Cosy Rooms just near Montmartre

Apartment - Private room · Rue Marx Dormoy, Paris, Île-de-France 75018, France

The Space

hello,
I offer to you a separate room with a double bed and/or a single bed in the living, in a 55m2 flat, which is not luxurious, but really cosy, and pleasant to live with nice persons!
The flat has a kitchen equipped for you to use (mini-oven, washing machine...), a bathroom, a little one but with a bath!, a separate toilet, and wifi.
The apartment is at the 2nd floor of a quiet building.
My apartment is in a popular and cosmopolitan district, 10 mn walk to Montmartre. You will find around my flat: indian, thaï, africans restaurants and shops, really good cheeses and wine at Marché de l'Olive, place with nice cafés, where you can drink a coffee with croissant!
5 mms by feet, you've got the amazing théâtre des Bouffes du Nord, le 104 place with multi artistic propositions near the Eole park. At 10 mms, by the Canal de l'Ourcq you've got cinemas and places to play pétanques!
From the apartment, you can walk (2mns) to the metro Marx Dormoy-line 12, 4mns to La Chapelle-line 2, and 10mns to Gare du Nord lines 4& 5, RERD, E, and RER B, which allow you to go and come from Roissy-Charles de Gaulle or Orly airport.
You've got bus: line 65, 60, etc.
From here you can go easily and quickly allover Paris!
I will do all my best for you to spend a great stay in Paris,
Sincerely,
Hélène

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $21 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $142
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The apartment is well located especially for people coming from the north (about 7 minutes straight down from the A1). close to the metro
    It was easy to make an appointment to meet Hélène. The apartment is rather nice but quite messy and dirty and doesn't offer much privacy (e.g. the shower doesn't have a proper door). This was not a problem now because Hélène wasn't there most of the time.

    February 2014
  • Helené is friendly & her place is both clean and very eclectic. She has a vast knowledge of musique & cinema & even allowed me to store my bags until a few hours before my train even though another guest was arriving that night

    The kitchen is narrow, but has everything you need as long as you only have a few key items to put in the little fridge. My only tiny gripe was that the wifi was a bit spotty at times towards the bedroom. The bedroom is quite large though & the comfy bed along with her kindness & patience were much appreciated. The extra mini heater helped for cold nights. I would most definitely stay here again when I visit Paris.

    Merci Helené

    January 2014
  • As I have attended and delivered a number of management courses over the years I will start with the positives ;

    The apartment has easy access to the metro, only 50 mtrs from the door. easy access to some of Paris's biggest stations . Gare Montparnasse. Gare du Nord . Gare de l'est .
    A lovely food market (like a small south Melbourne market for those who know it ) with friendly people .
    A great brasserie L'olive again wonderful staff , coffee and reasonably priced pub food .
    aside from metro , busses and stations close by , only 3/4 of hour walk to centre of Paris . Montmartre cemetery . Sacre Coer . Moulin Rouge .etc .within 20 min certainly cosy and a comfy bed ....
    BUT!!! if you are inclined to be a neat and tidy person BEWARE .
    I found it disturbing ( I have photos ) I stayed out til I got hungry or tired. The only private area was the bedroom and that was overflowing with her clothes falling out of shelves and general personal junk of Helene's all over the place. .No where for your own clothes except your suitcase . I couldn't help myself when Helene visited her family at Christmas . I had to scrub the bathroom hand basin and taps .working around all of her overflowing storage of personal women's things and potions .swept the floors that hadn't been swept in months and
    I cleaned the kitchen as much as much as I could again full of junk to at least get near the basic kitchen utensils . But I did baulk at cleaning the toilet bowl THAT WAS BLACK IN THE OUTLET l(when she was home had to clear her dishes out of the way to get at the sink ( I ended up washing her dishes too )until the last couple of days and I just left them there and ate out. . I also put the overflowing rubbish bags out.

    It wasn't the cheapest in the area either.
    One day while I was hiding in my room, she knocked on the door accusingly asking me if I had her favourite knife .. thank Christ I had brought my own picnic plates ,chopping board, cork screw and a better opinel knife than hers . She was a little taken aback when I suggested if she tidied the place up she may be able to find it. .. Not that Helene showed any signs of it , but it all reminded me of a bong smokers house .
    Take my advice do not go there . MERDE !!!

    January 2014
    Hélène
    Response from Hélène:

    The really first bad experience with Rob...the first time I share my flat with a person, I can't recommend, so unstable person.

    January 2014
  • What a nice and cosy stay in Paris at Helene ! I really liked her and her place and specially her kind way to treat you like a (website hidden) didn`t disturb me to have just a curtain instead of a bathroomdoor.Was okay. Merci Helene encore une fois pour le present ! I could get any information and special tips from (website hidden) a few minutes you are at the metro and it takes you right in the heart of Paris. Nice markethall and shops around this multicultural area !
    Perfekt ! Thank you for having a great time !

    November 2013
  • I spent a good time in Hellen s house

    November 2013
  • I had a great time. Helene was able to answer a few questions that I had. It was close to the subways, so it was easy to get around. She even came with me to a museum.

    August 2013
  • Cute, cosy apartment. Hélène was very helpful and welcoming

    August 2013
  • A beautiful wooden staircase leads you up to the apartment, which itself has beautiful wood floors. The apartment, though cluttered, is nice and clean. The bedroom is large and has a big window that opens on to a large open space on the back of the entire block of buildings. The bed is a good Futon.
    Helene is very cool. The kind of person I would have liked to hang out with more. This is lucky, because staying at her place is kind of like staying at a friend's house. Specifically, there were three things that I had to get used to and that might feel a little too intimate for some (though they would certainly not deter me from staying here again). They were:
    1. There is no door on the bathroom and no shower curtain (don't worry, the toilet is in its own little room which does have a door).
    2. Helene sleeps on the couch in the living room, which you have to walk through to leave or enter your bedroom. Because I was getting up early and coming home late, this often meant that I was tiptoeing around a bit.
    3. The bedroom is quite full of Helene's clothing and other belongings so it kind of looks and feels like you are staying in her room and she is sleeping on the couch.
    But as I said, these things would not deter me from staying here again.
    The location is absolutely fantastic. On the Mont Martre side, to the west, is a large African neighborhood with incredibly colorful street life and markets. A little further west, around the Lamarck Caulaincourt metro station, is a less touristy side of Mont Martre, with great restaurants and local life. Rue Marx Dormoy itself is a mix of African, Indian and Asian communities. There are cool Cafes and a food market just around the corner on rue L'Olive. This part of Paris is not touristy. It is vibrant and exciting, a bit edgy and teaming with life in all its abundance. It is an easy bus ride to everywhere (which I always prefer to the metro because you get to see everything).
    I would definitely stay here again, especially if it meant having the opportunity to get to know Helene better.

    August 2013
  • Thank you for lending you room, giving clean towel, information about access for museums.
    But I want to say following things was not good.
    *The security cord for the apartment's door which Helene gave me was wrong. I couldn't open it and enter her apartment at the first day.
    *The room has an air conditioner but doesn't work well. I felt cold at night in December.
    *The room has a wifi but it is very week. I couldn't use it in the bed room.

    December 2012
    Hélène
    Response from Hélène:

    Ami, You had all the informations about the door codes, adress, phone number on the airbnb reservation...

    December 2012
  • The reservation was canceled 3 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    November 2012
Per Month
From
$56
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 490 times
Languages
English
About
Being an AirBnB host is one of the most enjoyable aspects of owning my flat in Paris. I love to meet people from all over the world and share my passion for Paris. I work as a curator for a music festival and organize some artistic events.
View full profile
Response Rate
84%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings