Gay-friendly room in Victoria Park

Apartment - Private room · Service Route No, London, E15, United Kingdom
Jenny

Comfortable double room in quiet neighbourhood off of Victoria Park.

Your host, Jenny
12 Reviews
Response rate: 75%
Response time: a few days or more

Comfortable double room in quiet neighbourhood off of Victoria Park.

The Space

Comfortable double room in a quiet street just off of the Lauriston Road roundabout with its village atmosphere, good restaurants (Vietnamese, British, Sardinian, fish, Indian, etc.) and nice pubs. Access to the centre of London in half an hour. Easy access to Stratford Westfield/the Olympic Park, Canary Wharf and the East End.

Victoria Park is just around the corner. There are some nice places to have a leisurely breakfast and you can walk along the canal to Angel or out to the Lea Valley and see a slightly different side to London life. It's a good base for doing certain types of things - the East End markets: Brick Lane with its intriguing tat against a backdrop of graffiti and curry houses, Columbia Road with its colourful plant-sellers and beautiful flowers, and Spitalfields where the people are as interesting to watch as the stalls. Best of all for anyone willing to get up early, there is a bus which goes directly to Billingsgate fish market: almost a trip to another era and another great place to have breakfast.

It's also easy to get into the centre of town to see the sights. You can catch the tube at Mile End or Bethnal Green if you are in a hurry. If not, the buses take you on a route which is a good way to see London and get your bearings - through the City with its mixture of the old nestled beneath the sparkling new, the grandeur of St Paul's, the lights of the National Theatre reflected in the Thames, and the breathtaking beauty of Westminster.

The room has a double bed, chest of drawers, shelves and a clothes rail. It's simple, but comfortable.

Amenities: Wireless broadband, free on-street parking, washing machine. Towels provided. Can provide breakfast if you wish.

Guest Access

Bathroom, kitchen, living room

Interaction with Guests

Depends - I'm sometimes there and sometimes not, but I like to give people room unless they want advice or a chat (whilst also trying to be friendly!)

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $9 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $476 /week
Monthly Price: $1322 /month
Security Deposit: $264
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The visiting season is over and also my last guest enjoyed staying in Jenny's flat. Thanks again for your hospitality Jenny.

    May 2014
  • We stayed for 4 days in Jennys apartment and were absolutely satisfied with the room and the flat. Very clean, nice room and lovely neighbourhood. Jenny is great host, she gave us usefull information and tips, and the communication was easy. Highly recommanded!

    May 2014
  • It was again a big pleasure staying at Jenny's flat. This time my parents visited and had and great time in London.

    April 2014
  • Jenny was an amazing host and I count her as my first new friend in London! I stayed with her for a month while I was looking for a permanent place to live and I couldn't be happier with how things turned out. Her generosity made my transition to a new city so much smoother! She was always friendly and up for a chat and makes a great cup of tea. We also shared the occasional meal and bottle of wine.

    Her flat is warm, cozy yet spacious, bright, comfortable and has all the modern conveniences. It's also in an excellent location. The tube is just a short distance away and it's a short ride to Central London. There are several major bus lines very close to her flat. Plus you can spend your whole trip just walking around the vibrant neighbourhood that she lives in.

    If you've come across her listing then consider yourself very lucky and book it!!

    October 2013
  • The room was as described, flat clean. The location is superb and it's in a lovely neighbourhood. Unfortunately this is not for light sleepers as you can hear neighbours clearly.

    July 2013
  • Jenny's place is in a nice location close to all the good things London has to offer. Her apartment is very cosy and clean with a brand new kitchen and quite a large living room to chill out and watch TV. The bedroom was a good size with ample storage space and an extremely comfortable bed. Jenny is very laid back and made us feel very welcome in her home, we would definitely stay again.

    December 2012
  • Beautiful apartment in a lovely East London neighborhood by Victoria park. Jenny is a thoughtful host who even took the time to print a booklet with local restaurant, transportation, and entertainment information. The kitchen would be the envy of many restaurant chefs and the shower is decades ahead of it's time (seriously it's a spaceship shower... in a good way). We'd definitely come again.

    Thanks Jenny!

    November 2012
  • This apartment is very clean and comfortable. Jenny has equipped the room with plenty of hangers and shelves, and London guide books.
    It was also a pleasure conversing with Jen. She was a very sweet host and gave us great advice on transportation, etc.

    August 2012
  • Nice flat in a good location and connects to 24 hour bus line. Jenny is a knowledgeable, considerate, welcoming and helpful host. Even supplied gluten free morning grub (which is different than wheat free, in UK). Wifi was reliable.
    I have various allergies (dust mites, molds, grasses, & more) and did not have any problem here.
    The local Three network does have very spotty coverage, directly in this area, so I'd recommend going with a different company for mobile sim. Actually, I'd advise against Three, in general. 30-50% of where I wandered zone 1 & 2, I didn't have coverage and getting the filter removed on where you can browse is easier said than done (just use opera mini). I managed, anyways, so if you already have three, don't worry about it. For people who are wiser and enjoying mobile free vacations, you can use the local line. Depending on where you are from, you can even call back home.
    I didn't manage my time, in order to use it, but I definitely consider the washer/dryer combo to be a plus.
    Not in the pictures, but there is plenty of storage, if you're not traveling light.

    July 2012
  • great place!

    June 2012
Per Month
From
$71
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 90 times
About
I've lived in London for 10 years in Victoria Park. I work in a museum creating exhibitions and other programs. My interests are food, theatre and singing/preparing to sing with my choir, the Pink Singers. I suppose that London is another hobby - I like exploring the city and getting out to see things. I've travelled quite a lot around the States, as well as Europe. If I could go anywhere in the world tomorrow, I'd follow Darwin's footsteps around Argentina - particularly Tierra del Fuego. Or maybe walk the Hadrian's Wall footpath, if I was forced to go for a budget option. I live a fairly quiet life, and I'm quite tidy; happy to give people space, etc. etc..just ask; oh, and do your own washing up.
View full profile
Response Rate
75%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
a week ago
Similar Listings