Steamer Chair and dresser for your things.Winter view looking down toward the village


Private room

3 Guests

1 Bed

Private room

3 Guests

1 Bed

Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
32 travelers saved this place

About this listing

This room overlooks the street and gardens. Newly updated warm colors
There is a queen size bed, and plenty of storage space.
A mellow space to curl up on the steamer chair and delve into that novel, or pull up to the desk and write your own !


The space
The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Amenities

Prices
Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $15
Weekly Discount: 9%
Cancellation: Strict
Weekend Price: $65 / night

Description
Description

The space

A short walk to the quintessential New England village of Hancock.Set in the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire, with easy day jaunts to explore all of Mid-New England. Year around outdoor and cultural activities available in this lively area. Summer includes Peterborough Players, Andy's Playhouse, and Monadnock Music Festival. Try Farmers Markets,in Hancock and all the surrounding towns.swim, fish or boating on Nubanusit Lake, Willard Pond or Norway Pond. Talks and guided expeditions at the Harris Center. Enjoy dining at the Hancock Inn or Fiddleheads. Fall/winter arrange a hunting canoeing expedition. Snowshoe,skate,or ski Crotched Mt.Don't forget maple syrup season in late winter, or the changing leaves, and Art Studio and Wool Arts Tours in autumn.I'll be happy to help you explore this area whatever season you choose to visit, and whatever your interest.Please enjoy viewing photo details on both my listings.

Guest access

Guests can make their own meals in the kitchen and eat in the dinning/kitchen area or the various sites on the porch or in the garden. You also have a small space in the kitchen to store your food or beverages.
There is an extensive collection of DVDs you are welcome to view in the livingroom or on your laptop...please make sure to return your choice to its spot.
There is a lovely bath in the upstairs bathroom in which to relax. Help yourself to salts and bubbles.
This is a lived in home, and I hope you will feel equally at home during your stay here.
We share both upstairs and downstairs bathrooms. I have 2 robes available for your use if you wish. We generally take our shoes off at the door, you may want to have slippers or an indoor pair of shoes to slip on.
My son has a dog that is restricted to the kitchen area when we are not home, therefore doors are kept closed to that area at all times.
Other bedrooms are off limits unless invited by the occupant. Bathroom doors are closed only when occupied. If uncertain knock and inquire.

Interaction with guests

I do work. However, I hope that you will feel free to ask for anything you need and I welcome any interactions while I am around.From time to time I housesit or may go on a vacation, but will do my best to provide a proper welcome.

I have a 26 year old son, who also works. I think you will find him quite sociable and entertaining should you find him around during your stay.
This is a self catering household. We come and go quite freely , yet I am most accessible, and open to your needs.

The neighborhood

Approximately 10 miles from Peterborough, NH and central to the Monadnock Region, you are surrounded by Mountains and Lakes, Gardens, History, and Culture. Relax, enjoy the outdoor beauty and breathe in the atmosphere that inspires the Arts.
(URL HIDDEN)

Getting around

An automobile is a necessity in this area.This is a rural setting.
I have plenty of parking space in my driveway, but it may require backing out onto a hill
I recommend getting a rental vehicle at either Logan Airport in Boston or Manchester Airport.I am happy to pick you up, if need be ,at either location for an extra fee, if you prefer to pick up something here . There is an Enterprise Rental in Hillsboro , NH or Peterborough.

Other things to note

Spring through Autumn I have a Perennial garden that I hope you will take the opportunity to relax and enjoy. Curl up with a good book , and cuppa tea or beverage of your choice and soak up the sun or watch the storm pass over.
On the Forth of July you can just catch a glimpse of the Fireworks if you don't wish to go down to the Town Beach.
To the West facing town is the "White Garden " a soothing finish to the day as the sun sets. A spot for dinner or tea easily set for two.


House Rules
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is after 4PM

We are generally a quiet bunch.Sometimes we have to get up early for work, so a general hush is appreciated after 10 PM.
This is definitely a smoke free environment. Please no smoking.
Although we have pets, would rather you kept yours at home.
I expect guests to pick up after themselves, and wash or rinse and put dishes in the dishwasher.
There is a washing machine and clothesline or dryer that you may use , just ask for instructions before you do so.
You have full access to the kitchen, but not the food. There is a tea kettle in the upstairs bath and kitchen you are welcome to use and tea or coffee. I don't drink coffee therefore you'll have to decipher how to make your brew on your own. I have a French Press . Enjoy !!


Safety features
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Hosted by Jane

Hancock, New Hampshire, United States · Member since September 2012
Jane

From Hancock, NH-- Photographer--single mom--presently driver for a FORD dealership--adventurous spirit on low income-. LOVE gardens , gardening--, interior design--holidays--Christmas---decorating--sampling variety of cuisines__ gluten/lactose intolerant--traveled much when younger--hiking , sailing, skiing previous activities- enjoy creative approaches to life-art--Choral music, theater,ballet, classical concerts...want a feel of PLACE/people- I LOVE movies and have acquired a large and varied collection of DVDs including foreign, documentary, children,Christmas, and Hollywood which I'd love to share with you. I love travel, and celebrated my 65th birthday discovering airbnb on a trip to London, Until I can afford another trip, I figured I can enjoy you , and any travels you might share with me. I am in the process of fixing up an old (5th generation) family home so my house is in transition as my vision and funds afford. I hope you will appreciate my efforts. I love my area of New Hampshire and all that it offers, and because of it's proximity to other parts of New England I feel I have the best of country life with easy access to the ocean, the mountains and marvelous activities of Boston, Portsmouth, and Portland.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections