Great Austin Large 2 Bd 2 Bth Patio

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Anderson Mill Rd, Austin, TX 78729, United States
Cynthia

Open and happily painted and decorated apartment with wrap around balcony in quiet tree lined street. A donut shop is just across the street for your morning sweets and kolashes!

Your host, Cynthia
3 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

Open and happily painted and decorated apartment with wrap around balcony in quiet tree lined street. A donut shop is just across the street for your morning sweets and kolashes!

The Space

Hello!

This is a great two bedroom, two bathroom light and bright, 1156 square feet large apartment. It has a beautiful wrap around balcony and the apartment is in a gated complex with a beautiful pool and gym. The floorplan is open, bright and cheerie. The master bedroom has a really amazing California King size bed with an authentic tempurpedic mattress (not a knock-off) and the 2nd bedroom has two loft beds. The 2nd bedroom is my sons' room so it is decorated a bit more "boy" like with two loft beds and play open space beneath the beds. There is a washer/dryer in the apartment with a fully stocked kitchen. There is a separate open dining room. The apartment is a little whimsically painted, with a Dr. Who TARDIS door leading to the second bedroom. Hope you might be a Dr. Who fan.

There is parking on the premises. Close to the 183 FWY, just minutes to downtown Austin, Wholefoods, The Alamo Drafthouse, and University of Texas in Austin.

(Please note: During SXSW, the price will be higher at $175 a night with a 7 night minimum)

Thank you for looking!

Guest Access

Security gate and key will be provided at check-in or before.

The Neighborhood

The neighborhood has a donut shop across the street, a park down the street and easy access to Freeways including the 183 FWY, the 620, 45, 1 (or Mopac) and the 35 is a short distance as well.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Minimum Stay: 5 nights
Weekly Price: $555 /week
Monthly Price: $1800 /month
Security Deposit: $150
Cleaning Fee: $50
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Cynthia was a wonderful host. She went the extra mile to make sure we had a great week at the apartment. Her communication was warm, prompt, and thorough. The apartment is a relaxing place to stay, with a nice patio. One night we got dinner at the very nearby Shandeez grill, which was an adorable persian place. The location is near a lot of restaurants and shopping. The master bedroom was especially comfortable and the location was nice, with a lovely pool. I highly recommend Cynthia and this property!

    April 2014
    Cynthia
    Response from Cynthia:

    Thank you so much, Mara! And thank you again for leaving my apartment in such tidy order. You are truly welcome anytime. Best wishes to you always, Cynthia

    April 2014
  • On 3/28, I checked Cynthia's calendar for 3/31-4/14 and her apartment was available, so I sent a message to confirm. Cynthia replied that it was and if I booked immediately, she could FedEx the key to me in time to check in.

    I booked right way. After paying, I received a message from her containing the details of our stay, including that the cable (a listed amenity) did not work, but didn’t really mind as we don’t watch much TV .

    The first thing I noticed when we arrived was dried up food on the stovetop and grime on the counters and refrigerator shelves. I was a little put off by this, especially since she was charging a $50 cleaning fee upon our departure. All the same, it wasn’t anything I couldn’t deal with, so I to wiped everything down.

    Then my husband tried to get online but couldn’t. So I sent Cynthia a message. She replied that just like the cable TV, the apartment was not presently equipped with WiFi (another listed amenity).

    No WiFi was unacceptable. We both work from our computers. This is an amenity we specifically look for when booking a stay. At this point, I was pretty disillusioned with the entire situation and asked for a refund so we could look for something else.

    Cynthia agreed to refund us, but also made sure I understood she had cancelled her flight home to accommodate us.

    Then she went on to say we had inconvenienced her, her friend and her children.

    She then accused me of not having made the connection from the cable not working (which was not communicated to me until after I booked and paid) to the internet not working.

    Annoyed, I responded saying we need to have WiFi and that I didn't appreciate the $50 cleaning fee given the state of the counters and fridge. I suggested she revise the amenities so that neither she, her friends, children, nor guests are inconvenienced in the future.

    She replied accusing me of turning things around and expecting hotel services when not paying hotel prices and reiterating that she had told me she usually requires 7 days notice yet I had insisted she rent to us.

    It's not like I forced her to do anything against her will. I simply inquired, and she said the apartment was available.

    I am not picky. But when I’m paying for listed amenities like WiFi and a cleaning fee upon departure, I expect the listed amenities to be functioning and the surfaces at least be wiped-down.

    Cynthia then threatened to report me to airbnb and asked that I refund her the $ for fed-ex’ing the key.

    We eventually found another airbnb accommodation for our 14-day stay. Our mutual reviews (host-guest) should be available shortly.

    We are adventure/experience/memory-making seekers and flexible, accommodating, and understanding. However, there are particular basic amenities we seek in certain situations.

    We personally had a bad experience with Cynthia, but it doesn’t mean the next person will.

    April 2014
    Cynthia
    Response from Cynthia:

    As the host, I would like to say after Airbnb read through all of Karen and my messages, they told me I was given "the short end of the stick." As a result Airbnb gave me a courtesy credit including the $44.28 for FedEx'ing my key so Karen could have access to my apartment with only two days notice. I told her I normally require 7 days notice before she booked the reservation. With short notice I mentioned to Karen the apartment had clean sheets on the bed, clean towels, etc. but usually with 7 days notice it would be in better order. And as Karen stated, I mentioned the cable was out before she arrived. Karen asked me to reduce the price of her stay by $200 which I agreed to. Airbnb also told me Karen should have paid me $500 as a cancellation fee. But because I was trying my best to make her happy, I let her out of the $500 penalty! After she received her FULL refund, Karen disappeared with the key to my apartment! Finally she returned it and she also left my place in need of a cleaning. She left water bottles, towels on the floor, my bed was used, the patio furniture was moved around. I really do not understand how she can feel as ungrateful as she does considering how I released her from a $500 penalty which Airbnb confirmed she should have paid. Just goes to show "no good deed goes unpunished."

    April 2014
  • Cynthia couldn't have been nicer and easier to deal with. The apartment is spacious and was spotlessly clean and I have never seen a larger collection of DVD's.I wholly recommend her place and her as a host.

    March 2014
    Cynthia
    Response from Cynthia:

    Thank you Matt! It was a pleasure having you. You and your sons are welcome anytime. My son and I really appreciated the chalkboard drawing. You left my apartment spotless. You win the best guest ever award for March 2014!

    March 2014
Per Month
From
$89
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 66 times
About
Hi, I work in TV and Entertainment and move around a lot for work and therefore understand what it's like to be jetlagged and just need a welcoming, affordable place to stay! I hope you might consider my place for your next New York City or Austin, TX trip. My New York apartment is large sized for New York City. I have an extra sectioned off alcove which is furnished for one or two people to stay in. I also have a second separated space which has tons of light and is clean and comfortable, also for one to two people. The apartment is safe, comfortable and excellently located for your needs while in the Big Apple! My Austin, TX apartment is a nice larger size two bedroom, two bathroom apartment with a lovely wrap-around balcony. It has the most comfortable and authentic tempurpedic California King size mattress in the master bedroom and two great and fun loft beds in the second bedroom. My Austin place is painted fun and cheery, even a Doctor Who door of the TARDIS! Thank you very much for considering my places to stay.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago
Similar Listings