Wimbledon,Tennis, Comfy Room.

House - Private room · Rodney Place, Wimbledon, Greater London SW19 2LQ, United Kingdom
Helen
Your host, Helen
17 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Comfortable room in a small family home shared with Helen, Julian, and two friendly dogs (see photos). The house is in a quiet cul-de-sac with on-street parking and has a lovely big garden.

The room can accommodate a maximum of two adults, but is not suitable for children.

Our home is a great place for going to the Wimbledon Tournament..

The room:

Has a small TV, a chest of drawers, built in ward-robe and overlooks the garden.
It can be made up as a Single (first picture of room), large Double (second picture) or Twin.

Shared use of the small bathroom (with bath and fab over- bath shower), kitchen, dining room and garden. The garden is private, and gets lots of sun. Wifi, sheets and bed linen provided.

Transport Connections:

-3 min. walk to South Wimbledon station (Northern line) 40 mins to central London.
-15 min. walk or 5 min bus-ride to Wimbledon town centre (District tube & overground train to London-Waterloo) and tram line to Croydon.
-20 minutes to Wimbledon tennis courts.

Location:

In the area around there are a number of good restaurants, including Lebanese, Indian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese, and Italian. We are 3 minutes walk from the River Wandle, which runs into the river Thames at Wandsworth, and Merton Abbey Mills. Here there is an arts and crafts market on Saturday and Sunday, shops, more restaurants, a music venue, and a pub. We are also near the site of the William Morris Works (Morris was an architect, furniture and textile designer, artist, writer and socialist who made beautiful wallpaper for the masses). There are great walks along the river bank through to Morden Hall Park.
There is a vibrant theatre in Wimbledon, where many shows are staged before moving on to West End London theatres.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $18 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a really good time! It is a good location when you are visiting the Wimbledon tennis. Helen and Julian are very friendly and helpful. They helped us with everything and give informative tips, and can make a really good English breakfast ;)
    We loved the two dogs! Thanks so much.

    June 2014
  • I spent two wonderful weeks with Julian, Helen and their delightful dogs.
    Julian is a perfect English Gentleman and Helen a wonderful Lady. Their home is in a convenient location just 25 min on foot from center of Wimbledon and very close to the metro station Morden (5 minutes on foot) and you can arrive in the center of London in 25 min. The room is very comfortable.
    I thank Julian and Helen very much for their hospitality.

    June 2014
    Helen
    Response from Helen:

    Hi Isidoro,
    You left both your toy spider, and a blue sweat shirt behind. We will post them to you, but we don't have your address! Also we don't have your personal email address because you only communicated with us through Airbnb. This will be difficult because the Airbnb system will not let you send an email address, or a postal address through its messaging system, it blanks out these things. But maybe if you phone Airbnb they will give you my direct email and you can send me a message with your postal address. Hope you had a good journey home. Thank you for the nice review. Kind regards, Julian.

    June 2014
  • Lovely people with two very friendly dogs (that are kept downstairs only!).

    Free use of all facilities in the house which was great, and Helen and Julian were always up for a chat but I never felt pressurised to socialise. Tube is a 5-10 min walk away only.

    It may just be me but the room seemed bigger than the photos too!

    June 2014
  • Helen and Julian are very friendly and wonderful hosts. Their house is comfortable and warm, the dogs are very nice. Exceptionally, Julian did me an enormous favour for the business I had to do in London and I am very thankful for this help. In a few words : Helen and Julian are the hosts you need for your stay in London.

    November 2013
  • Helen and Julian were extremely welcoming and supportive during my work stay in south wimbledon. They gave me help and advice which made my life so much easier. They paid such attention to detail, like keeping the house extra warm when I got up for work. I felt they were more than just hosts, such humble, down to earth and lovely people, I would stay again :) Thank you.

    November 2013
  • My partner and me chosed Helen and Julian for our first Airbnb trip. We say thank you to Helen and Julian. They are very friendly and helpful. They were always open to answer our questions or give informative tips and engaged in long pleasent conversations. Their two dogs are very friendly, too. The house is very quiet and we slept very well in the room.
    If you walk to the subway, you will find a backery with a good breakfast and delicious cakes. We had a good time in Wimbelton.

    Thanks

    Rene and Bettina

    October 2013
  • We really enjoy our stay at Helen and Julian. We were in the process of moving - stressed and tired - and they have been extremely helpful and welcoming. A huge thanks to you !

    Nous avons vraiment apprécié notre séjour chez Helen et Julian. Nous étions en plein déménagement, fatigué et stressé, et ils ont été extrêmement accueillants et gentils. Un grand merci à vous !

    October 2013
  • Booked a room on behalf of a friend. Had to book it extremely short of notice as another booking got cancelled (not an airbnb booking). Helen and Julian were fantastic in helping out. My friend had no complaints. Happy to recommend to all my friends without hesitation.

    September 2013
  • This was my first stay with an airbnb host and Helen and Julian made it wonderful! Their home is nice, clean and has a beautiful and serene backyard. The room is comfortable and I slept great for the 3 nights I was there. The location is not the closest to the center of London but not too far either. I was busy sightseeing while I was there so I welcomed the time to relax on the metro rides back to S. Wimbledon. There are a lot of restaurants around their flat, along with all kinds of international cuisine, including Lebanese, Indian, Japanese, Thai and more. On my connecting flight to London, I left my Ipad and only had a cell phone to get online. When I got there, Julian took me around to several different shops to help me find the best deal on a new tablet to use during my trip. Also, they have 2 sweet and charismatic dogs, Muddy and Mojo, that made my stay that much better! Thank you Helen and Julian for everything. I highly reccomend thier place!

    September 2013
    Helen
    Response from Helen:

    Hi Aimee,
    Thanks for the great review ! Hope you had a superb holiday. Keep in touch and come and see us again. Best wishes, Julian and Helen.

    September 2013
  • What a treat it was to meet and stay with Helen and Julian and their two wonderful dogs. From the moment I stepped through the door all four of them made me feel welcome. We spent a relaxed summer evening telling stories and talking and the other we all did our own thing separately. The room was a haven from London working and very comfortable. Both Helen and Julian went the extra mile to make my stay as lovely as it was. I have already recommended here as a great place to stay for colleagues who travel to Merton regularly

    July 2013
Per Month
From
$62
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 65 times
School
University of Cape Town, City University London, University of Sussex
Work
Health and Well-being consultant
About
Living with my husband, Julian, and two lovely dogs - a Briard and a Schnauzer - in a friendly cul-de-sac in Wimbledon. I work in health policy and partnerships and enjoy walking, cycling (slowly!), music, food and wine, and travelling to our house in Pezenas, Languedoc, France, whenever we can !
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings