Quiet single room in homely flat

Apartment - Private room · Edge Hill, Wimbledon, London SW19 4LR, United Kingdom

The Space

Good sized single room with lots of light in 2 bedroomed flat on the third floor (I have the other room). It's in a desirable area of Wimbledon and although there are 7 other flats in the building, it's generally very quiet.
Single bed with large storage drawers, hanging rail and desk/storage. Electric heater for which you can control times/temperature.
It's not a modern flat but it's comfortable and clean (everyone says it's very homely) and I will try to make you feel as comfortable as possible.
Great view and less than 10mins walk to Wimbledon station (District Line, overground to Waterloo, Clapham Junction & Vauxhall, and tram to Croyden). There's also a bus stop at the top of the road if you're feeling lazy, with opposite routes to Kingston. Wimbledon Village and Common also within walking distance.
Food isn't included but you have full use of the kitchen (no microwave) and I can make tea/coffee/bread/cereal available if needed.
Access to (NOT unlimited) BT Vision & broadband.
Parking is residents immediately outside but meter parking is available and I can supply permits for a small additional charge if you give me notice.
I do smoke but not a lot, so am happy to contain it to my room if I have a non-smoking guest.
There is no deposit through the site but I may ask for a deposit depending on the length of stay.
I'm not always able to do bookings with short notice as I need to arrange to be available for check-ins in advance. I also tend not to book too far in advance as I'm self-employed and never know where I'll be working or when!

Guest Access

Everything except my room!

Interaction with Guests

My working hours vary so am not always at home regular times. When I am, I'll either be in the living room watching tv, or on my laptop and am happy to interact (you can watch tv while I'm on the laptop). Sometimes I do like to go to my room - it's not personal, so don't be offended.

The Neighborhood

It's close enough to the centre for all the fun of London but green space is within easy access too. Kingston is a bus ride away for good shopping and drinks on the river. It's a relatively quiet neighbourhood with great views from my flat.

Getting around

Wimbledon station is less than 10mins away and has tube, overground and trams. Buses stop at the bottom of the road. You can walk to the common in 10mins too.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $293 /week
Monthly Price: $1205 /month
Cleaning Fee: $34
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Lisa is a great person with a warming smile. Always helpful. Neatly kept. The place was quiet and good.

    April 2014
  • Lisa is a kind host.
    She offered to collect me from a local station and was happy for me to pick up a few odds and ends at the local shop on the way home.
    Lisa happily gave me local info and booked me cabs when necessary. I felt very welcome in the apartment.
    The area is very safe and a 3 stop bus or 10min walk to lots of restaurants and shops or parks
    The bed was clean, comfortable and cozy.The room heater could be altered to taste. There was plenty of hot water.[what else do you need!!]
    .Breakfast was supplied[self service, just how I like it!!] and I felt comfortable using the house facilities.
    Lisa is a very genuine host and makes her guests feel at home and comfortable. The accommodation is as described, it is homely,clean and unpretentious.
    If I find myself in the area again I would be happy to stay with Lisa.

    April 2014
  • I stayed with Lisa for a full week in March and all I can say was that it was a truly wonderful experience.

    Lisa has a cosy flat in a fantastic location - not too far from the station/shop or from the common. She really made me feel at home and I would have happily stayed longer, given the opportunity! Five stars without hesitation!

    March 2014
  • Enjoyed staying with Lisa, she was a great host and made me feel very at home! Would recommend staying here without a doubt. Thanks Lisa!

    March 2014
  • Her flat is located close to Wimbledon Station and has very good connections by bus and underground. The room and the flat is very clean, tidy and welcoming and has everything you need. Lisa is a very friendly and great host and is working to make your stay as pleaseant as possible. I felt really welcome and staying at Lisa is highly recommend.

    December 2013
  • Lisa is a warm and friendly person who made me feel very welcome and at home. The flat is clean and comfortable and a good location being an easy walk to Wimbledon station. I'd be more than happy to stay here again next time I'm in London and need accommodation.

    September 2013
  • Fantastic place to stay. Photos cannot convey exactly HOW homely the flat is. There's a walk up to the flat but the stairs are not steep. I never heard the neighbours (and getting up at 4 in the morning most days that I was there, it was important that I was able to sleep early without noisy neighbours!)

    Lisa was very welcoming and friendly, offered to tell me local information, until I said that I was living in the area until recently, at which point we just started chatting about some of the local stuff as neighbours rather than tour guide/tourist.

    The location is fabulous, walking distance to Wimbledon or slightly further to Raynes Park, however there are bus stops "right there" to take you to either location, 2 or 3 stops to Wimbledon or a few more to Colliers Wood or Tooting (Colliers wood has a nice are called Merton Abbey Mills, Tooting has a lot of shops) Wimbledon station has both Mainline services to London Waterloo/Clapham Junction (for Brighton and Gatwick Airport) as well as the tram (for Ikea and Croydon town centre) as well as the District Line (for Earls Court exhibition centre, Fulham or Chelsea Football grounds) you can also change at Earls Court for the Piccadilly Line trains to Heathrow, I always went that way to the airport when I lived locally)

    Did I mention that Lisa was super friendly and that the flat was even better than in the photo? I slept like a log when I was there and hope that if I am still in need of "ad hoc" accommodation in the area that there is availability at Lisa's. I can only give 5 stars , I could have given more. :-)

    July 2013
  • Lisa was great! The bed was very comfortable, and the hospitality even better. It's a bit of a walk to the main parts of Wimbledon, but a very pleasant walk indeed (at least in the summer when I was there).

    Would definitely recommend her place.

    July 2013
  • Lisa is a great host, and is both flexible and welcoming. I recommend her place, and would definitely stay there again.
    Wimbledon station is a flat, reasonable walk away - also serviced well by bus, but I never had to use the bus. There are at least two grocery stores within that walk to the station, so finding things to eat wasn't a problem either.
    There is storage in the room (bed and hanging room) so that you don't feel like you're living out of your suitcase the whole time. The room was equipped with a heater, and the window opens for a good breeze for when it is warmer.

    May 2012
  • Lisa is a very friendly, sweet, colorful, comfortable, thoughtful, and positive host. I really enjoyed my 2 weeks stay at her cozy place. It was lovely to share time with her. I am very glad that we met.

    May 2012
Per Month
From
$46
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 49 times
School
Newland High School, Hull
Work
The Girl Friday
About
I'm a 45 year old self-employed, single female. After renting my spare room for 9 months to a wonderful tenant who sadly had to move due to work commitments, I decided to let on a short-term basis as I applied to foster and didn't know how long the process would take. That all went pear-shaped :o( but the short lets were very successful (from here and other sites) so I've carried on. I am currently mostly working at weekends and although my social life isn't that active at the moment (due to financial restraints), I do have the odd nights out. You'll probably find me in front of the TV/PC the rest of the time, but happy to share the remote! I'm pretty easy-going and get on with most people of all ages.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings