Lovely sunny spot to sit in.King size bed with memory foam mattress should ensure a good nights sleep.


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
29 travelers saved this place

About this listing


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Security Deposit: $129
Weekly Discount: 15%
Cancellation: Moderate
Weekend Price: $65 / night

Description

The space

Large south facing room on the ground floor with a bay window looking out to the front garden and drive. The room is carpeted, with a king size bed, sofa, wardrobe, desk, internet access, tea making facilities and television. There is a downstairs shower room with heated towel rail and heated tiled floor to warm your feet.

We have three double rooms and a single to rent with two bathrooms available. On most occasions guests enjoy a private bathroom, when a share is required we will let you know.

Continental breakfast included, which you can take either in the large country style kitchen/breakfast room or in the dining room if you prefer. We have a lovely new conservatory too so if you'd like a more leisurely breakfast you can sit and look out on the garden.

Evening meal by prior arrangement.
We are into grow your own and cooking so whether you are here just for breakfast or more you will probably have some home grown/made produce.

Shefford has several restaurants and several pubs serving food. Shefford has it's own brewery with its own pub the Brewery Tap serving some award winning well priced beers.

There is a bus stop outside which takes around 20 minutes to get to either Hitchin or Bedford. Hitchin is an attractive, traditional market town still retaining lots of small family owned shops. It is popular in the evenings and has plenty of restaurants to choose from.

The train to London leaves Arlesey every 30 minutes and is a 10 minute bus ride away (where possible we will take you by car) and if you catch the faster train it takes just 30 minutes to get to Kings Cross in London.

Bedford again is an attractive market town built around the River Ouse, it is popular with rowers and canal boats. There is an attractive walk alongside the river and the Priory Marina and lakes make a relaxing afternoon excursion. Bedford has a large Italian population so we can recommend some good places to eat if that is your preference.

Cambridge is within easy travelling distance by car, by public transport it is not so easy but we may able to take you to the train station if necessary.

Local places to visit less than five miles away are Bird of Prey Centre at Old Warden, Shuttleworth Collection of Aircraft and vehicles, Swiss Garden (temporarily closed for restoration) both at Old Warden. Sandy RSPB headquarters and reserve. Vintage car museum at Henlow. Champneys Spa resort available for day visits. Wrest Park historic house looked after by English Heritage. Chicksands wood for off road adventure.

Slightly further afield are Whipsnade Zoo, Woburn Safari Park, and National trust Wimpole Hall all worthy of a days visit. We can suggest several pleasant walks nearby if that is your thing.

There are also several golf courses and ranges nearby including Woburn.

We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

Interaction with guests

We live in the house and will be around most of the time should you need anything.

Getting around

We have a large drive with plenty of room for you to park your car/s.


House Rules
Check-in is after 4PM

You will be warmly welcomed into our home please treat it with respect and keep quiet after 11.00pm. While staying with us the room is your private space, this means we will not go in there to make your bed, its down to you! Of course if you are staying for longer than a week I will liase with you about changing the sheets.
We are non smokers and would not like anyone to smoke in the house.
We always leave the key by the door for quick escape should there be an emergency and have smoke detectors on both floors.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

20 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 43 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Shefford, United Kingdom · Joined in March 2012
Anne User Profile

Dabble in lots of things creative, happiest in the garden. Love good fresh food, so grow my own. Love to cook and experiment with different flavours. Will provide you with a Continental breakfast including home made bread and jam. Career change a few years ago means I now work part time in a garden centre. Love life especially when walking South West Coast Path with Terry my husband - half way round so far. Terry is self employed working from home in the electronics industry. We have hosted foreign students over the past years an enriching experience but are now ready for more adult guests. Two cats who follow me everywhere, don't worry we shut them away at night so they won't bother you!

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet