The English Riviera-Torquay-Single

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Barton Rd, Torquay, TQ1, United Kingdom
Petra

My house is a detached stone built cottage, originally stable to a Victorian Villa next door. Many villas remain here in Torbay from the 19th century when wealthy families visited in the winter due to the mild climate thanks to the Gulf stream.

Your host, Petra
2 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

My house is a detached stone built cottage, originally stable to a Victorian Villa next door. Many villas remain here in Torbay from the 19th century when wealthy families visited in the winter due to the mild climate thanks to the Gulf stream.

The Space

Single room in a lovely Bed & Breakfast in a fully refurbished (summer 2011) detached stone cottage in a quiet area in Torquay. All the rooms have been newly decorated to compliment the sea-side location. There's a shared bathroom (bath/shower) and you are welcome to relax in all the communal spaces. These include the combined kitchen and breakfast room, conservatory and the sunny walled-in lawned garden (south-west facing) with decked area suitable for eating outside or sunbathing.

Luxurious White Company bed linen and towels are provided, and breakfast too. Although I'm a vegetarian, I provide sustainable cooked breakfasts to suit your dietary requirements (including gluten free and diabetic requirements). There's private off road car parking, wi-fi, satellite tv and brand new heating, carpets, electrics, bathroom and kitchen.

I have been hosting International students for over 30 years on and off and am very knowledgable about the area. Please be aware that I have a very friendly border collie and sturdy little Yorkie in case you have any allergies. They are not encouraged upstairs in the bedrooms.

The cottage is in walking distance to Torquay town and its many beaches. There's also a bus stop at the bottom of the road. There are local shops nearby. It's in walking distance to the local train and coach stations. There is a direct train to London from Torre station that takes around 3 hours. It's a 5 minutes drive to out-of-town shopping centre with M&S, Sainsbury's etc.

Explore the English Riviera - Brixham, Paignton, Babbacombe, Dartmouth and Cockington.

Activities:
-Watersports, including kite surfing, paddle boarding, kite buggying and sailing
-Babbacombe Model Village
-Paignton Zoo Environmental Park
-22 beaches
-Dartmouth Steam Railway
-Occombe Farm
-Paignton Pleasure Cruises
-Greenway Ferry and Pleasure Cruises, Brixham
-Palace Avenue Theatre, Paignton
- Dartmoor National Park
-Princess Theatre which has shows from London's West End
- Babbacombe Theatre which has the longest running Summer Season show in the country.

Guest Access

Make yourself at home in the kitchen/ breakfast room and bring in any food you want to sample from our area.. The decking outside is sheltered and private in the summer and the best place to have lunch on a summers day.

Interaction with Guests

Guests join us for breakfast where we put the world to right! We can suggest trips and restaurants and the best way to get to a place. Feel free to treat the place as home and become part of the family if you wish, or relax in your room catching up with emails or finishing your novel.

The Neighborhood

We are situated in a really handy location as it's 10 minutes walking distance downhill (with sea views from virtually the top of the drive) into the town. Keep walking another 10-15 minutes down to the harbour and beach.

5 minutes by car and you're at the small shopping centre called The Willows with Marks & Spencer, Boots, Next, Sainsburys and others.

Dartmoor can be seen from upstairs and the sea can be glimpsed from down the garden.

We have off road parking in a gated gravelled car park, if you arrive by car.

Getting around

There is a train station called TORRE which is only 2 minutes away at the bottom of the road which goes direct to London as well as to local towns with a station.

The coach station is 3-4 minutes away in the other direction which goes countrywide including major airports ( I use it frequently to get to Heathrow)

It's 5 minutes drive to the out of town shopping centre called The Willows for Marks&Spencer, Next, Boots and others.

You can easily walk into Torquay town all downhill with a sea view from the top of the drive in about 10 minutes and if you keep walking through the town downhill you will reach the harbour 10 minutes later.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $344 /week
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
  • Petra and Clive are the most wonderful hosts you could imagine. They make you feel welcome and at home from the very first moment. Thanks for the hospitality, the excellent breakfast and your help. You should visit Petra and Clive and their cute dogs when you are in Torquay. HIGHLY recommended!

    April 2014
  • Petra and Clive were great hosts! I came by train and they picked me up. Their house is gorgeous, really feels like a beach house! They also helped me plan a fun filled day on the Round Robin Tour. Millie the dog is so sweet! The bed was sooo comfy. Amazing breakfast, newly renovated and super clean house and friendly and helpful hosts... What more could you ask for? Torquay is a nice place and Petra and Clive live very close to the main strip. Right on the top of one of the hills so u can see the sunsets too! I loved every minute there. Hope to be back to visit them and Torquay in the future.

    September 2012
Per Month
From
$62
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 9 times
Work
Part time art and craft tutor in adult education.
About
Hello, I'm a Devon born girl.. ( I use the term loosly ) and love living by the sea. I love art, craft and design and am currently teaching an weekly adult class the art of Rag Rugging held in the now famous? fishing town of Brixham through South devon College. I'm passionate about using recycled materials in my work and every summer make an outdoor sculpture as part of a group of artists who exhibit them along the promenade in Teignmouth. I have hosted International students for over 30 years on and off and made some long lasting friendships. I have 2 grown up sons, One married with children living in Vienna, the other living in London with his girlfriend and performing in West End musicals. I love travelling and have been many times to the South coasts of France and Spain, and in the last few years, Hong Kong and Singapore to the East and California to the West. I have a very friendly female Border Collie called Milly who is 5 years old. She doesn't think she is a dog, she thinks she is human ( as many dogs do I'm sure ) as long as I give her her daily beach walk and swim she is quite happy to snooze the day away or sit outside the open conservatory gazing up at the seagulls. In April this year I have also taken in a Yorkshire terrier ( sturdy type, not the tiny variety) she is just a year old and already ruling the roost!! she loves the beach too having been a city girl!!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings