Artist/Musician Shared Garden House

House - Private room · N Lawler Ave, Chicago, IL 60639, United States
Andrew
Your host, Andrew
4 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: a few days or more

The Space

My house is a beautiful 3-level 4square built in 1916 with all hardwood floors & lots of natural light throughout. I bought the house five years ago and it is the best place I have ever lived. I am 33 years old and have a small flock of chickens in a coop in the backyard. I am an artist/musician who works as a graphic designer during the day from home or downtown depending on the day. I am polite and laid-back, a great host with experience traveling and hosting others through sites like hospitalityclub and (website hidden). The mortgage I am paying on the house is currently a bit out of my comfort range, and so I am looking to rent out one of my spare rooms through Airbnb. There are currently 3 of us living in the house. Joe, my good friend, is a 29 year old visual artist & DJ. joemillerwork d0t c0m. My girlfriend, Nicole is a 25 year old photographer & works retail during the day. The largest bedroom in the house (11' x 12') is open for your private occupancy. You will have full run of the house. I often travel for extended periods of time for my job.

There is a window unit air conditioner in the room during the summer. In the winter, the house is heated by radiator heat. The bed is queen sized.

I have two cats (Dot & Dash) that are about 1 1/2 years old. Three chickens live in the backyard coop. Eggs are free and plentiful.

Community Areas are a large living room, dining room, kitchen & pantry on the main floor, A basement music & art studio, & a large fenced in garden & backyard with a firepit.

The neighborhood is west of Logan Square and is largely made up of Puerto Rican Families. My neighbors are amazing and are a big part of why it's so great living here. There are a few good Latino restaurants nearby, a liquor store & a small Latino grocery store.

Local public transportation include Metra (closest stop is Milwaukee West Line: Cicero/Grand) and buses (Grand Avenue bus goes downtown), though I use my bike to get everywhere without hassle. The main inconvenience of our location is distance from the subway.

Amenities include wifi internet, free washer & dryer, dishwasher, off-street parking (1 space), & free fresh eggs daily. 1 1/2 bathrooms. A old-fashioned clawfoot tub with shower. Pets are welcome. There is a nice sized public park 1 block away with a community swimming pool.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $300 /week
Monthly Price: $800 /month
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s) and Other pet(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Andrew and his roommates were great hosts. I got into Chicago late and they made dinner and invited me that first night! They gave me all sorts of recommendations so I would have things to do during my visit. Their two little cats - Dot and Dash are very friendly, and even got along well with my cat. My room was spacious and had everything I could want. You do have to share a bathroom, but somehow our schedules work out perfectly. They know lots of great people. The area is really nice, sort of suburban. There is a driveway in the back where I could park my car.

    October 2013
  • Any free spirited traveler wanting to visit Chicago should definitely put this place at the top of their list. Not only is the house beautiful and visually entertaining but Andrew is an amazing host and a great guy. He knows tons about the city and has maps for his guests that lists pertinent information about the neighborhood, such as markets, liquor stores and local transit info. And when in season, the garden produces a large variety of goodies. Also, the room is big, well decorated and able to accommodate many needs. Plus, there's tons of space and storage, even for a person like myself who is notorious for overpacking.
    I stayed at the house (with my dog and car) for over a month while I was looking for a home in Chicago. Both Andrew and his housemate Joe are amazing guys that made my dog and me feel welcomed from the second we arrived. From day one I felt as if I was home and through the course of my stay, I grew to love these guys… and the kittens and the chickens and the neighbors!!! For the sake of keeping this brief, I'll throw out a few key words that pertain to both of these guy: genuine, trustworthy, caring, interested and interesting, thoughtful, respectful, fun and most of all creative. Yes, you will definitely be sharing a house with two artists!!! Also, everyone that they surround themselves with is just as amazing as they are. And I do intend on staying with them again… as well as continuing the friendships when I officially move to Chicago. Yeah, they're that good!!!

    October 2012
  • Andrew was an incredible host, providing us with lots of info on the local hot spots and getting around the city.

    His house was really special. It was beautiful and super cool.

    I also met two of the cutest kittens ever.

    July 2012
  • Andrew is a very friendly and helpful host. The room is big enough, but the bed was a little small for two people. The bathroom could be a bit more clean, but overall it was a good stay for the price he offered.

    July 2012
Per Month
From
$50
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 37 times
School
St. Cloud State University
Work
FTI Consulting
About
I am a 34 year old male with a small flock of chickens in a coop in the backyard. I am an artist/musician who works as a graphic designer during the day in the loop. I am polite and laid-back, a great host with experience traveling and hosting others through sites like hospitalityclub and (website hidden)
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings