay there again.

Brooke User Profile
November 2016
Positives: Was easy to book with Regina, good initial communication and a smooth pick up from airport with the lovely Sunny for 800++bhat. A little pricey however it's a long drive. The resort itself is really lovely and serene. Quite spread out, a lot of beautiful greenery and land. The pool is nice and refreshing, and the most beautiful dragonflies fly around all day. The birds and the insect noises are really very calming and lovely to go to sleep and wake up to. It really does feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The massages and scrubs etc were nice but pretty over priced as you would imagine from a resort. Negatives: The location: I understood from the description that that the resort was very far out of the city, completely fine, that's what I was after however I found that because of the lack of amenities mentioned below, it's a requirement that you find a place to get supplies or get well stocked before you arrive. You will get very little help on where to go, how to get there from the resort staff unless you pay for a guided tour for outrageous fees for a driver etc. There are bikes and scooters for hire however if you have zero idea of where to go, they're completely useless. The accommodation, although really well priced, upon entering smelled like mould. The entire house was really quite dirty and hadn't been cleaned before I arrived. There was mould in the cupboards and on the very few dishes and kitchen equipment supplied as well as the sofa smelling of pungent mould. I had to spend most of my time either outside or upstairs in the bedroom to escape it as it also effected my asthma. Very little kitchen equipment supplied and what was there was filthy and unusable or broken. The restaurant: because of the ill equipped kitchen and no idea of where else to get food close by I had no choice but to eat at the restaurant. What an utter disappointment each and every time. The best thing on the menu is the breakfast oatmeal and that is not an exaggeration. Everything is bland and very dumbed down for westerners with a non existent pallet. Even the juices and smoothies were bland and as though the recipes were straight out of the 90s. The yoga: one class a day at 500++bhat...more expensive that Australia!! The teacher was obviously flexible an had been doing yoga a long time but her teaching or leading skills were clumsy, confused well, verging on ridiculous. The Internet: IF you can pick up a signal, it drops out constantly. The outcome: After complaining about the mould, among other things to Regina, no cleaner came, the communication ceased with Regina. In summary, do not waste your time or money. You can do a lot better for what you will spend here. Without the hassle.
Gina User Profile
Response from Gina:
I'm sorry Brooke had an unsatisfactory stay at my villa. I always have my townhouse thoroughly cleaned before and after every visit, hence the previous good reviews of it's cleanliness. This guest complained about a smell of mould in the house. It had been especially rainy in Chiang Mai, and my house had been empty for a couple of weeks before she checked in, so I asked her to book another deep clean of the house at my expense to try and rectify this issue. She was there several days and did not do so. I am unable to contact housekeeping for the resort, but they are easily contactable from the telephone in the house, or by short walk to the front desk from the house. There are also always housekeeping staff around taking care of the on-site hotel which is 30 feet from my house, so I do not understand what the difficulty was in obtaining a cleaner. I had already emailed the manager of the residences to charge any extra cleaning expenses to my account, so it was all set up. I asked Brooke for pictures of the mould to take up with the management of the resort. Again, nothing. She then began complaining about how far from the city the resort is, which is the whole point of the resort, and is clearly stated in the description. It is also clearly stated that there are taxis, bikes and scooters for hire. Yes, things will be more expensive here, as you are staying at a resort and not in a local village. These prices are not set by me. She then complained about the food at the restaurant being too bland for her, which, again is totally out of my control, & is entirely subjective. Some guests love the food, some don't. There was nothing I could do about this. There are plenty of restaurants and stores just outside the resort within a 5 minute walk, as has been stated by previous guests. I tried my best to help her with her concerns, but in the end she wanted to leave, and I agreed & accepted her early check out, losing money in the process. I think she just booked the wrong type of holiday and her expectations were a lot higher than her budget. I have ordered another top to bottom clean of the house, and an inventory of the kitchen equipment. Unfortunately, guests don't always respect what isn't theirs, and sometimes stuff gets broken or 'lost'. So this may have been an issue that was overlooked, as most people who are staying at my house are either doing a detox -i.e. not eating, or are eating at restaurants. I will rectify this situation before the next guest arrives. I feel I did the best I can as a host, and if you look at my other reviews, you will see that this was an unfortunate one off.
November 2016

Janet User Profile
December 2015
The resort was amazing. Highly recommended for anyone who wants a bit of R and R. The villa itself had a very tranquil view of greenery and the pool - ginas photos don't do the real thing justice. Bed was comfy, breakfast on the balcony over looking the pool was the best part. Resort also provides yoga / Thai boxing / boot camp / detox programmes. Def recommended. Only issue I can think ofwas the shower pressure was a little soft but that's not a big problem for me at all.

Pieter User Profile
December 2015
Stayed for 1 month. Had to change room at the 4th day because the room was overbooked, this was inconvenient. When arrived in the new room, it was not cleaned and there were no bed sheets. Gina however took care of this and a few hours later it was resolved. House, garden and pool are nice. The pool is often little dirty on the surface. Restaurant on the domain is nice, with tasty Thai and western food, however expensive for Thai standards. Location is remote, which is nice if you like quietness and nature. It takes about 40 minutes to get to Chiang Mai, Gina was kind enough to tell me this before I made my reservation. The resort is beautiful but there are some signs of wear and tear.
Gina User Profile
Response from Gina:
Hi Pieter, thanks for your review. Apologies about the double booking. I didn't realize I had automatic booking on another website also, and by some stroke of bad luck, you and another customer booked at EXACTLY the same time without me realizing. That has now been rectified. As soon as I discovered this, I informed you, before you were due to leave, and organized you an identical house for the 1st few days. Regarding my house not being cleaned when you arrived, apologies again. The resort has been purchased by a new company, and new staff have been added to the roster, so there have been a few minor communication issues, & unfortunately, my house fell into one of those cracks. There should be no more issues like this in the future. Not sure about the dirty pool, as I've never had any complaints about that, & I have stayed at the resort every year since it opened, and never experienced this. I will pass on you observations to the management. The resort was only built 8 years ago, so I'm not sure what signs of wear and tear you're seeing? But hopefully that didn't detract too much from your enjoyment. Thank you for your business, and I hope to host you again (with a discount for your previous inconveniences!)
December 2015

Cathy User Profile
February 2015
We had an enjoyable experience staying at Gina's place. This was our first time using Airbnb so we were not totally familiar with what to expect. It is different than a hotel with a front desk to help with questions, getting supplies, etc. Now that we know what to expect we will be more prepared in the future. Gina was more than helpful replying quickly to emails with questions. She arranged for her driver Sunny to pick us up at the airport, which was awesome (800 baht one way) ! I'm not sure how easy it would have been to find the place without him to take us there. When we arrived there was some confusion about the key and the townhouse was locked, but Sunny got on his phone and came up with the key for us. We then needed to get help getting the electricity turned on, getting drinking water, and turning on the gas to the stove. None of these things were a big deal, but we were glad we arrived during daytime working hours so the staff at the adjacent spa were available to help. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of people in nearby Chiang Mai. The restaurant at the spa has great food, much of it grown on their own organic farm. It's a little pricey for Thailand standards, but very good and still a good deal by western standards. Probably what we enjoyed most was being able to get up each morning and take a short walk through the resort to the outdoor sala for morning meditation and yoga classes. There is a charge for these that you book through the resort spa. If you get a card for multiple classes you get a better deal. The city of Chiang Mai is a little far, but the resort provides a shuttle 3 days a week for 100 baht per person round trip. The towels and sheets could probably use some updating and there was a musty smell in the cabinets of cookware. I'm sure it's difficult to keep things up when a place like this is closed off during the monsoon season. We never were able to get the safe unlocked. Gina sent us the information, but for some reason it never worked. Our only other problem was that the hot water pot for coffee and tea had been left with water sitting inside and was not useable. Overall, we really enjoyed our time at this townhouse. The price was reasonable enough we were able to leave most of our things for a couple of overnight trips to other destinations during our one month stay. The pool was lovely and the spa staff very kind. If you stay, be sure to take a bike ride to the nearby village - there are some coffee shops and restaurants worth visiting nearby and the village people are always ready to give you a smile and a...

K.L. User Profile
December 2014
The couch & the cooking bench were renovated - even BETTER & BIGGER than shown in the photos. The whole experience is eye-opening, as long as you don’t mind a tiny bit of rural inconvenience. Lovers of meditation (like me) or yoga will find a meditation & yoga pavilion near the hilltop. It is simple but heavenly spectacular. Try it out at 7:30am and you’ll meet the first beams & warmth of sunrise. Gina’s available promptly online, from big details to minor problems. However, since Gina’s not there, do prepare to take care of yourself. Strongly recommend to arrive before 5pm, bcoz (1) the housekeeping lady who keeps the key is off after 5pm; (2) after-hours, the security guards who're supposed to take over don’t understand english & are frequently absent; & (3) if unfamiliar, the first drive into the farms will easily get lost at night when road signs are virtually invisible. While drug-resistant malaria may be a potential concern in this part of Asia, it isn’t a problem in winter time - we visited in winter & didn’t have a single mosquito bite during the whole stay. Plenty of towels are provided. Other bathroom amenities we brought for ourselves. There’s a store around 100m down the road. Yet do not walk there on your own if you’re afraid of dogs - wild dogs are wandering. The resort’s guest relation manager is nice french guy. Chat with him at daytime. Although my family’s not a guest of the resort, he gave us 2 rolls of toilet paper for free - life-saving. In addition to raw food & veggie, the restaurant Radiance does serve meat. We (perhaps it’s bcoz we’re from Hong Kong) didn’t find its price ultra-experience. Very few customers in the morning (often none). Perfect for lazy breakfasts? Though, within 15-25mins of driving, there’re a couple of really REALLY good cafes & restaurants in Mae Rim, with a hint of Provence & offering really fine food & drinks - from high cuisine to banoffee - AND dirt cheap. A true romance in the middle of nowhere.

Li User Profile
October 2014
Wonderful place! I stayed at Gina's house for a one month. Although Gina was not here, she kept in touch with me and gave me lots of help. Besides, Weena and other stuff in resort are very kind. I was very enjoy the delicious food,quality spa, the beautiful scenery... Already miss there :)

This host has 33 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
New York, New York, United StatesJoined in March 2012
Gina User Profile

From London, UK originally - I'm the one in the middle with the glasses in the pic!
I'm an entertainer by trade, and have travelled the world.
These 2 properties are in my favorite places on the planet!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings