About This Listing
Welcome to our guest house located 200 meters from the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a typical and quiet street in the medina of Marrakech.
We have the possibility to acccomodate you with one room but also your whole family or friends by making the entire riad at your disposition at a negotiated price ... do not hesitate to contact us.
This is the story of our Moroccan adventure:
We are from Belgium and we acquired our Riad in August 2006 ... We fell in love immediately.
The house had already been renovated by an Italian architect a few years earlier, but still needed some upgrades and repairs (airconditioning and so on).
So we began to renovate it while preserving its unique style of old century home. We therefore used the materials and applied the techniques of yesteryear to renovate and develop the riad: carved ceilings, tadelakt walls, zelliges (moroccan tiles) floors, antique furniture, copper sinks ...
As a result our home has found its luster of the past with a few changes though: installation of air conditioning (hot / cold) in all rooms and a Jacuzzi built in the small patio on the ground floor ...
Today, the house can easily accommodate 6 guests thanks to its three double bedrooms. (the fourth room is reserved for our housekeeper who takes care of the house and our guests).
Welcome at home, welcome in Marrakech, and ask us your questions about your stay. We are at your disposal to help you organize your holidays (tours, car rentals, guides, restaurants ...)
Yann and David
PS. all our prices include : free wifi and free breakfast (Orange juice, coffee or tea, bread, croissant/pancake)
Upon confirmation, we will propose you two solutions to come to our nice riad :
- or your negotiate a taxi on your own at the aiport. You will then meet Fouzia on the Place Jema El Fna. She will then come with you to the riad (200 meters further)
- or we can arrange you a pick-up at the aiport.. The driver will then wait for you at the Arrival terminal and will drive you to the riad...
Great location, just walked distance from the square. Fouzia was very nice and breakfast wa good. Yann very responsive via email/text. The ride set up to the airport was convenient and easy to do. Keep in mind expectations - the riad is older so parts of it seem like it is falling apart and there were cockroaches.
Très bon accueil, petit déj délicieux sur la terrasse, Fouzia a été très serviable, discrète et agréable avec nous comme avec nos enfants. Le logement est propre et correspond tout à fait à la description.
We had a nice stay at Riad Dardaya. When we arrived we were picked up by the driver and later we met Fouzia who walked with us to the Riad. The Riad is located very central, it was perfect.
Every morning we got a fresh breakfast, bought by Fouzia. She is very kind.
On Wednesday we went for a trip with the driver to the Atlas. Nice to do. Not that fantastic, but it was good to be in nature for one day. It was a comfortible drive.
In the riad we had both our private bedroom and because of allowing to use the terrace on the rooftop we felt very free.
We had a great time.
A disaster. We booked the apartment at the beginning of March but the owner (Yann), who does not live in Morocco, apparently forgot about our paid reservation. Yann did not answer our emails before arrival. The contact for the place (Fouzia, the housekeeper) had her phone turned off so we couldn't reach her despite repeated attempts during the day of our arrival.
The place was locked and we were stuck in the street, hot and dirty after a long journey from Meknes. Using the WiFi at a neighboring road, I sent several urgent messages to airbnb and Yann. Finally, after another two hours, we reached Fouzia by phone. She said she knew nothing about the booking and took another hour to reach the apartment.
We rented the entire place but, when we finally got in, discovered Yann had rented the place to another guy on a gay website. So we ended up sharing the place since it was late and we were worn out.
It took airbnb over 24 hours to reply to our emails and updates.
The apartment is really run down. The entire ground floor is dank and musty, damp bed linens, mold growing in the corners.
Neighbors told us there had been lots of problems with the property. I strongly recommend avoiding this rental.
Thanks again for your stay in our house. We are sorry you had a bad experience. As you can read on previous reviews, our past guests have really enjoyed their stays. Sorry you got a bad feeling about our property. I apologize for the booking error. I was on a trip in the US and something went wrong. We made a double booking by mistake and Fouzia did not know you were staying in the property. It has never happened in the past 8 years, but unfortunately it went wrong with you. However I am surprised with your comment about the house being run down, dark and musty. Like all the private properties in the Medina (historic center part of Marrakech), ours is old and typical. But it has been restored completely a few years ago and we make yearly updates (e.g. paint). You can't expect a moroccan property to be as neat as one you could find in the US. We offer modern comfort (AC in all rooms, microwave, ...) in a historic place with lots of architectural features : crown moldings, ancient furniture ... I don't understand the comments from the neighbours, it seems like gossip or jealousy, because there are no problems with the property, not in the past an not today.
That said, we hope you will continue travelling with Airbnb as it is a great way to discover places and meet people. Sorry again for the booking error. We wish you all the best for your future travels and discoveries.
Yann was very available through email. The driver met me and took me to the edge of Medina where I was met met by Fouzia, his housekeeper, who is very kind and accommodating. The walk to the Riad was interesting if at a bit of a fast pace. The riad itself is very clean and basic. I did not realize the bathrooms were shared. Luckily there was no one else there. The bed is comfortable even though you have to crawl on it to get in as there in no room on either side to get in.
Breakfast was adequate although no protein source. Of all the places I have stayed in 3 trips to Morocco this was the least desirable although there was rally nothing bad about it.
Hi Kathe. We are happy you enjoyed our place, its fabulous location, and the services provided by Fouzia during your stay... She is indeed wonderful and has been working in our house for 8 years now, with lots of passion, making sure to help our guests enjoy Marrakech and our house as much as possible. Something very important though : BATHROOMS are NOT SHARED, except when guests from a same group decide to rent the "family" suite upstairs. Both rooms are separated by a private shared bathroom. But we never rent both rooms to strangers (only one group of friends or single family at one level)... And the 3rd room is located at another level and has a separate private bathroom. We make sure privacy is preserved... Regarding our breakfast, it's a typical moroccan breakfast : Coffee or tea, fresh orange juice, milk, croissant/chocolate croissant or moroccan pancakes, marmelade... Breakfast can be served inside or outside on the terrace... Hope to see you once again in the future... Have a safe trip back home. Yann
This host has 35 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Yann
En Français ci-dessous
Welcome to our page.
We live in Brussels, in Belgium but and own two rental properties: 1 in Marrakech and 1 in Florida (Orlando)
When we visited the property, it was "love at first sight". It's very well located in a quiet and safe street just a few steps away from the famous square PLACE JEMA EL FNA. We met Fouzia almost at the same time... she's now working with us, taking care of all our guests... She's an amazing person, always caring for the others. We're sure you'll love her.
We hope we'll be able to receive you in Marrakech and make you enjoy the city and its neighbourdhood.
FLORIDA - ORLANDO
We had friends in the Orlando - Walt Disney World area... and visited them in 2011. We really loved the area and decided to go for a house hunt... We found a little diamond in the rough... and after purchasing it, David, co-owner of the house, spent two months in Florida, renovating the property. New furnitures, new paint, now floors, some new appliances... David has worked as HEAD OF SALES for Disneyland Paris for 5 years... and has made all the updates with "Customer's satisfaction" in mind... You will feel at home, close to the parks, but in a very stylish and quiet villa...
Don't hesitate to contact us for more information... we'll be more than happy to share with you our passion of the country/city.
See you soon
Nous habitons en Belgique et sommes de grands voyageurs...
Nous sommes tombés amoureux de deux maisons sur deux continents à 5 ans d'intervalle : Le Maroc et la Floride aux Etats-Unis.
Nous espérons pouvoir vous accueillir très prochainement chez nous au Maroc, à Marrakech, ou à Orlando, en Floride, et vous faire profiter de notre belle maison...
N'hésitez-pas à nous contacter pour nous demander tout un tas d'informations, nous sommes à votre entière disposition pour vous faire partager notre passion pour la ville et ses environs.
A très bientôt