Entire home/apt

5 Guests

2 Bedrooms

5 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space

- - Welcome to my house at Lake Balaton ! - -

Situated in Balatonakarattya, a 45-50 minutes drive or a 1,5 hour train trip away from Budapest centre, near the lake, in a nice garden hidden from the street, the cabin has two bedrooms, one shared kitchen with living room and two bathrooms. Three beaches are nearby, the nearest is 6 minutes by car or 10-15 minutes to walk, depending on your pace. The walk to the nearest beach is with a fantastic panorama to the lake (see pictures), so you might want to take your time walking down. There is a nice restaurant in the street, with reasonable prices and traditional Hungarian food, named Degesz. Another one, Spoon, a gourmet restaurant with higher prices - but with a chef whose food is worth tasting - is around the corner. Both restaurants have playing facilities for children. If you like, you can use and enjoy the built-in barbecue in the garden. Lots of fun places (rope climbing in adventure park, wineries, riding schools, bars) can be found 15 minutes to one hour drive away. The house itself is located in a quiet place, so it is most appropriate for those looking for peace and relaxation.

How to arrive to Balatonakarattya :

- by car : From Budapest you have to take the M7 Highway until Enying/Balatonfüred/Balatonvilagos (89 km from Budapest) and from there the 71 Road towards Balatonfüred. Approx. 1 km from the exit, right at the only roundabout on your way, is the beginning of the village of Balatonakarattya.

The space
Accommodates: 5
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 5
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: $5 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee: $31
Security Deposit: $103
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Check In
Nóra User Profile
June 2017
Monika's communication was prompt and excellent, She was very flexible. We really loved the place, it was pretty much what we expected. Cosy, tranquile garden, safe to stay for our dog, too. Panoramic view over the Balaton nearby is breathtaking. The house is simple as can be expected from a holiday bungalow, but it was very well equipped, I took quite a few things I should not have worried about. We were happy with the bathrooms, and the bedding. It was all clean. We had a great time with my children there. Would consider going again. Thanks Mónika!

Maarten User Profile
August 2016
This place was located in a nicely calm corner of lake balaton close to a beach. Water wasn't overly shallow so swimming was possible. The house was really convenient for a family of five and has a lovely garden. Even if she was not around, Monika was very approachable by phone and helpful with any question we had. A great experience!

Bradley User Profile
June 2016
Monika's place is in an ideal location for a relaxing, low-key trip to Balaton with a dog. The back yard is great, the walk down to the beach is scenic and pretty quick, and the immediate area has most of what you might want for a short stay--a couple of decent restaurants/cafes and some very minimal groceries. We used the bikes Monika provided and had a great experience. They're in good working order for short day rides. The house has a bit of mold (I suppose that's all but unavoidable in a lake house) which gave us some allergy issues. But otherwise, a great trip.
Monika User Profile
Response from Monika:
Thank you, Bradley, I'm glad you liked the surroundings and the garden, and that the bikes were useful for you. As for the mold you mentioned to me that you could not see but smell in the bathroom, I've just talked to the guests that are in the house, they can neither see or smell any. Either way, I will make sure this won't be a problem in the future.
June 2016

Nicolas User Profile
June 2016
This place is as the description. A really charming house with a nice garden. It's really near to the lake, and you have a really nice panorama at 200m of the house. I will recomand also the italian restaurant that is located at 300m fron the house : The Spoon Mercato. I recommand Monika and her house.

Marina User Profile
August 2015
Monika charming little house is a great value for money and you will find all you need there. The place is very nice located - not far from Balaton, close to several cafés and a local supermarket. You also have a place for a barbecue. I would recommend the place if you are looking for some time away from the big city buzz. Lack of wi-fi is a big benefit :)

Kristina User Profile
August 2015
The Monika's place is very charming, especially the garden, which is not overlooked.From the end of the street a nice view of the lake can be found. Furthermore this vacation home is well located in the small town, close to two restaurants and not far from a family supermarket. Monika is very kind and available, we can feel that she is doing her best to help and to make us comfortable. Even if she's not there. Indeed, it is clear that no one has lived here since a long time ago. For instance, it's possible to make incongruous discoveries in the bottom of wardrobes and many things not working properly. These small drawbacks should not deter you because the calm and relaxing atmosphere offers by this house is very valuable.
Monika User Profile
Response from Monika:
Dear Cristina, I am sorry you found some things not working properly--- but "many"? One of the showers doesn't work as I had warned you but there are two bathrooms. Also, things you didn find ... I may not have a can opener, I admit. This is a whole house for rent for 60 USD so you can't expect everything.Actually, I was surprised when you asked me on the evening of your arrival if I had any superglue. Well, I did and I told you where it was, but I wondered why you didn't buy it for yourself. It costs nothing in the supermarket. Other guests before you found the house well equipped with everything they needed (cf. earlier reviews). The bicycles are our own, it is not obvious that you use them , and you can't blame me for you couldn't pump the tyres up - other guests managed when they kindly asked IF they could use them. The normal thing to do is to rent bicycles in Balatonkenese, as guests before you actually did, and I included this in the information I gave you beforehand. "Old food in the wardrobes"...???? I guess you meant cupboards, a wardrobe is where you keep clothes. There are actually two or three old boxes and glasses of canned food (safely sealed ) at the bottom of a kitchen cupboard, which release no smell or any particles at all, and I must say I am quite surprised you were digging so thoroughly in my cupboards for food. The name Airbnb - air bead and breakfast- may suggest you that you get full breakfast and more, but actually, what you can expect most places is nothing but coffee. So I can't see why some old harmless canned food hidden deep down in a cupboard would upset you- unless you wanted to eat them (that's why you were upset because of te lack of a can opener? ) but as I said this was not at all food left there for you. The cleaning lady found the dishwashing area extremely dirty after you, and I didn't want to write it in a review but I had nothing else to write about except that you seemed quite unexperienced in finding an address and inhabiting a house when we were in touch on the day of arrival, which is now confirmed by your review. If being unexperienced is because of young age, I hope you will get some sense of it soon.
August 2015

Moni User Profile
August 2015
A lovely little vacation home with a sweet little yard. We had a great stay, enjoyed the views from the end of the street, the hike down to the beach - and long half days on a beautiful lake beach. Monika was a great communicator - even in absence!

Akershus, Norway · Joined in March 2012
Monika User Profile

I was born and raised in Budapest, been living in Oslo for twenty years now.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.