The Grey Room. One of the elegant canopy bedrooms, especially for singles.The Drawing Room, with an open fireplace and candlelit. This room has an old family piano which guests are most welcome to play. Lots of books here and in each of the rooms but there is also a broad selection of DVDs and videos for idling hours - from Hol
Single Serenity Elegance, or Arts Studio bohemian
Single Serenity Elegance, or Arts Studio bohemian

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Tranquil hospitality for solo visitors, in the heart of a charming heritage town. 55 euros per night: the choice of the Red or Grey Room each with a single canopy bed (sharing a non-suite bathroom.) Superb breakfasts, served 'til 11.30 am. A different option for those on a budget is our delightful arts studio, in a magical courtyard garden. Available seasonally for tourists & writers. Only 55 euros per night for two people. Special experience deals/longer stays. [Also view 'Elegant & Romantic']

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 5PM - 9PM
Check Out: 1PM
Room type: Private room


Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

No smoking in the bedrooms or the studio, but in the house drawing room is fine - preferably cigars only!

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - one flight
Potential for noise - People have remarked how quiet it is at night, but the occasional boy racer roars by or pub music is loud. (We ring the Police to stop the racers!)
Pet(s) live on property - Two large dogs (usually unseen by visitors) and two cats - sometimes met by visitors!
No parking on property - This street has a parking meter, yet ticketing unlikely. (Optional public car parks nearby) But we give signs for visitors' windscreens.
Some spaces are shared - The guest bathroom is shared by guests in the three rooms but full bookings are rarely taken for strangers.
Amenity limitations - Reasonable wifi, in 3 zones. Any issues with hot water may occur for a full bath in the house - guests just need to mention it!



Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.

1 night minimum stay

17 Reviews

Check In
Mareesa And Evan User ProfileMareesa And Evan is a superhost.
September 2017
Centrally located, unique and interesting space with everything you need. Rosalind was a welcoming host who was very hospitable. The breakfast was truly amazing!
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
Hello Mareesa and Evan, My thanks for your nice review. However, noticing in the feedback, it will be most helpful if you would write back to me personally when you have time, to let me know which elements you felt weren't quite accurate in the listing description (about our working arts studio). So, my apologies about your check-in. I wasn't late home, I was in the courtyard garden, waiting for you! I was listening for the tap on the gate (albeit without my phone in my pocket - duh! to alert me you had fact arrived and gone.) But I shall be sure to mention to future visitors to knock on both the house front door as well as the studio gate, for people who are staying in the studio. I do hope it didn't upset you too much. Your original booking was to be for two nights. If only we had had more time to talk in between all the happy wedding celebrations I'd have offered a little gift to make up for anything you felt lacking - that is, it would probably have been a glass or two of Wild Food Mary's delicious liqueurs for Evan and of course, chocolate for you!
September 2017

Rebecca User Profile
August 2017
My husband and I recently stayed with Rosalind and Derek last weekend, we were in Birr for a wedding. Our stay was all too brief but very enjoyable and comfortable. On our arrival Derek very kindly took time out of his very busy day to meet us so we could drop in our bag. We found both Derek and Rosalind very accommodating. We were staying in the art studio. It was very comfortable and had everything you needed from cooking facilities to a lovely relaxing sitting room area. When we entered Rosalind had the place lovely and cosy with a stove lighting and music playing. As I said our stay was very brief as were were only there overnight for a wedding but it is the ideal place for a few days stay. There are such gorgeous touches and amazing art in it. I hope Rosalind doesn't mind me describing the place as quirky but if like me you consider that a good thing then it's the ideal spot for you. I wish I'd had more time to take it all in and appreciate it. Finally Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Rosalind had the table downstairs beautifully set and everything brought over and set up in gorgeous baskets. Everything was very fresh and a lot of local produce, even warm rhubarb jam made by Rosalind's friend. And how could I forget to mention how convenient their location is and so easy to find. They are right in the center of Birr and i mean right in the heart of the place.
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
Ooh what a super review! Thank you so much Rebecca. It would be lovely to meet you again sometime but even if you didn't stay here, I really hope you will have an opportunity to return to Birr, to explore and experience and discover why it is such a fascinating place. And that despite being in the boggy Midlands, our area is so full of amazing histories and its own beauty. As for calling our studio quirky - well, that is a compliment we are more than happy with, especially in the kind way you meant! All the best, Rosalind
August 2017

Emmanuel User Profile
July 2017
Certainly our best breakfast from our life, a bedroom like a museum, great experience. Rosalind was very kind wit us.
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
Thank you so much Emmanuel. I am smiling broadly that you thought the room was like a museum! Must be the influence of my early years of having lived in homes that were open to the public. My brother slept on a horsehair mattress in a five hundred year old, carved bed and all our personal things had to be put away, three days a week - we were not allowed to be messy children (so often, I am making up for it now in our own bedroom!). It was lovely meeting you both, and you with your charming smile. My thanks again and best wishes.
July 2017

Sophie User Profile
July 2017
Cosy and colourful place, the breakfasts were tasty and presented really well and Rosalind was a great host - couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating !
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
Thank you for your nice review Sophie and Ollie. I have had such a busy week with visitors and other duties, I am exhausted today! Another young woman from England will be arriving tonight but I'm taking it easy-ier til then. Soon, off to walk our dogs in a haven of wildlife. Have a great Summer.
July 2017

We love it ! A truly magical studio with beautiful things to stimulate the senses everywhere. Breakfasts are so beautiful and filling. A unique place with the most amazing energy . The best place I've stayed at in Birr .

Caroline User Profile
April 2017
Lovely welcoming host and amazing breakfast. Very central location in Birr and lots of great ideas from Rosalind of local sites and walks.
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
How kind of you, many thanks! Please return sometime - so much to see around here. From the boggy beautiful low-lands to our serene Slieve Bloom heights, and art, sculpture and culture, in ancient places and wild spaces. Righto Caroline - that's my tempting advertisement to persuade you to return and explore! Best wishes. R
April 2017

Helen User Profile
April 2017
This accommodation has a lovely vibe. The host prepares a fabulous breakfast! The location is a great location for exploring this part of Ireland. Couldn't really fault the place, making this excellent value for money.
Rosalind User Profile
Response from Rosalind:
Aah, I am delighted to read your very nice review - many thanks! Rx
April 2017

This host has 6 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Birr, IrelandJoined in June 2012
Rosalind User Profile

An 'occasional' writer, artist/designer with an arts studio. I have lived and worked in England and New York but now very happily settled back in Ireland. (Just to mention, by way of some explanation on sometimes slow response, that I possess only an out of date laptop and no Smart Phone!) Rx

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Similar listings